
Table of Contents

State/Territory Name: Washington

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 18-0035

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) 179 Form
- 3) Approved SPA Pages

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Seattle Regional Office 701 Fifth Avenue, Suite 1600, MS/RX-200 Seattle, WA 98104



Division of Medicaid & Children's Health Operations

December 10, 2018

Susan Birch, Director MaryAnne Lindeblad, Medicaid Director Health Care Authority PO Box 45502 Olympia, WA 98504-5010

RE: Washington State Plan Amendment (SPA) Transmittal Number 18-0035

Dear Ms. Birch and Ms. Lindeblad:

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has completed its review of State Plan Amendment (SPA) Transmittal Number WA 18-0035. This amendment updated certain links and fee schedule effective dates for several Medicaid programs and services.

This SPA is approved with an effective date of October 1, 2018.

If there are additional questions, please contact me or your staff may contact James Moreth at James.Moreth@cms.hhs.gov or (206) 615-2043.

Sincerely,

David L. Meacham Associate Regional Administrator

Cc:

Ann Myers, SPA Coordinator

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER: 18-0035	2. STATE Washington
FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)	
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE October 1, 2018	
☐ NEW STATE PLAN ☐ AMENDMENT TO BE	CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN	
COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AME	NDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each	amendment)
6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION: Section 1905(a) of the Social Security Act	7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT: a. FFY 2019 \$ 0 b. FFY 2020 \$ 0	
8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:	9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION	
Attachment 4.19-B pages, 14, 16-1, 16-3, 16-4, 21	OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable) Attachment 4.19-B pages, 14, 16-1, 16-3, 16-4, 21	
10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT		
October 1 Fee Schedule Effective Dates		
11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One): GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL	☑ OTHER, AS SPEC	IFIED: Exempt
12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL:	16. RETURN TO: Ann Myers	
13. TYPED NAME: MARYANNE LINDEBLAD	Office of Rules and Publications Division of Legal Services	
14. TITLE:	Health Care Authority 626 8th Ave SE MS: 42716	
MEDICAID DIRECTOR 15. DATE SUBMITTED:	Olympia, WA 98504-2716	
11-20-18	Olympia, W11 70304-2710	
FOR REGIONAL OF		
17. DATE RECEIVED: 11/20/18	18. DATE APPROVED: 12/10/18	
PLAN APPROVED – ON		
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL: 10/1/18	20. SIGNATU	
21. TYPED NAME: David L. Meacham	22. TITLE: Associate Regional A	dministrator
23. REMARKS:		

STATE:	WASHINGTON	

POLICY AND METHODS USED IN ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES FOR EACH OF THE OTHER TYPES OF CARE OR SERVICE LISTED IN SECTION 1905 (A) OF THE ACT THAT IS INCLUDED IN THE PROGRAM UNDER THE PLAN (cont.)

- VI. Dental Services and Dentures
 - A. The Medicaid agency pays directly to the specific provider the lesser of the usual and customary charge or a fee based on an agency fee schedule for dentures and dental services that are provided within their specific scope of practice by dentists, dental hygienists, and denturists throughout the state. There are no geographical or other variations in the fee schedule.
 - B. The usual and customary charge is defined as that fee usually charged for a given service by an individual dentist, dental hygienist, or denturist to private patients (e.g., that provider's usual fee) and which fee is within the range of usual fees charged by dentists, dental hygienists, or denturists of similar training and experience.
 - C. Except as otherwise noted in the plan, fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of dentures, dental services and dental hygiene.
 - See 4.19-B I, General, #G for the agency's website where the fee schedules are published.
 - The agency's fee schedule rate was set as of October 1, 2018, and is effective for services provided on or after that date.
 - D. Under the Oral Health Connections pilot program, eligible dental providers are paid an enhanced rate to provide up to three additional periodontal treatments (for a total of four) per calendar year to adult Medicaid clients who have diabetes or are pregnant. The Oral Health Connections pilot program is effective for dates of service on or after January 1, 2019.

State	WASHINGTON
Clato	**/ (01 111 10 1 01 1

POLICY AND METHODS USED IN ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES FOR EACH OF THE OTHER TYPES OF CARE OR SERVICE LISTED IN SECTION 1905 (A) OF THE ACT THAT IS INCLUDED IN THE PROGRAM UNDER THE PLAN (cont)

- VIII. Institutional Services (cont)
 - A. Outpatient hospital services (cont)
 - iii. Uses the wage index information established and published by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) at the time the OPPS rates are set for the upcoming year. Wage index information reflects labor costs in the cost-based statistical area (CBSA) where a hospital is located.
 - iv. Calculates the hospital-specific graduate medical education (GME) by dividing the direct GME cost reported on worksheet B, part 1, of the CMS cost report by the adjusted total costs from the CMS cost report.
 - v. Uses the EAPG software to determine the following discounts:
 - Multiple Surgery/Significant Procedure 50%
 - Bilateral Pricing 150%
 - Repeat Ancillary Procedures 50%
 - Terminated Procedures 50%
 - vi. Establishes a policy adjustor of 1.35 for services to clients age 17 and under, and establishes a policy adjustor of 1.10 for chemotherapy and combined chemotherapy/pharmacotherapy groups. These policy adjustors are not exclusive.

The statewide standardized conversion factor and all hospital-specific adjustments are effective October 1, 2018. See 4.19-B, I, General, #G for the agency's website where the fee schedule and conversion factors are published.

- c. Effective for dates of admission on or after July 1, 2013, supplemental payments will be paid for outpatient Medicaid services not to exceed the upper payment limit as determined by the available federal financial participation for fee-for-service claims. The supplemental payment is based on the distribution amount mandated by the legislature to the following hospital categories as defined in RCW 74.60.010:
 - Prospective Payment hospitals other than psychiatric or rehabilitation hospitals
 - Psychiatric hospitals
 - Rehabilitation hospitals
 - Border hospitals.

For hospitals designated as prospective payment system (PPS) hospitals, \$60,000,000 per state fiscal year. For hospitals designated as out-of-state border area hospitals, \$500,000 per state fiscal year.

The payment is calculated by applying the Medicaid fee-for-service rates in effect on July 1, 2009, to each hospital's Medicaid and CHIP outpatient fee-for-service claims and Medicaid and CHIP managed care encounter data for the base year as defined in RCW 74.60.010. This sum is divided by the aggregate total of all hospitals within each category to determine the individual hospital pro rata share percentage. The individual hospital payment is the pro rata percentage multiplied by the amount mandated to be distributed by the Legislature within each hospital category.

The payment will be made quarterly, by dividing the total annual disbursement amount by four (4) to calculate the quarterly amount.

TN# 18-0035 Supersedes TN# 18-0021

State	WASHINGTON
-	

POLICY AND METHODS USED IN ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES FOR EACH OF THE OTHER TYPES OF CARE OR SERVICE LISTED IN SECTION 1905 (A) OF THE ACT THAT IS INCLUDED IN THE PROGRAM UNDER THE PLAN (cont)

- VIII. Institutional Services (cont)
 - A. Outpatient hospital services (cont)
 - 2. Fee Schedule

For non-CAH hospitals and covered services not paid using the OPPS or the "hospital outpatient rate", the agency pays the lesser of the usual and customary charge or a fee based on an agency fee schedule for covered procedures.

Services paid using the agency's fee schedule include, but are not limited to, physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech/language therapy, corneal transplants, and other hospital services as identified and published by the agency.

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of outpatient hospital services. The agency's outpatient fee schedule is effective for services provided on and after October 1, 2018. The fee schedule is updated quarterly in a budget neutral manner. See 4.19-B, I, General, #G for the agency's website where the fee schedules are published.

State	WASHINGTON
_	

POLICY AND METHODS USED IN ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES FOR EACH OF THE OTHER TYPES OF CARE OR SERVICE LISTED IN SECTION 1905 (A) OF THE ACT THAT IS INCLUDED IN THE PROGRAM UNDER THE PLAN (cont)

- A. Outpatient hospital services (cont)
 - 3. Hospital Outpatient Rate

The "hospital outpatient rate" is a hospital-specific rate having as its base the hospital's inpatient ratio of costs-to-charges (RCC) adjusted by an outpatient adjustment factor that factors annual cost and charge level changes into the rate. The "hospital outpatient rate" is used to reimburse under OPPS as explained earlier in this subsection, or for non-CAH hospitals exempt from the agency's OPPS, for all other covered outpatient services (those not mentioned in the previous paragraphs as covered by fee schedule) on the hospital's outpatient claim.

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of outpatient hospital services. The agency's outpatient fee schedule is effective for services provided on and after October 1, 2018. See 4.19-B, I, General, #G for the agency's website where the fee schedules are published.

12/10/18

STATE: _	WASHINGTON	
_		

D. Rehabilitative Services

- 1. Payment for physical therapy, occupational therapy, and services for individuals with speech, hearing and language disorders is described in Section IX. J.
- Behavior Rehabilitative Services (BRS)

Payment for behavioral rehabilitative services is on a fee-for-service basis. Services are authorized by month; claims are pro-rated to pay for the actual number of days of service provided within that month. The State assures that only BRS is claimed; maintenance is not claimed. Documentation is recorded by all providers and by the State which provides the elements necessary for claiming Title XIX funding: name of person who received the service, name of provider of the service, provider identification number, date the service was provided, location of the service provided, and the nature and scope of the service.

Rates are tiered based upon the level of the intensity, duration, and severity of behavioral dysfunction experienced by the child being served; the levels range from moderate to extreme.

Behavioral rehabilitative services and the practitioners who can provide and bill for these services are described in Attachments 3.1-A and 3.1-B, Section 13.d.9.

The State requires BRS providers to participate in a time study and submit cost reports that address the service components described in Attachments 3.1-A and 3.1-B, Section 13.d.9. The system of time studying and cost reporting provides an accurate representation of the time spent in Title XIX allowable activities and the costs associated with them. The time study and cost reports also expressly exclude the room and board component in BRS and direct it to Title IV-E.

Based on documentation from the provider, the State's automated payment system captures the elements necessary for Title XIX claiming, (i.e., who received the service, who provided the service, where the service was provided, when the service was provided, and the nature and scope of the service). The State reviews data and provides oversight with respect to all providers' activities and reporting.

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, payment for these services is based on state-developed fee schedule rates, which are the same for both governmental and private providers of Behavior Rehabilitation Services. The State's rates were set as of October 1, 2018, and are effective for services rendered on or after that date. The fee schedule is published at https://www.dcyf.wa.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/Fee_BRS.pdf.