

RULE-MAKING ORDER PERMANENT RULE ONLY

CR-103P (December 2017) (Implements RCW 34.05.360)

CODE REVISER USE ONLY

OFFICE OF THE CODE REVISER STATE OF WASHINGTON FILED

DATE: September 25, 2024

TIME: 10:21 AM

WSR 24-20-052

Agency: Health Care Authority
Effective date of rule:
Permanent Rules
□ 31 days after filing.
Other (specify) (If less than 31 days after filing, a specific finding under RCW 34.05.380(3) is required and should
be stated below)
Any other findings required by other provisions of law as precondition to adoption or effectiveness of rule? ☐ Yes ☑ No If Yes, explain:
Purpose: The agency is amending WAC 182-504-0015 and WAC 182-505-0225 so that the agency does not terminate Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) coverage for nonpayment of premiums during a child's continuous eligibility period and does not condition or delay enrollment on payment of unpaid premiums.
Citation of rules affected by this order: New: Repealed: Amended: 182-504-0015, 182-505-0225
Suspended:
Statutory authority for adoption: RCW 41.05.021, 41.05.160
Other authority: None
PERMANENT RULE (Including Expedited Rule Making) Adopted under notice filed as WSR 24-17-118 on August 19, 2024 (date). Describe any changes other than editing from proposed to adopted version: None
If a preliminary cost-benefit analysis was prepared under RCW 34.05.328, a final cost-benefit analysis is available by contacting:
Name: Address:
Phone:
Fax:
TTY:
Email:
Web site:
Other:

Note: If any category is left blank, it will be calculated as zero. No descriptive text.

Count by whole WAC sections only, from the WAC number through the history note.

A section may be counted in more than one category.

The number of sections adopted in order to comply	y with:				
Federal statute:	New	Amend	led	Repealed _	
Federal rules or standards:	New	Amend	led	Repealed _	
Recently enacted state statutes:	New	Amend	led	Repealed _	
The number of sections adopted at the request of a	a nongovern	mental entity:			
	New	Amend	led	Repealed _	
he number of sections adopted on the agency's o	own initiative	ə :			
	New	Ameno	led	Repealed	
The number of sections adopted in order to clarify,	, streamline,	, or reform age	ency procedu	ıres:	
	New	Amend	led <u>2</u>	Repealed	
The number of sections adopted using:					
Negotiated rule making:	New	Amend	led	Repealed	
Pilot rule making:	New	Amend	led	Repealed	
Other alternative rule making:	New	Amend	led <u>2</u>	Repealed _	
Date Adopted: September 25, 2024	Signa	ature:	0 , ,	0	
Name: Wendy Barcus			Nende	Borons	
Title: HCA Rules Coordinator			Y	\	

- WAC 182-504-0015 Washington apple health—Certification periods for categorically needy programs. (1) A certification period is the period of time we determine that you are eligible for a categorically needy (CN) Washington apple health program. Unless otherwise stated in this section, the certification period begins on the first day of the month of application and continues through the end of the last month of the certification period.
- (2) Newborn coverage begins on the child's date of birth and continues through the end of the month of the child's first birthday.
- (3) If you are eligible for apple health based on pregnancy, the certification period continues through the last day of the month the pregnancy ends. After-pregnancy coverage begins the first day of the month, following the end of the pregnancy, and ends the last day of the 12th month from the time after-pregnancy coverage began.
- (4) If you are newly eligible for apple health coverage and had a pregnancy end within the last 12 months, your certification period for after-pregnancy coverage:
 - (a) Begins the first day of the month you are eligible; and
- (b) Ends the last day of the 12th month following the end of your pregnancy.
- (5) If you are eligible for the refugee program, the certification period ends at the end of the 12th month following your date of entry to the United States.
- (6) If you are a child under age six receiving apple health for kids without a premium, your certification period ends the last day of the month of your sixth birthday.
- (7) If you are eligible for newborn coverage, your coverage continues through the last day of the month of your first birthday. Apple health for kids coverage begins automatically on the first day of the month after your newborn coverage ends and the certification period ends the last day of the month of your sixth birthday.
- (8) For all other CN coverage, the certification period is 12 months.
- (9) If you are a child, eligibility is continuous throughout the certification period regardless of a change in circumstances, unless ((a required premium (described in WAC 182-505-0225) is not paid for three consecutive months, or)) you:
 - (a) Turn age 19;
 - (b) Move out-of-state; or
 - (c) Die.
- (10) When you turn 19, the certification period ends after the redetermination process described in WAC 182-504-0125 is completed, even if the 12-month period is not over, unless:
- (a) You are receiving inpatient services (described in WAC 182-514-0230) on the last day of the month you turn 19;
- (b) The inpatient stay continues into the following month or months; and
 - (c) You remain eligible except for turning age 19.
- (11) A retroactive certification period is described in WAC 182-504-0005.

(12) Coverage under premium-based programs included in apple health for kids as described in chapter 182--505 WAC begins no sooner than the month after creditable coverage ends.

- WAC 182-505-0225 Children's Washington apple health with premiums—Calculation and determination of premium amount. (1) For the purposes of this chapter, "premium" means an amount paid for health care coverage under WAC 182-505-0215.
- (2) Premium requirement. (($\frac{\text{Eligibility for}}{\text{Eligibility for}}$)) The Washington apple health premium-based program under WAC 182-505-0215 requires payment of a monthly premium.
- (a) The first monthly premium is due in the month following the determination of eligibility.
- (b) There is no premium requirement for health care coverage received in the month eligibility is determined or in any prior month.
- (c) A child who is American Indian or Alaska native is exempt from the monthly premium requirement.
 - (3) Monthly premium amount.
- (a) The premium amount for the medical assistance unit (MAU) is based on countable income under chapter 182-509 WAC and the number of people in the MAU under chapter 182-506 WAC.
 - (b) The premium amount is as follows:
- (i) If the MAU's countable income exceeds ((two hundred ten)) $\underline{210}$ percent of the federal poverty level (FPL) but does not exceed ((two hundred sixty)) $\underline{260}$ percent of the FPL, the monthly premium for each child is \$20.
- (ii) If the MAU's countable income exceeds (($\frac{\text{two hundred sixty}}{\text{100}}$) percent of the FPL but does not exceed (($\frac{\text{three hundred twelve}}{\text{100}}$) percent of the FPL, the monthly premium for each child is \$30.
- (iii) The medicaid agency charges a monthly premium for no more than two children per household.
- (iv) Payment of the full premium is required. Partial payments cannot be designated for a specific child or month.
- (v) Any third party may pay the premium on behalf of the household. Failure of a third party to pay the premium does not eliminate the obligation of the household to pay past due premiums.
- (c) A change that affects the premium amount takes effect the month after the change is reported.
 - (4) Nonpayment of premiums.
- (((a) Premium-based coverage ends for all children in the house-hold if the required premiums are not paid for three consecutive months.
- (b) Premium-based coverage is restored back to the month coverage ended if the unpaid premiums are fully paid before the certification period ends.
- (c) The household may reapply for premium-based coverage ninety days after the coverage ended for nonpayment.
- $\frac{\text{(d)}}{\text{(d)}}$)) The agency writes off past-due premiums after (($\frac{\text{twelve}}{\text{(d)}}$)) $\frac{12}{\text{months}}$.

[1] OTS-5571.1