Table of Contents

State/Territory Name: WA

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 23-0011

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

Approval Letter
 CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)
 Approved SPA Pages



Financial Management Group/ Division of Reimbursement Review

May 19, 2023

Dr. Charissa Fotinos, Director Health Care Authority PO Box 45502 Olympia, WA 98504-5010

RE: Washington State Plan Amendment (SPA) Transmittal Number 23-0011

Dear Dr. Fontinos:

We have reviewed the proposed Washington state plan amendment (SPA) to attachment 4.19-B of your state plan, which was submitted to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) on March 1, 2023. This SPA increased the hourly rate for agency providers by 1.6%, an expected weighted average increase of \$0.56, decreased the hourly rate of Consumer Directed Employers (CDE) by 0.1%, an expected weighted average decrease of \$0.04 and increased the mileage reimbursement to the Internal revenue Service (IRS) rate of \$0.655 for 2023.

Based upon the information provided by the state, we have approved the amendment with an effective date of January 7, 2023. We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the new state plan pages.

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact DRR analyst James Moreth at James.Moreth@cms.hhs.gov or (206) 615-2043.

Sincerely,

Todd Mc Million

Todd McMillion Director

Enclosures

| CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES | OMB No. 0938-0193 |
|---|--|
| TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES TO: CENTER DIRECTOR CENTERS FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 5. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION 1902(a) of the Act 7. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT Attachment 4.19-B page 32 | 1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER 2. STATE 2 3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT Image: Security ACT Image: Size and |
| 9. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT Provider and Facility Rates 10. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One) | |
| GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL 11. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL | • OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: Exempt |
| 12 TYPED NAME | State Plan Coordinator POB 42716 Dlympia, WA 98504-2716 |
| Medicaid and Behavioral Health Medical Director 14. DATE SUBMITTED March 1, 2023 FOR CMS US | |
| | 7. DATE APPROVED |
| 0/ 1/20 | May 19, 2023 |
| PLAN APPROVED - ON | |
| 18. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL | 9. SIGNATURE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL |
| 1/7/23 | Todd McMillion |
| 20. TYPED NAME OF APPROVING OFFICIAL 2 | 21. TITLE OF APPROVING OFFICIAL |
| Todd McMillion | Director, DRR |
| 22. REMARKS P&I authorization to box 4 for effective date. | |

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

STATE: ______ WASHINGTON

POLICY AND METHODS USED IN ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES FOR EACH OF THE OTHER TYPES OF CARE OR SERVICE LISTED IN SECTION 1905 (A) OF THE ACT THAT IS INCLUDED IN THE PROGRAM UNDER THE PLAN (cont.)

- XV. Personal Care Services (cont)
 - B. Service Rates

The fee schedule was set as of January 7, 2023, to be effective for dates of service on and after January 7, 2023.

Effective Jan. 1, 2008, the standard hourly rate for individual-provided personal care is based on comparable service units and is determined by the State legislature, based on negotiations between the Governor's Office and the union representing the workers. The rate for personal care services provided by individual providers consists of wages, industrial insurance, paid time off, mileage reimbursement, comprehensive medical, training, seniority pay, training-based differentials, and other such benefits needed to ensure a stable, high performing workforce. The agreed-upon negotiated rates schedule is used for all bargaining members.

The rate for personal care services provided by agencies is based on an hourly unit. The agency rate determination corresponds to the rate for individual providers with an additional amount for employer functions performed by the agency.

The rate for personal care provided in assisted living facilities is based on a per day unit. Each participant is assigned to a classification group based on the State's assessment of their personal care needs. The daily rate varies depending on the individual's classification group. The rates are based on components for provider staff, operations, and capital costs. The rate paid to residential providers does not include room and board.

The rate for personal care provided in an adult family home is based on a per day unit and is determined by the State legislature, based on negotiations between the Governor's Office and the union representing Adult Family Homes.