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Metropolitan Life Insurance Company 
200 Park Avenue, New York, New York 10166 

 
 

CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE 

 
Metropolitan Life Insurance Company ("MetLife"), a stock company, certifies that Members are insured for the 
benefits described in this certificate, subject to the provisions of this certificate. This certificate is issued to the 
Subscriber under the Group Policy and it includes the terms and provisions of the Group Policy that describe 

the Member’s insurance. PLEASE READ THIS CERTIFICATE CAREFULLY. 

 
This certificate is part of the Group Policy. The Group Policy is a legal contract between MetLife and the 
Policyholder and may be changed or ended without the Subscriber’s consent or notice to the Subscriber. 

Policyholder: WA State Health Care Authority PEBB 

 
Group Policy Number: 164995-2-G 

 
Type of Insurance: Vision Insurance 

 
MetLife Toll Free Number(s): 

For Claim Information FOR VISION CLAIMS: 1-866-548-7139 
 

 

THIS CERTIFICATE ONLY DESCRIBES VISION INSURANCE. 

 
WE ARE REQUIRED BY STATE LAW TO INCLUDE THE NOTICE(S) WHICH APPEAR ON THIS PAGE 
AND IN THE NOTICE(S) SECTION WHICH FOLLOWS THIS PAGE. PLEASE READ THE(SE) NOTICE(S) 
CAREFULLY. 
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INSURANCE 

Notice Regarding the Member’s Rights and Responsibilities 

Rights: 

• We will treat communications, financial records and records pertaining to the Member’s care in 
accordance with all applicable laws relating to privacy. 

• Decisions with respect to vision treatment are the responsibility of the Member and the Vision Provider. 
We neither require nor prohibit any specified treatment. However, only certain specified services are 
covered for benefits. Please see the Vision Insurance sections of this certificate for more details. 

• The Member may request a written response from MetLife to any written concern or complaint. 

 
Responsibilities: 

• The Member is responsible for the prompt payment of any charges for services performed by the Vision 
Provider not fully covered by your Vision Insurance. 

• The Member should consult with the Vision Provider about treatment options, proposed and potential 
procedures, anticipated outcomes, potential risks, anticipated benefits and alternatives. The Member 
should share with the Vision Provider the most current, complete and accurate information about the 
Member’s medical and vision history and current conditions and medications. 

• The Member should follow the treatment plans and health care recommendations agreed upon by the 
Member and the Vision Provider. 
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SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS 

 
This schedule shows the benefits that are available under the Group Policy. Members will only be insured for 
the benefits: 

 

• for which Members become and remain eligible; 

• which the Subscriber elects, if subject to election; and 

• which are in effect. 

BENEFIT BENEFIT AMOUNTS AND HIGHLIGHTS 

 
Vision Insurance For Members 

Adults: 

 
 
 

 
Children (to age 19): 

Service Interval Exam Lenses Frame Contacts 

 Once per Calendar 

Year 

Once per Calendar 

Year 

Once per Calendar 

Year 

Once per Calendar 

Year 

 

Exam In-Network Co-Pay $0 

Materials In-Network Co-Pay 

Co-payment shall not apply to Elective Contact Lenses 
$0 

 

 In-Network Coverage 

(Using an In-Network Vision 

Provider2) 

Out-of-Network Coverage 

(Using an Out-of-Network Vision 

Provider) 

EYE EXAMINATION 

(one per Service 

Interval) 

Covered in full 

 

Comprehensive examination of visual 

functions and prescription of corrective 

eyewear. 

Covered up to $45 allowance 

 

Comprehensive examination of visual 

functions and prescription of corrective 

eyewear. 

RETINAL IMAGING A co-pay amount up to $39. 

 
The Member will not be responsible for 

an amount charged in excess of $39. If 

the amount charged is under $39, then 

the Member will only pay the amount 

that is charged. 

 
Coverage for retinal imaging is an 

enhancement to eye examination. 

 

Retinal imaging is not available at all 

provider locations – contact the 

Member’s In-Network Vision Provider to 

see if this technology (or equipment or 

service) is available. 

Applied to the allowance for the eye 

examination 

STANDARD 

CORRECTIVE 

LENSES 

Covered in full 

Lenses (Single, Lined Bifocal, Lined 

Trifocal or Lenticular) 

Single Vision $30 allowance 

Lined Bifocal $50 allowance 

Lined Trifocal $65 allowance 

Lenticular $100 allowance 

Service Interval Exam Lenses Frame Contacts 

 Once per Calendar 

Year 

Once Every Odd 

Calendar Year 

Once Every Odd 

Calendar Year 

Once Every Odd 

Calendar Year 

 



SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS (continued) 

GCERT2025-WSHCA-PEBB-WA-VISION 6 

 

 

 
 In-Network Coverage 

(Using an In-Network Vision Provider2) 

Out-of-Network Coverage 

(Using an Out-of-Network Vision 

Provider) 

STANDARD LENS 

OPTIONS 

Ultraviolet Coating Covered in full Applied to the allowance for the 

applicable corrective lens 

Polycarbonate (child up 

to age 19) 

Covered in full 

Scratch Resistant 

Coating (child up to 

age 19) 

Covered in full 

Hi Index (child up to 

age 19) 

Covered in full 

Standard Progressive Covered in full $50 allowance 

   

Premium Progressive: $95-$105 

 
Polycarbonate (adults): $35 

Scratch Resistant Coating (adults 19+): 

$17-$33 

Hi Index (adults 19+): 20% discount 

Anti-Reflective Coating:  $41-$85 

Tints: $17-$44 

Photochromic: $75 

Polarized: 20% off retail 

 
Note: All lens options are available at a 

network vision provider, and not to exceed 

maximum member out of pocket amounts 

and pricing are subject to change without 

notice. Please check with your provider 

for details and maximum member out of 

pocket amounts applicable to your lens 

choice. At this time, all lens options and 

“not to exceed” maximum member out of 

pocket amounts and pricing are not 

available at Costco, Walmart and Sam’s 

Club. Please contact your local Costco, 

Walmart and Sam’s Club to confirm the 

availability of lens options and pricing prior 

to receiving services. 

$50 allowance for Premium Progressive 

 
For Polycarbonate (adult), Scratch 

Resistant Coating (adult), Anti- 

Reflective Coating, Tints, 

Photochromatic, and Polarized applied 

to the allowance for the applicable 

corrective lens 

FRAMES Covered up to a $200 allowance 

Frames are covered up to the allowance of 

$110 at Costco, Walmart, and Sam’s Club 

and $200 at other optical retail locations. 

 
In-Network Vision Providers prescribe 

and/or order Covered Person’s lenses, 

verify the accuracy of finished lenses, and 

assist Covered Person with frame 

selection and adjustment. 

Covered up to a $70 allowance 
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CONTACT LENSES   

FITTING AND 

EVALUATION 

Subscriber and Spouse or State- 

Registered Domestic Partner and 

Children 19+: 

 
Standard and Premium fit: 

Covered in full after a Co-Pay of $60. 

Children up to age 19: 

Covered in full 

Applied to the allowance for the 

contact lenses 

ELECTIVE Subscriber and Spouse or State- 

Registered Domestic Partner and 

Children 19+: 

 
Covered up to $200 

 
Contact lenses are provided in place of 

lens and frame benefits available herein. 

 
Children up to age 19: 

Covered up to $300 

Contact lenses are provided in place of 

lens and frame benefits available herein. 

Covered up to $105 

 
Contact lenses are provided in place of 

lens and frame benefits available 

herein. 

NECESSARY Covered in full after material Co- 

payment 

 
Necessary contact lenses are a Plan 

Benefit when specific benefit criteria are 

satisfied and when prescribed by Covered 

Person’s In-Network Vision Provider. 

 
Contact lenses are provided in place of 

lens and frame benefits available herein. 

Covered up to $210 

 

 
Necessary contact lenses are a Plan 

Benefit when specific benefit criteria are 

satisfied and when prescribed by 

Covered Person’s In-Network Vision 

Provider. 

 

Contact lenses are provided in place of 

lens and frame benefits available 

herein. 
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Value-Added Features 

Available At In-Network Vision Providers2 

(These features are not insurance.) 

REFRACTIVE SURGERY 

DISCOUNT 

Savings averaging 15% off the regular price, or 5% off a 
promotional offer, for Refractive Surgery. 

 
Please check with the Member’s provider for details applicable to 

their Refractive Surgery and which discount (“savings”) the 

Member would be eligible for. This is considered a negotiated 

discount a negotiated discount for the Member. The Member is 

responsible for the full amount of the service, less the provider 

discount. 

ADDITIONAL SAVINGS ON 

GLASSES AND SUNGLASSES 

20% savings on additional pairs of prescription glasses and 

nonprescription sunglasses, including lens enhancements.1 

ADDITIONAL SAVINGS ON LENS 

ENHANCEMENTS 

Average 20-25% savings on all lens enhancements not otherwise 

covered under the MetLife Vision Insurance program.1 

ADDITIONAL SAVINGS ON 

FRAMES 

20% off any amount over your frames allowance. 1 

ADDITIONAL ALLOWANCE ON 

FEATURED FRAMES 

For certain frames, an additional $20 allowance. 1 

1 These features may not be available in all states and with all In-Network Vision Providers. Please check with 
the Member’s In-Network Vision Provider. 
2 As provided by Vision Service Plan Choice Network. The network is located throughout the United States. 
Services by network or non-network providers will be covered throughout the United States. Emergency 
vision services provided outside the United States are covered on an out-of-network basis. 
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DEFINITIONS 

 
As used in this certificate, the terms listed below will have the meanings set forth below. When defined terms 
are used in this certificate, they will appear with initial capitalization. The plural use of a term defined in the 
singular will share the same meaning. 

Anisometropia means a condition of unequal refractive state of the two eyes, one eye requiring a different 
lens correction than the other. 

 
Annual Open Enrollment means a period of time defined by HCA when a Subscriber may change to another 
health plan offered by the PEBB Program and make certain other account changes for an effective date 
beginning January 1 of the following year. 

Continuation Coverage means the temporary continuation of PEBB benefits available to enrollees under the 
Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (COBRA), the Uniformed Services Employment and 
Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA), or PEBB policies. 

Co-Payment or Co-Pay means a fixed dollar amount for which We are not responsible, as shown in the 
Schedule of Benefits. The Member must pay the Member’s Co-Payment at the time services are rendered or 
materials ordered. 

Covered Person(s) means an eligible employee, retiree, survivor, Continuation Coverage Subscriber, 
Retired Employee of a Former Employer Group, or a Dependent covered under this Certificate. 

 
Covered Services and Materials mean a vision service or materials used to treat Member's vision condition 
which is: 

 

• prescribed or performed by a Vision Provider while such person is insured for Vision Insurance; 

• Necessary to treat the condition; and 

• described in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS or VISION INSURANCE: DESCRIPTION OF COVERED 
SERVICES AND MATERIALS sections of this certificate. 

 
Dependent(s) means the Subscriber’s eligible Spouse or State-Registered Domestic Partner as defined in 
this DEFINITIONS section, and/or child as described in the Dependent eligibility section of this certificate. 

Employing Agency means a division, department, or separate agency of state government, including an 
institution of higher education; a county, municipality, or other political subdivision; and a tribal government 
covered by HCA statute. 

 
Employer Group means: 

• for the School Employees Benefits Board (SEBB) Program, an employee organization representing 
school employees and a tribal school as defined in state statute and rules, obtaining school employee 
benefits through a contractual agreement with the HCA to participate in benefit plans developed by the 
SEB board; and 

• for the Public Employees Benefits Board (PEBB) Program, those counties, municipalities, political 
subdivisions, the Washington health benefits exchange, tribal governments, and employee organizations 
representing state civil service employees obtaining employee benefits through a contractual agreement 
with the HCA to participate in benefit plans developed by the PEB board. 

Enrollee means an a person covered under this plan as a Subscriber or Dependent. 

 
Health Care Authority (HCA) means the Washington State Agency that administers the PEBB and SEBB 
Programs. 

 
In-Network Vision Provider means a Vision Provider who is contracted to provide Plan Benefits to Covered 
Persons of MetLife and accepts reimbursement at the negotiated rate. The In-Network Vision Provider is: 
Vision Service Plan Choice Network 
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Keratoconus means a development or dystrophic deformity of the cornea in which it becomes cone shaped 
due to a thinning and stretching of the tissue in its central area. 

Maximum Benefit Allowance means the maximum amount We will allow for Covered Services and Materials 
provided by a Vision Provider. 

 
Member means a person covered under this plan as a Subscriber or Dependent. 

Necessary means Covered Services and Materials that are necessary and meet with professionally 
recognized standards of practice. The fact that a Vision Provider may prescribe, order, recommend or 
approve a service or material does not, in itself, make it medically necessary, or make it a Covered Service 
and Material even though it is listed in the Group Policy or the Benefit Schedule as Covered Service and 
Material. 

 
Out-of-Network Vision Provider/Non-Network Vision Provider means a Vision Provider who has not 
contracted to provide vision care services and/or vision care materials to Covered Persons of MetLife. 

 
Plan or Plan Benefits means the vision care services and vision care materials which a Covered Person is 
entitled to receive by virtue of coverage under this Certificate. 

Progressive Lens means a multifocal lens that makes the transition from distance to near vision by a 
gradual, progressive addition of power. The result is a lens with a seamless appearance. 

 
Proof means Written evidence satisfactory to Us that a person has satisfied the conditions and requirements 
for any benefit described in this certificate. When a claim is made for any benefit described in this certificate, 
Proof must establish: 

 

• the nature and extent of the loss or condition; 

• Our obligation to pay the claim; and 

• the claimant’s right to receive payment. 

Proof must be provided at the claimant’s expense. 
 

Public Employees Benefits Board (PEBB) means a group of representatives, appointed by the governor, 
who approves insurance benefit plans for employees and their Dependents, and establishes eligibility criteria 
for participation in insurance benefit plans. 

Public Employees Benefits Board (PEBB) Program means the HCA program that administers PEBB 
benefit eligibility and enrollment. 

 
Retired Employee of a Former Employer Group means a retired employee from a PEBB Employer Group 
and a retired school employee from a SEBB Employer Group continuing enrollment in PEBB health plan 
coverage after losing eligibility due to the Employer Group ending participation in insurance plans and 
contracts with the HCA. 

School Employees Benefits Board (SEBB) means a group of representatives, appointed by the governor, 
who designs and approves insurance benefit plans for school employees and their Dependents, and 
establishes eligibility criteria for participation in insurance benefit plans. 

School Employees Benefits Board (SEBB) Organization means a public school district or educational 
service district or charter school established under Washington State statute that is required to participate in 
benefit plans provided by the School Employees Benefits Board (SEBB). 
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School Employees Benefits Board (SEBB) Program means the program within HCA that administers 
insurance and other benefits for eligible school employees, eligible school board members, and eligible 
Dependents. 

Service Interval means a period of consecutive months, as shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS, in 
which Members may receive Covered Services and Materials. This period starts on the Member’s effective 
date of coverage. A subsequent service interval starts after vision services or materials are received. Once 
Covered Services and Materials are received during any service interval, additional services are not covered 
during the same service interval and are subject to an additional charge. 

 
Signed means any symbol or method executed or adopted by a person with the present intention to 
authenticate a record, which is on or transmitted by paper or electronic media which is acceptable to Us and 
consistent with applicable law. 

Spouse means the Subscriber’s legal spouse. 
 

For the purposes of determining who may become covered for insurance, the term does not include any 
person who is insured under the Group Policy as a Subscriber. 

State Agency means an office, department, board, commission, institution, or other separate unit or division, 
however designated, of the Washington state government. It includes the legislature, executive branch, and 
agencies or courts within the judicial branch, as well as institutions of higher education and any unit of state 
government established by law. 

 
State-Registered Domestic Partner means two adults who meet the requirements for a valid state- 
registered domestic partnership, and enter into a state-registered domestic partnership, in the State of 
Washington; or a legal union, other than marriage, of two persons that was validly formed in a jurisdiction 
other than the State of Washington and that is substantially equivalent to a domestic partnership in the State 
of Washington. 

 
For the purposes of determining who may become covered for insurance, the term does not include any 
person who is insured under the Group Policy as a Subscriber. 

Subscriber means an eligible employee, retiree, survivor, Continuation Coverage Enrollee, or Retired 
Employee of a Former Employer Group who has been determined eligible and is insured under this group 
policy, and is the individual to whom the PEBB Program or We will issue notices, information, requests, and 
premium bills on behalf of an Enrollee or Covered Person. 

 
Vision Provider means an eye care professional who is an optometrist, ophthalmologist, or registered 
dispensing optician, who: 

 

• Is licensed as such by the proper authorities in the jurisdiction where such services are performed; and 

• Is acting within the scope of such license. 

We, Us and Our mean MetLife. 
 

Written or Writing means a record which is on or transmitted by paper or electronic media which is 
acceptable to Us and consistent with applicable law. 

Year or Yearly, for Vision Insurance, means the 12 month period that begins January 1. 
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PEBB 

 
VISION PLAN ELIGIBILITY AND ENROLLMENT 

ELIGIBLE CLASS(ES) 

All eligible PEBB Subscribers who elect MetLife Vision Insurance. 

DATE THE SUBSCRIBER IS ELIGIBLE FOR INSURANCE 

The Subscriber may only become eligible for the insurance available for the Subscriber’s eligible class as 
shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS. 

 
If the Subscriber is in an eligible class on January 1, 2025, the Subscriber will be eligible for the insurance 
described in this certificate on that date. 

If the Subscriber enters an eligible class after January 1, 2025, the Subscriber will be eligible for insurance on 
the date the Subscriber enters that class. 

 
In these sections, the term “retiree” or “retiring employee” includes a retiring employee from a Public 
Employees Benefits Board (PEBB) Employing Agency or Employer Group, and an elected or full-time 
appointed official of the legislative and executive branch of state government. The term “retiree” or “retiring 
school employee” includes a retiring school employee from a School Employees Benefits Board (SEBB) 
organization or Employer Group. Additionally, “health plan” is used to refer to a plan offering medical, dental, 
vision, or any combination of these coverages, developed by PEBB and provided by a contracted vendor or 
self-insured plans administered by the Health Care Authority (HCA). 

ELIGIBILITY FOR SUBSCRIBERS AND DEPENDENTS 
 

Employee eligibility 
 

This vision plan is available to all employees and their eligible dependents if their Employing Agency 
offers this benefit. 

The employee’s State Agency will inform the employee in writing whether they are eligible for PEBB benefits 
upon employment and whenever their eligibility status changes. The written notice will include information 
about the employee’s right to appeal eligibility and enrollment decisions. 

An employee of an Employer Group (such as a county, city, port, water district, etc.) that contracts with HCA 
for PEBB benefits should contact their payroll or benefits office for eligibility criteria. 

 
Employees have the right to appeal eligibility and enrollment decisions. Information about appeals can be 
found under “Appeal rights.” 

Continuation coverage eligibility 
 

This vision plan is available to Unpaid Leave continuation coverage subscribers and their eligible 
dependents. This vision plan is also available to COBRA continuation coverage subscribers or their 
eligible dependents who are not enrolled in a PEBB Medicare medical plan. 

The PEBB Program determines whether subscribers are eligible for continuation coverage (COBRA or 
Unpaid Leave) upon receipt of their election to enroll. If the subscriber requests to enroll in and is not eligible 
for continuation coverage, the PEBB Program will notify them of their right to appeal. Information about 
appeals can be found under “Appeal rights.” 
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Retired Employee of a Former Employer Group eligibility 

This vision plan is only available to a Retired Employee of a Former Employer Group or their eligible 
dependents who are not enrolled in a PEBB Medicare medical plan. 

 
The PEBB Program determines whether a retired employee or a retired school employee of a former 
Employer Group is eligible to self-pay coverage in PEBB Continuation Coverage (Employer Group Ended 
Participation) upon receipt of their election to enroll. If the retired employee or the retired school employee 
requests to enroll and is not eligible, the PEBB Program will notify them of their right to appeal. Information 
about appeals can be found under “Appeal rights.” 

 
Retiree and survivor eligibility 

This vision plan is only available to a retiree, a survivor, or their eligible dependents who are not 
enrolled in a PEBB Medicare medical plan. 

 
Retiree: The PEBB Program determines if a retiring employee or retiring school employee is eligible to enroll 
in PEBB retiree insurance coverage upon receipt of their election to enroll. If the retiring employee or retiring 
school employee does not have substantive eligibility or does not meet the procedural requirements for 
enrollment in PEBB retiree insurance coverage, the PEBB Program will notify them of their right to appeal 
eligibility decisions. Information about appeals can be found under “Appeal rights.” 

 
Survivor: The PEBB Program determines whether a dependent is eligible to enroll or continue enrollment in 
PEBB retiree insurance coverage as a survivor. If an election to enroll is required, eligibility will be determined 
upon receipt of their election to enroll. If the survivor does not meet the eligibility and procedural requirements 
for enrollment in PEBB retiree insurance coverage, the PEBB Program will notify them of their right to appeal. 
Information about appeals can be found under “Appeal rights.” 

 
Dependent eligibility 

The following are eligible dependents: 
 

• Legal spouse 

• State-registered domestic partner and substantially equivalent legal unions from jurisdictions as defined in 
Washington State statute. Individuals in a state-registered domestic partnership are treated the same as a 
legal spouse except when in conflict with federal law. 

• Children, through the last day of the month in which their 26th birthday occurred regardless of marital 
status, student status, or eligibility for coverage under another plan. It also includes children age 26 or 
older with a disability as described below in “Children of any age with a developmental or physical 
disability.” Children are defined as the subscriber’s: 

▪ Children based on establishment of a parent-child relationship, as described in Washington State 
statutes, except when parental rights have been terminated. 

▪ Children of the subscriber’s spouse, based on the spouse’s establishment of a parent-child 
relationship, except when parental rights have been terminated. The stepchild’s relationship to the 
subscriber (and eligibility as a dependent) ends on the same date the marriage with the spouse ends 
through divorce, annulment, dissolution, termination, or death. 

▪ Children for whom the subscriber has assumed a legal obligation for total or partial support in 
anticipation of adoption of the child. 

▪ Children of the subscriber’s state-registered domestic partner, based on the state-registered 
domestic partner’s establishment of a parent-child relationship, except when parental rights have been 
terminated. The child’s relationship to the subscriber (and eligibility as a dependent) ends on the same 
date the subscriber’s legal relationship with the state-registered domestic partner ends through 
divorce, annulment, dissolution, termination, or death. 

▪ Children specified in a court order or divorce decree for whom the subscriber has a legal 
obligation to provide support or health care coverage. 
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▪ Extended dependents in the legal custody or legal guardianship of the subscriber, the 
subscriber’s spouse, or the subscriber’s state-registered domestic partner. The legal 
responsibility is demonstrated by a valid court order and the child’s official residence with the 
custodian or guardian. Extended dependent child does not include foster children unless the 
subscriber, the subscriber’s spouse, or the subscriber’s state-registered domestic partner has 
assumed a legal obligation for total or partial support in anticipation of adoption. 

▪ Children of any age with a developmental or physical disability that renders them incapable of 
self-sustaining employment and chiefly dependent upon the subscriber for support and maintenance, 
provided such condition occurs before the age of 26. The following requirements apply to a dependent 
child with a disability: 

 
o The subscriber must provide proof of the disability and dependency within 60 days of the child’s 

attainment of age 26. 

o The subscriber must notify the PEBB Program in writing when the child is no longer eligible under 
this subsection. 

o A child with a developmental or physical disability who becomes self-supporting is not eligible as 
of the last day of the month in which they become capable of self-support. 

o A child with a developmental or physical disability age 26 and older who becomes capable of self- 
support does not regain eligibility if they later become incapable of self-support. 

o The PEBB Program (with input from the medical plan, if enrolled in medical) will periodically verify 
the eligibility of a dependent child with a disability beginning at age 26, but no more frequently 
than annually after the two-year period following the child’s 26th birthday. Verification will require 
renewed proof of disability and dependence from the subscriber. 

A retiree, a survivor, or their enrolled dependents are required to enroll and stay enrolled in Medicare 
Part A and Part B, if eligible. This is a condition of their enrollment in a PEBB retiree health plan. A retiree or 
survivor must provide a copy of their or their dependent’s Medicare card or Medicare benefit verification letter 
with Medicare Part A and Part B effective dates to the PEBB Program as proof of enrollment in Medicare. If a 
retiree, a survivor, or their dependent is not enrolled in either Medicare Part A or Part B on their 65th birthday, 
the retiree or survivor must provide the PEBB Program with a copy of the denial letter from the Social Security 
Administration. The only exception to this rule is for an employee or school employee who retired on or before 
July 1, 1991. 

 
When a retiree, a survivor, or their enrolled dependent enrolls in Medicare Part A and Part B, they will no 
longer be eligible for this vision plan. In most cases, vision coverage will be included under their PEBB 
Medicare medical plan. Any non-Medicare Enrollees may remain enrolled in this vision plan. 

ENROLLMENT FOR SUBSCRIBERS AND DEPENDENTS 
 

For all subscribers and dependents 

• To enroll at any time other than during the initial enrollment period, see “Making changes.” 

• Any dependents enrolled in PEBB vision will be enrolled in the same vision plan as the subscriber, except 
when a retiree, a survivor, a COBRA continuation coverage subscriber, or a Retired Employee of a 
Former Employer Group is enrolled in a PEBB Medicare plan. 

Employee enrollment 
 

An employee is required to enroll in PEBB vision unless otherwise described in PEBB Program rules. 
An employee must use Benefits 24/7, the online enrollment system, or submit a PEBB Employee 
Enrollment/Change form and any supporting documents to their Employing Agency when they become newly 
eligible or regain eligibility for PEBB benefits. The online enrollment must be completed or the forms must be 
received no later than 31 days after the date the employee becomes eligible or regains eligibility. 

If the employee does not enroll online or return the form by the deadline, the employee will be enrolled in 
Metropolitan Life Vision Plan. Dependents cannot be enrolled until the PEBB Program’s next annual open 
enrollment or when a qualifying event occurs that creates a special open enrollment that allows enrolling a 
dependent. See “Special open enrollment changes.” 
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Continuation coverage and retired employees of a former Employer Group enrollment 

A continuation coverage subscriber, a retired employee or retired school employee of a former 
Employer Group or their dependent can enroll in only one PEBB vision plan, even if eligibility criteria is met 
under two or more subscribers. 

 
A subscriber enrolling in PEBB Continuation Coverage (COBRA or Unpaid Leave) and retired employees or 
retired school employees of a former Employer Group may enroll by using Benefits 24/7, the online 
enrollment system, or by submitting the applicable PEBB Continuation Coverage Election/Change form and 
any supporting documents to the PEBB Program. 

 
For PEBB Continuation Coverage, the online enrollment must be completed or the PEBB Program must 
receive the election form no later than 60 days from the date the Enrollee’s PEBB health plan coverage ended 
or from the postmark date on the PEBB Continuation Coverage Election Notice sent by the PEBB Program, 
whichever is later. For retired employees of a former Employer Group, the online enrollment must be 
completed or the PEBB Program must receive the required form no later than 60 days after the Employer 
Group’s date of termination. 

Premiums and applicable premium surcharges must be made directly to HCA. The first premium payment and 
applicable premium surcharges are due to HCA no later than 45 days after the election period ends as 
described above. For more information, see “Options for continuing PEBB vision coverage” and the PEBB 
Continuation Coverage Election Notice.Retiree and survivor enrollment 

An eligible retiree or survivor must enroll in PEBB medical to enroll in PEBB vision. An eligible 
retiree, a survivor, or their dependent can enroll in only one PEBB vision plan, even if eligibility criteria is 
met under two or more subscribers. 

 
An eligible retiring employee or a retiring school employee must enroll using Benefits 24/7, the online 
enrollment system, or submit a PEBB Retiree Election Form (form A) along with any other required forms and 
supporting documents to the PEBB Program. The online enrollment must be completed or the forms must be 
received no later than 60 days after the employee’s or the school employee’s own employer-paid coverage, 
COBRA coverage, or continuation coverage ends. The first premium payment and applicable premium 
surcharges are due to HCA no later than 45 days after the election period ends. 

An eligible elected or full-time appointed official must enroll using Benefits 24/7, the online enrollment 
system, or submit a PEBB Retiree Election Form (form A) along with any other required forms and supporting 
documents to the PEBB Program. The online enrollment must be completed or the forms must be received no 
later than 60 days after the official leaves public office. The first premium payment and applicable premium 
surcharges are due to HCA no later than 45 days after the election period ends. 

 
An eligible survivor of a retiree who is enrolled at the time of the retiree’s death will be enrolled in the same 
PEBB health plan coverage they were enrolled in under their own account with no gap in coverage. To make 
changes to their PEBB health plan coverage, they must submit a PEBB Retiree Election Form (form A) along 
with any other required forms and supporting documents to the PEBB Program. They must be received no 
later than 60 days after the death of the retiree. An eligible survivor of a retiree who is not enrolled at the time 
of the retiree’s death must submit a PEBB Retiree Election Form (form A) along with any other required forms 
and supporting documents to the PEBB Program. They must be received no later than 60 days after the 
death of the retiree. 

 
An eligible survivor of an employee or school employee must submit a PEBB Retiree Election Form (form 
A) along with any other required forms and supporting documents to the PEBB Program. They must be 
received no later than 60 days after the later of the date of the employee’s or the school employee’s death, or 
the date the survivor’s PEBB insurance coverage or SEBB insurance coverage ends. The first premium 
payment and applicable premium surcharges are due to HCA no later than 45 days after the election period 
ends. 
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An eligible employee or school employee determined to be retroactively eligible for disability 
retirement must enroll using Benefits 24/7, the online enrollment system, or submit a PEBB Retiree Election 
Form (form A) along with any other required forms, supporting documents, and their formal determination 
letter to the PEBB Program. The online enrollment must be completed or the forms must be received no later 
than 60 days after the date on the determination letter. The first premium payment and applicable premium 
surcharges are due to HCA no later than 45 days after the election period ends. 

An eligible survivor of an emergency service personnel killed in the line of duty must submit a PEBB 
Retiree Election Form (form A) along with any other required forms and supporting documents to the PEBB 
Program. They must be received no later than 180 days after the later of: 

 

• The date on the letter from the Department of Retirement Systems or the Board for Volunteer Firefighters 
and Reserve Officers that informs the survivor that they are determined to be an eligible survivor; 

• The date of the emergency service worker’s death; or 

• The last day the survivor was covered under any health plan through the emergency service worker’s 
employer or COBRA coverage from the emergency service worker’s employer. 

 
A retiree or a survivor who deferred enrollment and is enrolling in a PEBB retiree health plan must enroll 
using Benefits 24/7, the online enrollment system, or submit a PEBB Retiree Election Form (form A) along 
with any other required forms and supporting documents to the PEBB Program. 

A retiree or a survivor who deferred enrollment while enrolled in other qualifying coverage must also submit 
evidence of continuous enrollment. The online enrollment must be completed or the forms must be received 
no later than 60 days after a loss of other qualifying coverage. 

A retiree or a survivor enrolled in Medicare who deferred enrollment while permanently living outside of the 
United States must also submit proof of enrollment in Medicare Parts A and B; evidence of continuous 
enrollment in qualified coverage is waived. The online enrollment must be completed or the forms must be 
received no later than 60 days after the date of the permanent move or the date the retiree or survivor 
provides notification of such move, whichever is later. 

 
The first premium payment and applicable premium surcharges are due to HCA no later than 45 days after 
the election period ends. 

 
Dependent enrollment 

If a non-Medicare retiree or survivor chooses to enroll in PEBB vision under PEBB retiree insurance 
coverage, any non-Medicare dependents enrolled will also be enrolled in PEBB vision. 

 
A retiree or survivor enrolled in Medicare Part A and Part B may elect PEBB vision for any non-Medicare 
dependents they choose to enroll in PEBB retiree insurance coverage. The retiree or survivor, in most cases, 
will have their vision coverage under their PEBB Medicare medical plan. 

If a subscriber chooses to enroll an eligible dependent, the subscriber must include the dependent’s 
information online using Benefits 24/7 or on the applicable enrollment form and provide the required 
document(s) as proof of the dependent’s eligibility. The dependent will not be enrolled in PEBB health plan 
coverage if the PEBB Program or the Employing Agency is unable to verify their eligibility within the PEBB 
Program enrollment timelines. 

 
Dual enrollment 

 
A subscriber and their dependents may each be enrolled in only one PEBB vision plan. 
An employee or their dependent who is eligible to enroll in both the PEBB Program and the School 
Employees Benefits Board (SEBB) Program is limited to a single enrollment in either the PEBB or SEBB 
Program. 
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For example: 

• A child who is an eligible dependent under two parents enrolled in PEBB Program benefits may be 
enrolled as a dependent under both parents but is limited to a single enrollment in PEBB vision. 

• A child who is an eligible dependent of an employee in the PEBB Program and a school employee in the 
SEBB Program may only be enrolled as a dependent under one parent in either the PEBB or SEBB 
Program. 

MEDICARE ELIGIBILITY AND ENROLLMENT 
 

Employee and dependent 
 

If an employee or their dependent becomes eligible for Medicare, they should contact the Social Security 
Administration to ask about the advantages of immediate or deferred Medicare enrollment. 

Continuation coverage subscriber, a Retired Employee of a Former Employer Group, or their 
dependent 

If a continuation coverage subscriber, a Retired Employee of a Former Employer Group, or their 
dependent becomes eligible for Medicare, federal regulations allow enrollment in Medicare three months 
before they turn age 65. If they do not enroll within three months before the month they turn age 65, 
enrollment in Medicare may be delayed. If enrollment in Medicare does not occur when the subscriber or their 
dependent is first eligible, a late enrollment penalty may apply. 

 
Retiree or survivor and dependent 

 
If a retiree, a survivor, or their enrolled dependent becomes eligible for Medicare, they should contact the 
Social Security Administration to ask about Medicare enrollment. The Medicare-eligible subscriber or their 
dependent must enroll and stay enrolled in Medicare Part A and Part B to keep PEBB retiree health plan 
coverage. If this procedural requirement is not met, eligibility will end as described in the termination notice 
sent by the PEBB Program. The only exception to this rule is for an employee or school employee who retired 
on or before July 1, 1991. 

 
When a retiree, a survivor, or their enrolled dependent enrolls in Medicare Part A and Part B, they will no 
longer be eligible for this vision plan. In most cases, vision coverage will be included under their PEBB 
Medicare medical plan. Any non-Medicare Enrollees may remain enrolled in this vision plan. 

When a COBRA continuation coverage subscriber, a Retired Employee of a Former Employer Group, or their 
enrolled dependent enrolls in Medicare Part A and Part B, they may continue coverage under this vision plan 
if they are not also enrolled in a PEBB Medicare medical plan. 

WHEN VISION COVERAGE BEGINS 
 

Employees and dependents 
 

For a newly eligible employee and their eligible dependents, vision coverage begins the first day of the 
month following the date the employee becomes eligible. If the employee becomes eligible on the first 
working day of the month, then coverage begins on that date. 

If the eligible employee is a faculty member hired on a quarter-to-quarter or semester-to-semester basis, 
vision coverage begins the first day of the month following the beginning of the second consecutive quarter or 
semester. If the first day of the second consecutive quarter or semester is the first working day of the month, 
vision coverage begins on that day. 
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For an employee regaining eligibility, including following a period of leave or after being between periods of 
leave as described in PEBB Program rules, and their eligible dependents, vision coverage begins the first day 
of the month the employee is in pay status eight or more hours. If the employee is a faculty member regaining 
eligibility no later than the 12th month after the month in which they lost eligibility for the employer contribution 
toward PEBB benefits, vision coverage begins the first day of the month in which the quarter or semester 
begins. 

Note: When an employee who is called to active duty in the uniformed services under the Uniformed Services 
Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA) loses eligibility for the employer contribution toward 
PEBB benefits, they regain eligibility for the employer contribution toward PEBB benefits the day they return 
from active duty. Vision coverage begins the first day of the month in which the employee returns from active 
duty. 

 
Retirees and dependents 

 
For an eligible retiring employee or retiring school employee and their eligible dependents, vision 
coverage begins on the first day of the month after the retiring employee’s or the retiring school employee’s 
own employer-paid coverage, COBRA coverage, or continuation coverage ends. 

For an eligible employee or school employee determined to be retroactively eligible for disability 
retirement and their eligible dependents, vision coverage begins on the date chosen by the employee or 
school employee as allowed under PEBB Program rules. 

 
For an eligible elected or full-time appointed official and their eligible dependents, vision coverage begins 
the first day of the month following the date the official leaves public office. 

For an eligible retiree who deferred enrollment and is enrolling in a PEBB retiree health plan following loss 
of other qualifying coverage, vision coverage for the retiree and their eligible dependents begins the first day 
of the month after the other qualifying coverage ends. For a retiree enrolled in Medicare who deferred 
enrollment while permanently living outside of the United States, vision coverage for their eligible dependents 
begins the first day of the month after the permanent move or the date the retiree provides notification of such 
move, whichever is later. 

 
Survivors and dependents 

 
For an eligible survivor of a retiree and their eligible dependents, vision coverage will be continued without 
a gap, subject to payment of premiums and applicable premium surcharges. If the eligible survivor is not 
enrolled at the time of the retiree’s death, vision coverage will begin the first day of the month following the 
retiree’s death. 

For an eligible survivor of an employee or school employee and their eligible dependents, vision 
coverage begins the first day of the month following the later of the date of the employee’s or school 
employee’s death or the date the survivor’s PEBB insurance coverage or SEBB insurance coverage ends. 
This does not include emergency service personnel killed in the line of duty. 

 
For an eligible survivor of emergency service personnel killed in the line of duty and their eligible 
dependents, vision coverage begins on the date chosen, as allowed under PEBB Program rules. 

For an eligible survivor who deferred enrollment and is enrolling in a PEBB retiree health plan following 
loss of other qualifying coverage, vision coverage for the survivor and their eligible dependents begins the first 
day of the month after the other qualifying coverage ends. For a survivor enrolled in Medicare who deferred 
enrollment while permanently living outside of the United States, vision coverage for their eligible dependents 
begins the first day of the month after the permanent move or the date the survivor provides notification of 
such move, whichever is later. 

 
Continuation coverage subscribers and dependents 

 
For a continuation coverage subscriber and their eligible dependents enrolling when newly eligible due to 
a qualifying event, vision coverage begins the first day of the month following the day they lost eligibility for 
PEBB vision plan coverage. 



ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR THE SUBSCRIBER AND THE 
SUBSCRIBER’S DEPENDENTS (continued) 

GCERT2025-WSHCA-PEBB-WA-VISION 19 

 

 

Retired employees of a former Employer Group and dependents 

For a Retired Employee of a Former Employer Group and their eligible dependents enrolling when newly 
eligible, vision coverage begins the first day of the month following the day they lost eligibility for PEBB retiree 
insurance coverage. 

 
All subscribers and dependents 

For a subscriber or their eligible dependents enrolling during the PEBB Program’s annual open 
enrollment, vision coverage begins January 1 of the following year. 

 
For a subscriber or their eligible dependents enrolling during a special open enrollment, vision 
coverage begins the first day of the month following the later of the event date or the date the online 
enrollment election using Benefits 24/7 or the required form is received. If that day is the first of the month, 
vision coverage begins on that day. 

If the special open enrollment is due to the birth or adoption of a child, or when the subscriber has 
assumed a legal obligation for total or partial support in anticipation of adoption of a child, vision coverage will 
begin as follows: 

• For an employee, vision coverage will begin the first day of the month in which the event occurs. 

• For a newly born child, vision coverage will begin the date of birth. 

• For a newly adopted child, vision coverage will begin on the date of placement or the date a legal 
obligation is assumed in anticipation of adoption, whichever is earlier. 

• For a spouse or state-registered domestic partner of a subscriber, vision coverage will begin the first 
day of the month in which the event occurs. 

 
If the special open enrollment is due to the enrollment of an extended dependent or a dependent child with 
a disability, vision coverage will begin the first day of the month following the event date or eligibility 
certification, whichever is later. 

MAKING CHANGES 
 

Removing a dependent who is no longer eligible 
 

A subscriber must provide notice to remove a dependent who is no longer eligible due to divorce, annulment, 
dissolution, or a qualifying event of a dependent ceasing to be eligible as a dependent child as described 
under “Dependent eligibility.” The notice must be received within 60 days of the last day of the month the 
dependent no longer meets the eligibility criteria. 

 

• An employee must provide notice online using Benefits 24/7 or by submitting a written request to their 
Employing Agency. 

• Any other subscriber must provide notice online using Benefits 24/7 or by submitting a written request to 
the PEBB Program. 

 
Consequences for not submitting notice within the required 60 days may include, but are not limited to: 

 

• The dependent may lose eligibility to continue PEBB vision under one of the continuation coverage 
options described in “Options for continuing PEBB vision coverage.” 

• The subscriber may be billed for claims paid by the vision plan for services that were rendered after the 
dependent lost eligibility. 

• The subscriber may not be able to recover subscriber-paid insurance premiums for the dependent that 
lost eligibility. 

• The subscriber may be responsible for premiums paid by the state for the dependent’s vision plan 
coverage after the dependent lost eligibility. 
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Voluntary termination for a retiree, a survivor, a continuation coverage subscriber, or a Retired 
Employee of a Former Employer Group 

A retiree, a survivor, a continuation coverage subscriber, or a Retired Employee of a Former Employer Group 
may voluntarily terminate enrollment in a vision plan at any time by submitting a request online using Benefits 
24/7 or in writing to the PEBB Program. Enrollment in the vision plan will be terminated the last day of the 
month in which the request was received online or by the PEBB Program, or on the last day of the month 
specified in the termination request, whichever is later. If the request is received on the first day of the month, 
vision plan enrollment will be terminated on the last day of the previous month. 

 
A retiree or a survivor who voluntarily terminates their enrollment in PEBB vision also terminates vision 
enrollment for all eligible dependents. 

Making changes during annual open enrollment and special open enrollment 
 

A subscriber may make certain changes to their enrollment during the annual open enrollment and if a 
specific life event creates a special open enrollment period. 

Annual open enrollment changes 
 

An employee may make the following changes to their enrollment during the PEBB Program’s annual open 
enrollment period: 

 

• Enroll or remove eligible dependents 

• Change their vision plan 

An employee must submit the election change online using Benefits 24/7 or return the required PEBB 
Employee Enrollment/Change form and any supporting documents to their Employing Agency. The change 
must be completed online, or the forms received, no later than the last day of the annual open enrollment 
period and will be effective January 1 of the following year. 

 
Any other subscriber may make the following changes to their enrollment during the PEBB Program’s 
annual open enrollment period: 

 

• Enroll in or terminate enrollment in a vision plan 

• Enroll or remove eligible dependents 

• Change their vision plan 

They must submit the election change online using Benefits 24/7 or return the required PEBB Retiree Open 
Enrollment Election/Change Form (form A-OE) or PEBB Continuation Coverage Election/Change form (as 
appropriate) and any supporting documents to the PEBB Program. The change must be completed online, or 
the forms received, no later than the last day of the annual open enrollment period. The change will be 
effective January 1 of the following year. 

 
Special open enrollment changes 

A subscriber may change their enrollment outside of the annual open enrollment period if a qualifying event 
creates a special open enrollment period. However, the change in enrollment must be allowable under 
Internal Revenue Code (IRC) and Treasury Regulations and correspond to and be consistent with the event 
that creates the special open enrollment for the subscriber, their dependent, or both. 

 
A special open enrollment event must be other than an employee gaining initial eligibility or regaining eligibility 
for PEBB benefits. The subscriber must provide evidence of the event that created the special open 
enrollment. 
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A special open enrollment may allow a subscriber to make the following changes: 
 

• Enroll in or change their vision plan 

• Enroll or remove eligible dependents 

To request a special open enrollment: 

• An employee must make the change online using Benefits 24/7 or submit the required PEBB Employee 
Enrollment/Change form and any supporting documents to their Employing Agency. 

• Any other subscriber must make the change online using Benefits 24/7 or submit the required PEBB 
Retiree Change Form (form E) or PEBB Continuation Coverage Election/Change form (as appropriate) and 
any supporting documents to the PEBB Program. 

The change must be completed online, or the forms must be received, no later than 60 days after the event 
that creates the special open enrollment. In addition, the PEBB Program or the Employing Agency will require 
the subscriber to provide proof of a dependent’s eligibility, evidence of the event that created the special open 
enrollment, or both. 

Note: If a subscriber wants to enroll a newborn or child whom the subscriber has adopted or has assumed a 
legal obligation for total or partial support in anticipation of adoption in PEBB health plan coverage, the 
subscriber should complete the request online or notify their Employing Agency or the PEBB Program by 
submitting the required forms as soon as possible to ensure timely payment of claims. If adding the child 
increases the premium, the request must be received online, or the required forms must be received, no later 
than 60 days after the date of the birth, adoption, or the date the legal obligation is assumed for total or partial 
support in anticipation of adoption. 

 
Special open enrollment events that allow for a change in health plans 

A subscriber may not change their health plan during a special open enrollment if their state-registered 
domestic partner or state-registered domestic partner’s child is not a tax dependent. 
Any of the following events may create a special open enrollment: 

 

• Subscriber gains a new dependent due to: 

• Marriage or registering a state-registered domestic partnership. 

• Birth, adoption, or assuming a legal obligation for total or partial support in anticipation of adoption. 

• A child becoming eligible as an extended dependent through legal custody or legal guardianship. 

• Subscriber or their dependent loses other coverage under a group health plan or through health insurance 
coverage, as defined by the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA). 

• Subscriber has a change in employment status that affects their eligibility for the employer contribution 
toward their employer-based group health plan. 

• Subscriber’s dependent has a change in their own employment status that affects their eligibility or their 
dependent’s eligibility for the employer contribution under their employer-based group health plan. 
“Employer contribution” means contributions made by the dependent’s current or former employer toward 
health coverage as described in the Treasury Regulation. 

• Subscriber or their dependent has a change in residence that affects health plan availability. If the 
subscriber has a change in residence and their current medical plan is no longer available, the subscriber 
must select a new medical plan as described in PEBB Program rules. 

• A court order requires the subscriber or any other individual to provide insurance coverage for an eligible 
dependent of the subscriber (a former spouse or former state-registered domestic partner is not an eligible 
dependent). 

• Subscriber or their dependent enrolls in coverage under Medicaid or a state Children’s Health Insurance 
Program (CHIP) or the subscriber or their dependent loses eligibility for coverage under Medicaid or CHIP. 
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• Subscriber or their dependent becomes eligible for state premium assistance subsidy for PEBB health plan 
coverage from Medicaid or CHIP. 

• Subscriber or their dependent enrolls in coverage under Medicare, or the subscriber or their dependent 
loses eligibility for coverage under Medicare or enrolls in or terminates enrollment in a Medicare Advantage 
Prescription Drug or a Part D plan. If the subscriber’s current medical plan becomes unavailable due to the 
subscriber or their dependent’s enrollment in Medicare, the subscriber must select a new medical plan. 

• Subscriber or their dependent’s current medical plan becomes unavailable because the subscriber or 
enrolled dependent is no longer eligible for a health savings account (HSA). 

• Subscriber or their dependent experiences a disruption of care for active and ongoing treatment that could 
function as a reduction in benefits for the subscriber or their dependent. The subscriber may not change 
their health plan election because the subscriber or dependent’s physician stops participation with the 
subscriber’s health plan unless the PEBB Program determines that a continuity of care issue exists. The 
PEBB Program will consider but not limit its consideration to the following: 

• Active cancer treatment, such as chemotherapy or radiation therapy 

• Treatment following a recent organ transplant 

• A scheduled surgery 

• Recent major surgery still within the postoperative period 

• Treatment for a high-risk pregnancy 

• The PEBB Program determines that there has been a substantial decrease in the providers available 
under a PEBB medical plan. 

 
Note: The plan cannot guarantee that any physician, hospital, or other provider will be available or remain 
under contract with the plan. An Enrollee may not change vision plans simply because their provider or health 
care facility discontinues participation with this vision plan until the PEBB Program’s next annual open 
enrollment or when another qualifying event creates a special open enrollment for changing health plans, 
unless the PEBB Program determines that a continuity of care issue exists. 

 
Special open enrollment events that allow adding or removing a dependent 

 
Any of the following events may create a special open enrollment: 

 

• Subscriber gains a new dependent due to: 

• Marriage or registering a state-registered domestic partnership. 

• Birth, adoption, or when the subscriber has assumed a legal obligation for total or partial support in 
anticipation of adoption. 

• A child becoming eligible as an extended dependent through legal custody or legal guardianship. 

• Subscriber or their dependent loses other coverage under a group health plan or through health insurance 
coverage, as defined by the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA). 

• Subscriber has a change in employment status that affects their eligibility for the employer contribution 
toward their employer-based group health plan. 

• Subscriber’s dependent has a change in their own employment status that affects their eligibility or their 
dependent’s eligibility for the employer contribution under their employer-based group health plan. 
“Employer contribution” means contributions made by the dependent’s current or former employer toward 
health coverage as described in the Treasury Regulation. 

• Subscriber or their dependent has a change in enrollment under an employer-based group health plan 
during its annual open enrollment that does not align with the PEBB Program’s annual open enrollment. 

• Subscriber’s dependent has a change in residence from outside of the United States to within the United 
States, or from within the United States to outside of the United States and that change in residence 
resulted in the dependent losing their health insurance. 
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• A court order requires the subscriber or any other individual to provide insurance coverage for an eligible 
dependent of the subscriber (a former spouse or former state-registered domestic partner is not an eligible 
dependent). 

• Subscriber or their dependent enrolls in coverage under Medicaid or a state Children’s Health Insurance 
Program (CHIP) or the subscriber or their dependent loses eligibility for coverage under Medicaid or CHIP. 

• Subscriber or their dependent becomes eligible for a state premium assistance subsidy for PEBB health 
plan coverage from Medicaid or CHIP. 

• Subscriber’s dependent enrolls in Medicare or loses eligibility for Medicare. 

WHEN VISION COVERAGE ENDS 
 

Termination dates 
 

Vision coverage ends on the following dates: 

• On the last day of the month when any Enrollee ceases to be eligible. 

• On the date a vision plan terminates or when the group policy ends. If that should occur, the subscriber will 
have the opportunity to enroll in another PEBB vision plan. 

• For an employee and their dependents, on the last day of the month the employment relationship is 
terminated. The employment relationship is considered terminated: 

• On the date specified in an employee’s letter of resignation. 

• On the date specified in any contract or hire letter. 

• On the effective date of an employer-initiated termination notice. 

Note: If the Employing Agency deducted the employee’s premium for PEBB insurance coverage after the 
employee was no longer eligible for the employer contribution, vision coverage ends the last day of the month 
for which employee premiums were deducted. 

 

• For a retiree, a survivor, a continuation coverage subscriber, or a Retired Employee of a Former 
Employer Group who submits a request to terminate vision coverage, enrollment in vision coverage will 
be terminated the last day of the month in which the request was received online using Benefits 24/7 or by 
the PEBB Program, or on the last day of the month specified in the termination request, whichever is later. 
If the request is received on the first day of the month, vision coverage will be terminated on the last day of 
the previous month. 

A subscriber will be responsible for payment of any services received after the date vision coverage ends, as 
described above. 

Final Premium Payments 
 

Premium payments and applicable premium surcharges are not prorated during any month, for any reason, 
even if an Enrollee dies or asks to terminate their vision plan before the end of the month. 

An exception occurs when an enrolled retiree dies on or after June 6, 2024. A state law that took effect June 
6, 2024, requires HCA to waive the premium payment for medical, dental, vision, and any applicable premium 
surcharges for the retiree for the month in which the death occurred. 

 
If the monthly premium or applicable premium surcharges remain unpaid for 30 days, the account will be 
considered delinquent. A subscriber is allowed a grace period of 30 days from the date the monthly premiums 
or applicable premium surcharges become delinquent to pay the unpaid premium balance and applicable 
premium surcharges. If the subscriber’s premium balance or applicable premium surcharges remain unpaid 
for 60 days from the original due date, the subscriber’s vision coverage (including enrolled dependents) will 
be terminated retroactive to the last day of the month for which the monthly premiums and any applicable 
premium surcharges were paid. 



ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR THE SUBSCRIBER AND THE 
SUBSCRIBER’S DEPENDENTS (continued) 

GCERT2025-WSHCA-PEBB-WA-VISION 24 

 

 

Options for continuing PEBB vision coverage 

When vision coverage ends, the subscriber and their dependents covered by this vision plan may be eligible 
to continue PEBB vision coverage during temporary or permanent loss of eligibility. 

 
There are three options the subscriber and their dependents may qualify for when coverage ends. 

 

• PEBB Continuation Coverage (COBRA) 

• PEBB Continuation Coverage (Unpaid Leave) 

• PEBB retiree insurance coverage 

PEBB Continuation Coverage 

The PEBB Program administers the following continuation coverage options that temporarily extend group 
insurance coverage when the Enrollee’s PEBB vision plan coverage ends due to a qualifying event: 

 

• PEBB Continuation Coverage (COBRA) includes eligibility and administrative requirements under federal 
COBRA laws and regulations. Some Enrollees who are not qualified beneficiaries under federal COBRA 
may also qualify for PEBB Continuation Coverage (COBRA). When a COBRA continuation coverage 
subscriber or their dependent enrolls in Medicare Part A and Part B, they may continue coverage under 
this vision plan if they are not also enrolled in a PEBB Medicare medical plan. 

• PEBB Continuation Coverage (Unpaid Leave) is an option created by the PEBB Program with wider 
eligibility criteria and qualifying event types than COBRA. 

 
An Enrollee who qualifies for both types of PEBB Continuation Coverage (COBRA and Unpaid Leave) may 
enroll in only one of these options. See “Continuation coverage enrollment” and the PEBB Continuation 
Coverage Election Notice. 

Premium payments for PEBB Continuation Coverage 
 

If a subscriber enrolls in continuation coverage, the subscriber is responsible for timely payment of premiums 
and applicable premium surcharges. 

 
The PEBB Program also administers continued health plan enrollment under PEBB Continuation Coverage 
(Employer Group Ended Participation) for a retired employee or a retired school employee and their 
dependents covered by this vision plan who lose eligibility for PEBB retiree insurance coverage when their 
Employer Group ends participation with the Health Care Authority. Contact the PEBB Program at 1-800-200- 
1004 (TRS: 711) for details. 

PEBB retiree insurance coverage 
 

A retiring employee, a retiring school employee, an eligible elected or full-time appointed official of the 
legislative or executive branch of state government leaving public office, a dependent becoming eligible as a 
survivor, or a retiree or a survivor enrolled in PEBB retiree insurance coverage is eligible to continue 
enrollment or defer enrollment in PEBB retiree insurance coverage, if they meet procedural and substantive 
eligibility requirements. See the PEBB Retiree Enrollment Guide for details. Enrollment in a vision plan under 
PEBB retiree insurance coverage is only available for Enrollees who are not enrolled in Medicare Part A and 
Part B. 

 
Family and Medical Leave Act of 1993 

An employee on approved leave under the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) may continue to 
receive the employer contribution toward PEBB benefits in accordance with the federal FMLA. 

 
The Employing Agency determines if the employee is eligible for leave and the duration of the leave under 
FMLA. The employee must continue to pay their monthly premium contribution and applicable premium 
surcharges during this period to maintain eligibility. 



ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: INSURANCE FOR THE SUBSCRIBER AND THE 
SUBSCRIBER’S DEPENDENTS (continued) 

GCERT2025-WSHCA-PEBB-WA-VISION 25 

 

 

If an employee exhausts the period of leave approved under FMLA, they may continue PEBB insurance 
coverage by self-paying the monthly premium and applicable premium surcharges set by HCA, with no 
contribution from the Employing Agency. See “Options for continuing PEBB vision coverage.” 

Paid Family and Medical Leave Act 
 

An employee on approved leave under the Washington State Paid Family and Medical Leave (PFML) 
Program may continue to receive the employer contribution toward PEBB benefits. 

The Employment Security Department determines if the employee is eligible for leave under PFML. The 
employee must continue to pay their monthly premium contribution and applicable premium surcharges 
during this period to maintain eligibility. 

If an employee exhausts the period of leave approved under PFML, they may continue PEBB insurance 
coverage by self-paying the monthly premium and applicable premium surcharges set by HCA, with no 
contribution from the Employing Agency. See “Options for continuing PEBB vision coverage.” 

 
GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR ELIGIBILITY AND ENROLLMENT 

Payment of premiums during a labor dispute 
 

Any employee or dependent whose monthly premiums are paid in full or in part by the Employing Agency may 
pay premiums directly to HCA if the employee’s compensation is suspended or terminated directly or 
indirectly because of a strike, lockout, or any other labor dispute, for a period not to exceed six months. 

 
When the employee’s compensation is suspended or terminated, HCA will notify the employee immediately 
(by mail at the last address of record) that the employee may pay premiums as they become due. 

 
If coverage is no longer available to the employee under this certificate of coverage, then the employee may 
be eligible to purchase an individual vision plan from this plan consistent with premium rates filed with the 
Washington State Office of the Insurance Commissioner. 

Termination for just cause 
 

The purpose of this provision is to allow for a fair and consistent method to process the plan-designated 
provider’s request to terminate an Enrollee’s coverage from this plan for just cause. 

A retiree or an eligible dependent may have coverage terminated by HCA for the following reasons: 

 

• Failure to comply with the PEBB Program’s procedural requirements, including failure to provide 
information or documentation requested by the due date in written requests from the PEBB Program 

• Knowingly providing false information 

• Failure to pay the monthly premium and applicable premium surcharges when due 

• Misconduct. Examples of such termination include, but are not limited to the following: 

▪ Fraud, intentional misrepresentation or withholding of information the subscriber knew or should have 
known was material or necessary to accurately determine eligibility or the correct premium 

▪ Abusive or threatening conduct repeatedly directed to an HCA employee, a health plan, or other 
HCA-contracted vendor providing PEBB insurance coverage on behalf of HCA, its employees, or 
other persons 

 
If a retiree’s PEBB insurance coverage is terminated by HCA for the above reasons, PEBB insurance 
coverage for all of the retiree’s eligible dependents is also terminated. 

The PEBB Program will enroll an employee and their eligible dependents in another PEBB vision plan upon 
termination from this plan. 
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Appeal rights 

Any current or former employee of a State Agency or their dependent may appeal a decision made by the 
State Agency regarding PEBB eligibility, enrollment, or premium surcharges to the State Agency. 

 
Any current or former employee of an Employer Group, such as a county, city, port, water district, etc., 
that contracts with HCA for PEBB benefits, or their dependent may appeal a decision made by an Employer 
Group regarding PEBB eligibility, enrollment, or premium surcharges to the Employer Group. 

Any Enrollee may appeal a decision made by the PEBB Program regarding PEBB eligibility, enrollment, 
premium payments, or premium surcharges to the PEBB Appeals Unit. 

 
Any Enrollee may appeal a decision regarding the administration of a PEBB vision plan by following the 
appeal provisions of the plan, except when regarding eligibility, enrollment, and premium payment decisions. 

Learn more at hca.wa.gov/pebb-appeals. 
 

Relationship to law and regulations 

Any provision of this certificate of coverage that is in conflict with any governing law or regulation of 
Washington State is hereby amended to comply with the minimum requirements of such law or regulation. 
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Benefits are available for Covered Services and Materials provided by either In-Network Vision Providers or 
Out-of-Network Vision Providers. However, Members may be able to reduce out-of-pocket costs by using In- 
Network Vision Providers because Out-of-Network Vision Providers have not entered into an agreement to 
limit their charges. Members are always free to receive services from any Vision Provider. Members do not 
need any authorization from Us before seeing a Vision Provider. 

 
In-Network Vision Providers have agreed to provide Covered Services and Materials as listed in the 
SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS. 

If a Member incurs a charge for Covered Services and Materials from an Out-of-Network Vision Provider, 
Proof of such service must be sent to Us. When We receive such Proof, We will review the claim and if We 
approve it, will pay the insurance in effect on the date that service was completed. 

 
The benefits available under this Vision Insurance are set forth on the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS. In 
addition to the Co-Payment, if applicable, Members may be responsible for: 

• the cost of any services or materials that are not Covered Services and Materials; and 

• the cost of any service or material that is in excess of the Maximum Benefit Allowance listed on the 
SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS. 

We do not provide vision services. Whether or not benefits are available for a particular service does not 
mean Members should or should not receive the service. The Member and their Vision Provider have the right 
and are responsible at all times for choosing the course of treatment and services to be performed. 

 
When requesting Covered Services and Materials from an In-Network Vision Provider, We recommend that 
Members confirm that the Vision Provider is currently an In-Network Vision Provider at the time that the 
Covered Services and Materials are provided. 

 
Members can obtain a customized listing of MetLife’s In-Network Vision Providers either by calling 
1-866-548-7139 or by visiting Our website at www.mybenefits.metlife.com/wahca. 

PLAN BENEFITS 
 

We will pay benefits for charges incurred by a Member for Covered Services and Materials as shown in the 
SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS, subject to the conditions set forth in this certificate. 

If a Member receives Covered Services and Materials from an In-Network Vision Provider, We will pay the 
provider directly for all covered benefits. 

 
If a Member receives Covered Services and Materials from an Out-of-Network Vision Provider, and the 
Subscriber assigns payment of Vision Insurance benefits to a Member’s Vision Provider, We will pay benefits 
directly to the Vision Provider. Otherwise, We will pay Vision Insurance benefits to the Subscriber. 

In-Network 
 

If Covered Services and Materials are provided by an In-Network Vision Provider, We will base the benefit on 
the Plan Benefits listed on the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS. 

If an In-Network Vision Provider provides Covered Services and Materials, Members will be responsible for 
paying: 

 

• the Co-Payment, if applicable; and 

• the cost of any service or material that is in excess of the Plan Benefits listed on the SCHEDULE OF 
BENEFITS. 

http://www.mybenefits.metlife.com/wahca
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Out-of-Network 

If Covered Services and Materials are provided by an Out-of-Network Vision Provider, We will base the 
benefit on the Plan Benefits listed on the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS, subject to the Maximum Benefit 
Allowance. 

 
Out-of-Network Vision Providers may charge Members more than the Maximum Benefit Allowance. If an Out- 
of-Network Vision Provider provides Covered Services and Materials, Members will be responsible for paying 
any amount in excess of the Maximum Benefit Allowance charged by the Out-of-Network Vision Provider. 

Visually Necessary Contact Lenses 
 

A visually necessary contact lens exam and an annual supply of visually necessary contact lenses are 
covered in full for patients meeting the established conditions below. Those patients must be eligible for 
materials on the date of service. Coverage is limited and may require special handling to ensure proper 
reimbursement. Exam and material (prescription lenses and frame) copays for contact lenses apply unless 
otherwise specified. 

 
Note: Visually necessary contact lenses aren’t typically covered for patients who have received refractive 
surgery (e.g., LASIK, PRK, or RK). However, patients with underlying conditions such as corneal ectasia, 
corneal deformity, scarring or irregularity that require contact lenses to provide vision improvement, may be 
covered for visually necessary contact lenses, if they meet the approved criteria. Treatment for corneal 
abrasion is covered under Essential Medical Eye Care. 

 
Benefit Coverage Criteria for Base Lenses 

 

• Nystagmus – H55.00 through H55.09, H81.10 through H81.23, or H81.41 through H81.49 

• Anisometropia greater than or equal to 3.00 diopters difference based on the spectacle prescription. 

• High ametropia greater than or equal to ±10.00 diopters in either eye based on the spectacle 
prescription. 

• Please see Visually Necessary Contact Lens Specialty Contact Lenses below for a complete listing of 
covered diagnosis codes. 

 
Colored contact lenses (for Visually Necessary Contacts) are a covered benefit for patients with the 
following conditions: 

 

• Achromatopsia – H53.51 

• Albinism – E70.30, E70.310, E70.311, E70.318, E70.319 

• Aniridia – Q13.1 

• Polycoria; anisocoria (congenital) – Q13.0 

• Pupillary abnormalities – H21.561 through H21.569 

To submit visually necessary contact lens claims through eClaim for any of the conditions above, the 
Vision Provider must do the following: 

Select Necessary Contact Lens as the Contact Lens Reason. Indicate the appropriate diagnosis code and/or 
spectacle prescription verifying the condition. For anisometropia and/or high ametropia, enter the spectacle 
prescription on the lab invoice for verification purposes. 

 
Scleral Lenses (For Covered Contacts and Visually Necessary Contacts) 

Bill scleral lenses using HCPCS V2530 or V2531. Hybrid contact lenses are not scleral lenses and will not be 
reimbursed as sclerals. Bill hybrid lenses using V2599. 

 
When submitting a claim for Visually Necessary Contacts using V2531, the Vision Provider must provide the 
following information in Box 19: 

 

• Type of lens – Scleral 

• The scleral lens manufacturer or brand 
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If this information is missing or incomplete, it will result in claim reimbursement at the V2599 rate. 

Other Type of Contact Lenses (For Covered Contacts and Visually Necessary Contacts) 

Use HCPCS code V2599 for other types of contact lenses, such as hybrid lenses. 

When submitting a claim using V2599 (contact lens, other type) the Vision Provider must provide the following 
information in Box 19: 

 

• Type of lens 

• The lens manufacturer or brand 

• For example, hybrid contact lens, SynergEyes® iD 

Note: Bill scleral lenses using HCPCS V2530 or V2531. Hybrid contact lenses are not scleral lenses and will 
not be reimbursed as scleral. 

 
Piggyback Lenses Benefit 

 
Piggyback lenses are a covered benefit for patients meeting one of the conditions above, and who aren’t able 
to tolerate rigid gas permeable contact lenses. This requires the use of soft contact lenses and rigid gas 
permeable contact lenses, in the manner of a piggyback fitting. 

When submitting a claim for piggyback lenses, the Vision Provider must provide the following information in 
Box 19: 

 

• Piggyback lenses 

Spectacle lenses to wear over contacts benefit 

Contacts with spectacle lenses to wear over contacts are covered benefits for patients with the following 
conditions: 

 

• Aphakia – H27.00 - H27.03 or Q12.3 

• High ametropia greater than or equal to ±10.00 diopters in either eye based on the spectacle 

• prescription. 

• Presbyopia – H52.4 

• Pseudophakia – Z96.1 

• Accommodative disorder 

• Binocular function disorder 

• Different prism requirements for distance and near vision 

A prescription is required for the lenses. Plano lenses aren’t a covered benefit. 
 

When your patient qualifies for spectacle lenses to be worn over contact lenses, request the spectacle lenses 
claim number at the same time or within 30 days of the contact lens claim submission date. For patients with 
keratoconus, request a claim number for spectacle lenses to be worn over contact lenses within 12 months of 
the contact lens claim submission date. Frames are private transaction between you and your patient. 

 
If your patient meets the benefit criteria for visually necessary contact lenses above and also requires 
spectacle lenses to wear over the contacts, please verify that the above criteria is met, and call VSP at 
800.615.1883 to obtain a claim number. Please have the relevant criteria information available when calling. 

Submitting Claims 
 

Vision Providers should request a case number when your patient meets the benefit coverage criteria above, 
but you can’t submit your claim through eClaim at eyefinity.com. To get a case number so you can submit 
your claim through eClaim, complete a Materials Verification Form, which must include at least one of the 
qualifying criteria listed above. Please allow five (5) business days for a response. Put your case number in 
Box 23. 
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The following situations also require the submittal of a Materials Verification Form: 

 

• NCL claims with DOS over 6 months 

• Physical condition of ears or nose which prohibits the use of eyeglasses 

• Physical symptoms associated with paraplegia or quadriplegia (be specific) 

Fax the Materials Verification Form to us at 916.851.4733. Or mail to VSP, PO Box 385020, Birmingham, AL 
35238-5020. You can find the form in the VSPOnline section of eyefinity.com or in the Tools and Forms 
section Of this manual. 

 

Visually Necessary Specialty Contact Lenses 
If billing with CPT code 92072*, 92311*, 92312* or 92313* – for one of these 
diagnosis codes: 

 
*Codes may not be billed together on the same claim. 

Description ICD-10 Codes: 

Absence of iris (Aniridia) Q13.1 

Achromatopsia H53.51 

Adherent leukoma H17.00 - H17.03 

Albinism E70.30 

Aphakia H27.00 - H27.03 

Band keratopathy H18.421- H18.429 

Breakdown (mechanical) of other 
ocular prosthetic devices, implants 
and grafts 

T85.318A - T85.318S 

Bullous keratopathy H18.10 - H18.13 

Central corneal opacity H17.10 - H17.13 

Coloboma of iris Q13.0 

Congenital aphakia Q12.3 

Congenital corneal opacity Q13.3 

Corneal ectasia H18.711 - H18.719 

Corneal scars and opacities H17.00 - H17.9, A18.59 

Corneal staphyloma H18.721 - H18.729 

Corneal transplant failure T86.8411 - T86.8419 

Corneal transplant rejection T86.8401 - T86.8409 

Corneal transplant status Z94.7 

Corrosion of cornea and conjunctival 
sac 

T26.60XA - T26.62XS 

Deep vascularization of cornea H16.441 - H16.449 

Displacement of other ocular 
prosthetic devices, implants and grafts 

T85.328A - T85.328S 

Endothelial corneal dystrophy H18.511 - H18.519 

Enophthalmos due to atrophy of 
orbital tissue 

H05.419 

Epithelial (juvenile) corneal dystrophy H18.521– H18.529 
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Folds and rupture in Bowman's 
membrane 

H18.311 - H18.319 

Graft-versus-host disease D89.813 

Granular corneal dystrophy H18.531 – H18.539 

Keratoconus, stable H18.611 - H18.619 

Keratoconus, unspecified H18.601 - H18.629 

Keratoconus, unstable H18.621 - H18.629 

Keratoconjunctivitis sicca, in Sjogren’s 
syndrome 

M35.01 

Keratomalacia H18.441 - H18.449 

Lattice corneal dystrophy H18.541 - H18.549 

Localized vascularization of cornea 
Covered for significant cases only 
where corneal neovascularization is a 
complication of inflammatory, 
infectious or autoimmune corneal 
pathologies 

H16.431 - H16.439 

Macular corneal dystrophy H18.551 - H18.559 

Minor opacity of cornea H17.811 - H17.819 

Nodular corneal degeneration H18.451 - H18.459 

Ocular laceration and rupture with 
prolapse or loss of intraocular tissue 

S05.20XA - S05.22XS 

Ocular laceration without prolapse or 
loss of intraocular tissue 

S05.30XA - S05.32XS 

Other calcerous corneal degeneration H18.43 

Other congenital corneal 
malformations 

Q13.4 

Other corneal degeneration H18.49 

Other corneal scars and opacities H17.89 

Other hereditary corneal dystrophies H18.591 – H18.599 

Other injuries of eye and orbit S05.8X1A - S05.8X9S 

Other keratitis H16.8 

Other mechanical complication of 
other ocular prosthetic devices, 
implants and grafts 

T85.398A - T85.398S 

Other tuberculosis of eye A18.59 

Penetrating wound with foreign body S05.50XA - S05.52XS 

Peripheral corneal degeneration 
Covered for marginal corneal 
degenerations, such as pellucid and 
Terrien, or as a result of previous 
ocular disease or trauma 

H18.461 - H18.469 

Peripheral opacity of cornea H17.821 - H17.829 

Pupillary abnormality H21.561 - H21.569 
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Recurrent erosion of cornea H18.831 - H18.839 

Unspecified corneal deformity H18.70 

Unspecified corneal degeneration H18.40 

Unspecified corneal membrane 
change 

H18.30 

Unspecified corneal scar and opacity H17.9 

Unspecified hereditary corneal 
dystrophies 

H18.501 - H18.509 

Unspecified injury of unspecified eye 
and orbit 

S05.90XA - S05.92XS 

Vitamin A deficiency with 
xerophthalmic scars of cornea 

E50.6 

 
Note: To substantiate billing for keratoconus, records must include: patient history; K readings; BCVA with 
refraction; slit lamp examination of the cornea; corneal topography or anterior OCT of the cornea. 

The codes listed above are from the International Classification of Diseases, Ninth Revision, Clinical 
Modification and are used to describe diseases, injuries, symptoms and conditions. If the Member has 
questions about the diagnoses listed above or the codes included with the diagnoses, please contact the 
Member’s Vision Provider. 
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Subject to the Service Intervals and Plan Benefits indicated in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS, the following 
will be Covered Services and Materials: 

1. One complete visual examination. 
 

2. Standard corrective lenses. We will cover a pair of standard single vision, lined bifocal, lined trifocal or 
lenticular lenses that are necessary to correct vision. Standard corrective lenses are as follows: 

 

• eye sizes up to and including 60mm; 

• multi-focal lenses in all segment widths; 

• prism and slab off; 

• base curves (regardless of curve); 

• lenses with the combined power in any meridian is +/- .50 diopters or greater in at least one eye; and 

• plastic or glass lenses. 

3. The following lens options described in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS: tint (solid and gradient), standard 
plastic scratch coating, standard polycarbonate (if you are less than 18 years of age, standard anti- 
reflective coating, plastic photochromic, polarized premium anti-reflective. 

4. Contact lenses. 
 

• A standard fitting and 1 follow-up visit by a Vision Provider. 

• The following contact lenses options, as described in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS: conventional, 
disposable, and Necessary. 

5. Necessary low vision aids. 
 

6. We do not cover costs above the Maximum Benefit Allowance shown in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS 
for frames. If frames are selected that are more expensive than that amount, the Member will be charged 
the difference between the Maximum Benefit Allowance and the Vision Provider’s charge for the more 
expensive frame. 

 
7. Necessary contact lenses in lieu of all benefits for vision materials. 
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We will not pay Vision Insurance benefits for charges incurred for: 

1. Services and/or materials not specifically included in the SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS as covered Plan 
Benefits. 

2. Any portion of a charge in excess of the Maximum Benefit Allowance or reimbursement indicated in the 
SCHEDULE OF BENEFITS. 

3. Plano lenses (lenses with refractive correction of less than ± .50 diopter). 

4. Two pairs of glasses instead of bifocals. 

5. Replacement of lenses, frames and/or contact lenses furnished under this Plan which are lost, stolen or 
damaged, except at the normal Service Intervals when Plan Benefits are otherwise available. 

6. Orthoptics or vision training and any associated supplemental testing. 

7. Medical or surgical treatment of the eye. 

8. Prescription or non-prescription medications. 

9. Contact lens insurance policies and service agreements. 

10. Refitting of contact lenses after the initial (90-day) fitting period. 

11. Contact lens modification, polishing and cleaning. 

12. Any eye examination or any corrective eyewear required as a condition of employment. 

13. Services or supplies received by a Member before the Vision Insurance starts for that person. 

14. Missed appointments. 

15. Services or materials resulting from or in the course of a Covered Person’s regular occupation for pay or 
profit for which the Covered Person is entitled to benefits under any Workers’ Compensation Law, 
Employer’s Liability Law or similar law. The Subscriber must promptly claim and notify the Company of all 
such benefits. 

16. Local, state and/or federal taxes, except where MetLife is required by law to pay. 

17. Services: 

• for which the employer of the person receiving such services is required to pay by law; or 

• received at a facility maintained by the employer, labor union, mutual benefit association, or VA 
hospital. 

18. Services or materials received as a result of disease, defect, or injury due to war or an act of war 
(declared or undeclared), taking part in a riot or insurrection, or committing or attempting to commit a 
felony. 

19. Services, procedures, or materials for which a charge would not have been made in the absence of 
insurance. 
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VISION INSURANCE: COORDINATION OF BENEFITS 

 
The Coordination of Benefits (COB) provision applies when a person has vision coverage under more than 
one Plan. Plan is defined below. 

 
The order of benefit determination rules govern the order in which each Plan will pay a claim for benefits. The 
Plan that pays first is called the Primary plan. The Primary plan must pay benefits according to its policy 
terms without regard to the possibility that another Plan may cover some expenses. The Plan that pays after 
the Primary plan is the Secondary plan. The Secondary plan may reduce the benefits it pays so that 
payments from all Plans do not exceed 100% of the total Allowable expense. 

 
DEFINITIONS 

 
A. A Plan is any of the following that provides benefits or services for vision care or treatment. If separate 

contracts are used to provide coordinated coverage for members of a group, the separate contracts are 
considered parts of the same plan and there is no COB among those separate contracts. However, if COB 
rules do not apply to all contracts, or to all benefits in the same contract, the contract or benefit to which 
COB does not apply is treated as a separate plan. 

 
(1) Plan includes: Group, individual or blanket disability insurance contracts, and group or individual contracts 

issued by health care service contractors or health maintenance organizations (HMO), closed panel plans 
or other forms of group coverage; medical care components of long-term care contracts, such as skilled 
nursing care; and Medicare or any other federal governmental plan, as permitted by law. 

(2) Plan does not include: Hospital indemnity or fixed payment coverage or other fixed indemnity or fixed 
payment coverage; accident only coverage; specified disease or specified accident coverage; limited 
benefit health coverage, as defined by state law; school accident type coverage; benefits for non-medical 
components of long-term care policies; automobile insurance policies required by statute to provide 
medical benefits; Medicare supplement policies; Medicaid coverage; or coverage under other federal 
governmental plans, unless permitted by law. 

 
Each contract for coverage under (1) or (2) is a separate Plan. If a Plan has two parts and COB rules apply 
only to one of the two, each of the parts is treated as a separate Plan. 

 
B. This plan means, in a COB provision, the part of the contract providing the vision care benefits to which 

the COB provision applies and which may be reduced because of the benefits of other plans. Any other 
part of the contract providing vision care benefits is separate from this plan. A contract may apply one 
COB provision to certain benefits, such as vision benefits, coordinating only with similar benefits, and may 
apply another COB provision to coordinate other benefits. 

 
C. The order of benefit determination rules determine whether This plan is a Primary plan or Secondary 

plan when the person has vision care coverage under more than one Plan. 

 
When This plan is primary, it determines payment for its benefits first before those of any other Plan without 
considering any other Plan's benefits. When This plan is secondary, it determines its benefits after those of 
another Plan and must make payment in an amount so that, when combined with the amount paid by the 
primary plan, the total benefits paid or provided by all plans for the claim equal 100% of the Total Allowable 
expense for that claim. This means that when this Plan is Secondary, it must pay the amount which, when 
combined with what the Primary plan paid, totals 100% of the highest Allowable expense. In addition, if this 
Plan is Secondary, it must calculate its savings (its amount paid subtracted from the amount it would have 
paid had it been the Primary plan) and record these savings as a benefit reserve for the covered person. 
This reserve must be used to pay any expenses during that calendar year, whether or not they are an 
Allowable expense under this Plan. If this Plan is Secondary, it will not be required to pay an amount in 
excess of its maximum benefit plus any accrued savings. 

 
D. Allowable expense is a vision care expense, including deductibles, coinsurance and copayments, that is 

covered at least in part by any Plan covering the person. When a Plan provides benefits in the form of 
services, the reasonable cash value of each service will be considered an Allowable expense and a 
benefit paid. An expense that is not covered by any Plan covering the person is not an Allowable 
expense. 
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The following are examples of expenses that are not Allowable expenses: 

(1) If a person is covered by two or more Plans that compute their benefit payments on the basis of 
usual and customary fees or relative value schedule reimbursement method or other similar reimbursement 
method, any amount in excess of the highest reimbursement amount for a specific benefit is not an Allowable 
expense. 

 
(2) If a person is covered by two or more Plans that provide benefits or services on the basis of negotiated 
fees, an amount in excess of the highest of the negotiated fees is not an Allowable expense. 

 
(3) The amount of any benefit reduction by the Primary plan because a covered person has failed to comply 
with the Plan provisions is not an Allowable expense. Examples of these types of plan provisions include 
second surgical opinions, precertification of admissions, and preferred provider arrangements. 

 
E. Closed panel plan is a Plan that provides vision benefits to covered persons in the form of services 

through a panel of providers who are primarily employed by the Plan, and that excludes coverage for 
services provided by other providers, except in cases of emergency or referral by a panel member. 

F. Custodial parent is the parent awarded custody by a court decree or, in the absence of a court 
decree, is the parent with whom the child resides more than one half of the calendar year excluding any 
temporary visitation. 

 
ORDER OF BENEFIT DETERMINATION RULES 

 
When a person is covered by two or more Plans, the rules for determining the order of benefit payments are 
as follows: 

 
A. The Primary plan pays or provides its benefits according to its terms of coverage and without regard to the 
benefits under any other Plan. 

 
B. (1) Except as provided in subsection (2), a Plan that does not contain a coordination of benefits provision 
that is consistent with this chapter is always primary unless the provisions of both Plans state that the 
complying plan is primary. 

 
(2) Coverage that is obtained by virtue of membership in a group that is designed to supplement a part of a 
basic package of benefits and provides that this supplementary coverage is excess to any other parts of the 
Plan provided by the contract holder. Examples include major medical coverages that are superimposed over 
hospital and surgical benefits, and insurance type coverages that are written in connection with a Closed 
panel plan to provide out-of-network benefits. 

 
C. A Plan may consider the benefits paid or provided by another Plan in calculating payment of its benefits 
only when it is secondary to that other Plan. 

 
D. Each Plan determines its order of benefits using the first of the following rules that apply: 

 
(1) Non-Dependent or Dependent. The Plan that covers the person other than as a Dependent, for example 

as an employee, member, policyholder, Subscriber or retiree is the Primary plan and the Plan that 
covers the person as a Dependent is the Secondary plan. However, if the person is a Medicare 
beneficiary and, as a result of federal law, Medicare is secondary to the Plan covering the person as a 
Dependent, and primary to the Plan covering the person as other than a Dependent (e.g., a retired 
employee), then the order of benefits between the two Plans is reversed so that the Plan covering the 
person as an employee, member, policyholder, Subscriber or retiree is the Secondary plan and the other 
Plan is the Primary plan. 
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(2) Dependent Child Covered Under More Than One Plan. Unless there is a court decree stating 

otherwise, when a Dependent child is covered by more than one Plan the order of benefits is determined 
as follows: 

 
(a) For a Dependent child whose parents are married or are living together, whether or not they have ever 
been married: 

 
• The Plan of the parent whose birthday falls earlier in the calendar year is the Primary plan; or 

 
• If both parents have the same birthday, the Plan that has covered the parent the longest is the Primary 
plan. 

 
(b) For a Dependent child whose parents are divorced or separated or not living together, whether or not 
they have ever been married: 

 
(i) If a court decree states that one of the parents is responsible for the Dependent child's vision care 
expenses or health care coverage and the Plan of that parent has actual knowledge of those terms, that 
Plan is primary. This rule applies to claim determination periods commencing after the Plan is given 
notice of the court decree; 

 
(ii) If a court decree states one parent is to assume primary financial responsibility for the Dependent child 
but does not mention responsibility for health care expenses, the plan of the parent assuming financial 
responsibility is primary; 

 
(iii) If a court decree states that both parents are responsible for the Dependent child's health care 
expenses or health care coverage, the provisions of subparagraph (a) above determine the order of 
benefits; 

 
(iv) If a court decree states that the parents have joint custody without specifying that one parent has 
responsibility for the health care expenses or health care coverage of the Dependent child, the provisions 
of subsection (a) above determine the order of benefits; or 

 
(v) If there is no court decree allocating responsibility for the Dependent child's health care expenses or 
health care coverage, the order of benefits for the child are as follows: 

 
• The Plan covering the Custodial parent, first; 

 
• The Plan covering the spouse of the Custodial parent, second; 

 
• The Plan covering the non-custodial parent, third; and then 

 
• The Plan covering the spouse of the non-custodial parent, last 

 
(c) For a Dependent child covered under more than one Plan of individuals who are not the parents of the 
child, the provisions of subsection (a) or (b) above determine the order of benefits as if those individuals 
were the parents of the child. 

 
(3) Active Employee or Retired or Laid-off Employee. The Plan that covers a person as an active employee, 

that is, an employee who is neither laid off nor retired, is the Primary plan. The Plan covering that same 
person as a retired or laid-off employee is the Secondary plan. The same would hold true if a person is a 
Dependent of an active employee and that same person is a Dependent of a retired or laid-off employee. 
If the other Plan does not have this rule, and as a result, the Plans do not agree on the order of benefits, 
this rule is ignored. This rule does not apply if the rule under section D(1) can determine the order of 
benefits. 
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(4) COBRA or State Continuation Coverage. If a person whose coverage is provided under COBRA or under 

a right of continuation provided by state or other federal law is covered under another Plan, the Plan 
covering the person as an employee, member, Subscriber or retiree or covering the person as a 
Dependent of an employee, member, Subscriber or retiree is the Primary plan and the COBRA or state 
or other federal continuation coverage is the Secondary plan. If the other Plan does not have this rule, 
and as a result, the Plans do not agree on the order of benefits, this rule is ignored. This rule does not 
apply if the rule under section D(1) can determine the order of benefits. 

(5) Longer or Shorter Length of Coverage. The Plan that covered the person as an employee, member, 
policyholder, Subscriber or retiree longer is the Primary plan and the Plan that covered the person the 
shorter period of time is the Secondary plan. 

 
(6) If the preceding rules do not determine the order of benefits, the Allowable expenses must be shared 

equally between the Plans meeting the definition of Plan. In addition, This plan will not pay more than it 
would have paid had it been the Primary plan. 

 
EFFECT ON THE BENEFITS OF THIS PLAN 

 
When This plan is secondary, it may reduce its benefits so that the total benefits paid or provided by all 
Plans during a claim determination period are not more than the total Allowable expenses. In determining 
the amount to be paid for any claim, the Secondary plan must make payment in an amount so that, when 
combined with the amount paid by the Primary plan, the total benefits paid or provided by all plans for the 
claim equal one hundred percent of the total Allowable expense for that claim Total Allowable expense is 
the highest Allowable expense of the Primary plan or the Secondary plan. In addition, the Secondary 
plan must credit to its plan deductible any amounts it would have credited to its deductible in the absence of 
other health care coverage. 

 
RIGHT TO RECEIVE AND RELEASE NEEDED INFORMATION 

 
Certain facts about health care coverage and services are needed to apply these COB rules and to determine 
benefits payable under This plan and other Plans. We may get the facts from or give them to other 
organizations or persons for the purpose of applying these rules and determining benefits payable under This 
plan and other Plans covering the person claiming benefits. We need not tell, or get the consent of, any 
person to do this. Each person claiming benefits under This plan must give Us any facts needed to apply 
those rules and determine benefits payable. 

 
FACILITY OF PAYMENT 

 
If payments that should have been made under This plan are made by another Plan, the issuer has the right, 
at its discretion, to remit to the other Plan the amount it determines appropriate to satisfy the intent of this 
provision. The amounts paid to the other Plan are considered benefits paid under This plan. To the extent of 
such payments, the issuer is fully discharged from liability under This plan. 

 
RIGHT OF RECOVERY 

 
We have the right to recover excess payment whenever We have paid Allowable expenses in excess of the 
maximum amount of payment necessary to satisfy the intent of this provision. We may recover excess 
payment from any person to whom or for whom payment was made or any other issuers or plans. 

 
If the Member has Questions about Coordination of Benefits, please contact MetLife at 1-866-548-7139. 

 
If the Member is covered by more than one vision benefit plan, and the Member does not know which is the 
Member’s primary plan, the Member’s vision provider should contact any one of the vision plans to verify 
which plan is primary. The health plan the Member contact is responsible for working with the other plan to 
determine which is primary and will let the Member know within thirty calendar days. 
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CAUTION: All vision plans have timely claim filing requirements. If the Member’s provider fails to submit the 
Member’s claim to a secondary vision plan within that plan's claim filing time limit, the plan can deny the 
claim. If the Member’s experience delays in the processing of the Member’s claim by the primary health plan, 
the Member’s provider will need to submit the Member’s claim to the secondary health plan within its claim 
filing time limit to prevent a denial of the claim. 

 
To avoid delays in claims processing, if the Member is covered by more than one plan the Member should 
promptly report to the Member’s vision providers and plans any changes in the Member’s coverage." 
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VISION INSURANCE: FILING A CLAIM 
 

CLAIMS FOR VISION INSURANCE 

If you select an In Network Vision Provider, the Member does not need to file a claim. 
 

If you select an Out-of-Network Vision Provider, the Member may provide full payment to the Out-of-Network 
Vision Provider at the time of service and submit the invoice including an itemized statement of charges with 
the Member’s claim form, or the Member may be able to assign the claim to the Out-of-Network Vision 
Provider. If the Out-of-Network Vision Provider accepts the assignment, the provider will submit the claim on 
your behalf. The Member will be responsible for any charges not covered by the Plan. 

 
Out of network claim forms needed to file for benefits under the group insurance program can be obtained by 
calling MetLife at 1-866-548-7139. Vision claim forms can also be downloaded from 
www.metlife.com/mybenefits. The instructions on the claim form should be followed carefully. This will 
expedite the processing of the claim. 

 
When We receive the claim form and Proof, the Member claim will be paid subject to the terms and provisions 
of this certificate and the Group Policy. 

CLAIMS FOR VISION INSURANCE BENEFITS 
 

When a claimant files a claim for Vision Insurance benefits described in this certificate, both the notice 
of claim and the required Proof should be sent to Us within 180 days from the date of service. If it was not 
reasonably possible to give Written Proof within 180 days from the date of service, We will not reduce or deny 
the claim for this reason if the Proof is filed as soon as reasonably possible. 

 
Claim and Proof may be given to Us by following the steps set forth below: 

 
Step 1 
A claimant can request a claim form by downloading it from www.metlife.com/mybenefits. 

Step 2 
Complete the claim form as instructed and return it with the invoice. 

 
Step 3 
The claimant must give Us Proof not later than one(1) year from the date of service unless the 
claimant is legally incapacitated. In any event, the Proof required must be given no later than one 
(1) year from the time specified. 

 
We will pay the claim as soon as We receive proper Written Proof of loss. 

 
Routine Questions on Vision Insurance Claims 

If there is any question about a claim payment, an explanation may be requested from MetLife by dialing 
1-866-548-7139. 

 
Claim Denial Appeals 
If a claim is denied in whole or in part, under the terms of this certificate, a request may be submitted to Us by a 
Covered Person or a Covered Person’s authorized representative for a full review of the denial. A Covered 
Person may designate any person, including their provider, as their authorized representative. References in this 
section to “Covered Person” include the Covered Person’s authorized representative, where applicable. 

Initial Appeal. All requests for review must be made within one hundred eighty (180) calendar days following 
denial of a claim. A Covered Person may review, during normal business hours, any documents used by Us 
pertinent to the denial. A Covered Person may also submit Written comments or supporting documentation 
concerning the claim to assist in Our review. Our response to the initial appeal, including specific reasons for 
the decision, shall be communicated to the Covered Person within thirty (30) calendar days after receipt of the 
request for the appeal. 

http://www.metlife.com/mybenefits
http://www.metlife.com/mybenefits
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VISION INSURANCE: FILING A CLAIM (continued) 
 

Second Level Appeal. If a Covered Person disagrees with the response to the initial appeal of the denied 
claim, the Covered Person has the right to a second level appeal. A request for a second level appeal must 
be submitted to Us within sixty (60) calendar days after receipt of Our response to the initial appeal. We shall 
communicate Our final determination to the Covered Person within thirty (30) calendar days from receipt of 
the request, or as required by any applicable state or federal laws or regulations. Our communication to the 
Covered Person shall include the specific reasons for the determination. 

Other Remedies. When a Covered Person has completed the appeals stated herein, additional voluntary 
alternative dispute resolution options may be available, including mediation or arbitration. Additional 
information is available from the U.S. Department of Labor or the insurance regulatory agency for the 
Covered Persons’ state of residency. Additionally, under the provisions of ERISA (Section 502(a)(1)(B) 29 
U.S.C. 1132(a)(1)(B)), the Covered Person has the right to bring a civil action when all available levels of 
reviews, including the appeal process, have been completed. ERISA remedies may apply in those instances 
where the claims were not approved in whole or in part as the result of appeals under this Policy and the 
Covered Person disagrees with the outcome of such appeals. 

Time of Action. No action in law or in equity shall be brought to recover on this Policy prior to the Covered 
Person exhausting his/her rights under this Policy and/or prior to the expiration of sixty (60) calendar days 
after the claim and any applicable documentation has been filed with Us. No such action shall be brought 
after the expiration of any applicable statute of limitations, from the time Written Proof of Loss is required to 
be given. 

 
Insurance Fraud: Any Covered Person who intends to defraud, knowingly facilitates a fraud, submits a claim 
containing false or deceptive information, or who commits any other similar act as defined by applicable state 
or federal law, is guilty of insurance fraud. Such an act is grounds for immediate termination of the coverage 
under this Policy of the Covered Person committing such fraud. 
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GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 
Assignment 

The rights and benefits under the Group Policy are not assignable prior to a claim for benefits, except as 
required by law. We are not responsible for the validity of an assignment. 

 
Upon receipt of a Covered Service, the Member may assign Vision Insurance benefits to the Vision Provider 
providing such service. 

Vision Insurance: Who We Will Pay 
 

If the Member assigns payment of Vision Insurance benefits to the Member's Vision Provider, We will pay 
benefits directly to the Vision Provider. Otherwise, We will pay Vision Insurance benefits to the Member. 

Entire Contract 
 

The Member’s insurance is provided under a contract of group insurance with the Policyholder. The entire 
contract with the Policyholder is made up of the following: 

 
1. the Group Policy and its Exhibits, which include the certificate(s); 

2. the Policyholder's application; and 

3. any amendments and/or endorsements to the Group Policy. 
 

If there is a conflict in language between the Group Policy and the certificate, the certificate governs. 
 

Incontestability: Statements Made by the Member 

Any statement made by the Member will be considered a representation and not a warranty. 
 

Evidence of insurability will not be required nor will any statement made by the Member, which relates to 
insurability, be used: 

 
1. to contest the validity of the insurance benefits; or 

2. to reduce the insurance benefits. 
 

Conformity with Law 

If the terms and provisions of this certificate do not conform to any applicable law, this certificate shall be 
interpreted to so conform.1 



 

 

 
 

 
THIS IS THE END OF THE CERTIFICATE. 

THE FOLLOWING IS ADDITIONAL INFORMATION. 
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Delaware American Life Insurance Company 
MetLife Health Plans, Inc. 
MetLife Legal Plans, Inc. 
MetLife Legal Plans of Florida, Inc. 

Metropolitan General Insurance Company 

Our Privacy Notice 

Metropolitan Life Insurance Company 
Metropolitan Tower Life Insurance Company 
SafeGuard Health Plans, Inc. 
SafeHealth Life Insurance Company 

 

We know that you buy our products and services because you trust us. This notice explains how we 
protect your privacy and treat your personal information. It applies to current and former customers. 
“Personal information” as used here means anything we know about you personally. 

SECTION 1: Plan Sponsors and Group Insurance Contract Holders 

This privacy notice is for individuals who apply for or obtain our products and services under an employee 
benefit plan, group insurance or annuity contract, as an executive benefit, or as otherwise made available 
at your work or through an association to which you belong. In this notice "you" refers to these individuals. 

 

SECTION 2: Protecting Your Information 

We take important steps to protect your personal information. We treat it as confidential. We tell our 
employees to take care in handling it. We limit access to those who need it to perform their jobs. Our 
outside service providers must also protect it, and use it only to meet our business needs. We also take 
steps to protect our systems from unauthorized access. We comply with all laws that apply to us. 

 

SECTION 3: Collecting Your Information 

We typically collect your name, address, age, and other relevant information. We may also collect 
information about any business you have with us, our affiliates, or other companies. Our affiliates include 
life insurers, a legal plans company and a securities broker-dealer. In the future, we may also have 
affiliates in other businesses. 

 

SECTION 4: How We Get Your Information 

We get your personal information mostly from you. We may also use outside sources to help ensure our 
records are correct and complete. These sources may include consumer reporting agencies, employers, 
other financial institutions, adult relatives, and others. These sources may give us reports or share what 
they know with others. We don’t control the accuracy of information outside sources give us. If you want 
to make any changes to information we receive from others about you, you must contact those sources. 

We may ask for medical information. The Authorization that you sign when you request insurance permits 
these sources to tell us about you. We may also, at our expense: 

• Ask for a medical exam • Ask for blood and urine tests 

• Ask health care providers to give us health data, including information about alcohol or drug abuse 

We may also ask a consumer reporting agency for a “consumer report” about you (or anyone else to be 
insured). Consumer reports may tell us about a lot of things, including information about: 

• Reputation • Driving record • Finances 

• Work and work history • Hobbies and dangerous activities 

The information may be kept by the consumer reporting agency and later given to others as permitted by 
law. The agency will give you a copy of the report it provides to us, if you ask the agency and can provide 
adequate identification. If you write to us and we have asked for a consumer report about you, we will tell 
you so and give you the name, address and phone number of the consumer reporting agency. 
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Another source of information is MIB, LLC (“MIB”). It is a not-for-profit membership organization of 
insurance companies which operates an information exchange on behalf of its Members. We, or our 
reinsurers, may make a brief report to MIB. If you apply to another MIB Member company for life or health 
insurance coverage, or a claim for benefits is submitted, MIB, upon request, will supply such company 
with the information in its file. Upon receipt of a request from you MIB will arrange disclosure of any 
information it may have in your file. Please contact MIB at 866-692-6901. If you question the accuracy of 
information in MIB’s file, you may contact MIB and seek a correction in accordance with the procedures 
set forth in the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act. You may do so by writing to MIB, LLC, 50 Braintree Hill, 
Suite 400, Braintree, MA 02184-8734 or go to MIB website at www.mib.com. 

 

SECTION 5: Using Your Information 

We collect your personal information to help us decide if you’re eligible for our products or services. We 
may also need it to verify identities to help deter fraud, money laundering, or other crimes. How we use 
this information depends on what products and services you have or want from us. It also depends on 
what laws apply to those products and services. For example, we may also use your information to: 

• administer your products and services • process claims and other transactions 

• perform business research • confirm or correct your information 

• market new products to you • help us run our business 

• comply with applicable laws 
 

SECTION 6: Sharing Your Information With Others 

We may share your personal information with others with your consent, by agreement, or as permitted or 
required by law. We may share your personal information without your consent if permitted or required by 
law. For example, we may share your information with businesses hired to carry out services for us. We 
may also share it with our affiliated or unaffiliated business partners through joint marketing agreements. 
In those situations, we share your information to jointly offer you products and services or have others 
offer you products and services we endorse or sponsor. Before sharing your information with any affiliate 
or joint marketing partner for their own marketing purposes, however, we will first notify you and give you 
an opportunity to opt out. 

Other reasons we may share your information include: 

• doing what a court, law enforcement, or government agency requires us to do (for example, 
complying with search warrants or subpoenas) 

• telling another company what we know about you if we are selling or merging any part of our 
business 

• giving information to a governmental agency so it can decide if you are eligible for public benefits 

• giving your information to someone with a legal interest in your assets (for example, a creditor 
with a lien on your account) 

• giving your information to your health care provider 

• having a peer review organization evaluate your information, if you have health coverage with us 

• those listed in our “Using Your Information” section above 
 

SECTION 7: HIPAA 

We will not share your health information with any other company – even one of our affiliates – for their 
own marketing purposes. The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (“HIPAA”) protects your 
information if you request or purchase dental, vision, long-term care and/or medical insurance from us. 
HIPAA limits our ability to use and disclose the information that we obtain as a result of your request or 
purchase of insurance. Information about your rights under HIPAA will be provided to you with any dental, 
vision, long-term care or medical coverage issued to you. 

You may obtain a copy of our HIPAA Privacy Notice by visiting our website at www.MetLife.com. For 
additional information about your rights under HIPAA; or to have a HIPAA Privacy Notice mailed to you, 
contact us at HIPAAprivacyAmericasUS@metlife.com, or call us at telephone number (212) 578-0299. 

http://www.mib.com/
http://www.metlife.com/
mailto:HIPAAprivacyAmericasUS@metlife.com
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SECTION 8: Accessing and Correcting Your Information 

You may ask us for a copy of the personal information we have about you. We will provide it as long as it 
is reasonably locatable and retrievable. You must make your request in writing listing the account or 
policy numbers with the information you want to access. For legal reasons, we may not show you 
privileged information relating to a claim or lawsuit, unless required by law. 

If you tell us that what we know about you is incorrect, we will review it. If we agree, we will update our 
records. Otherwise, you may dispute our findings in writing, and we will include your statement whenever 
we give your disputed information to anyone outside MetLife. 

 

SECTION 9: Questions 

We want you to understand how we protect your privacy. If you have any questions or want more 
information about this notice, please contact us. A detailed notice shall be furnished to you upon request. 
When you write, include your name, address, and policy or account number. 

Send privacy questions to: MetLife Privacy Office 
P. O. Box 489 
Warwick, RI 02887-9954 
privacy@metlife.com 

We may revise this privacy notice. If we make any material changes, we will notify you as required by law. 
We provide this privacy notice to you on behalf of the MetLife companies listed at the top of the first page. 

mailto:privacy@metlife.com


 

 

 

HIPAA Notice of Privacy Practices for 
Protected Health Information 

THIS NOTICE DESCRIBES HOW MEDICAL INFORMATION ABOUT YOU MAY BE 
USED 

AND DISCLOSED, AND HOW YOU CAN GET ACCESS TO THIS INFORMATION. 

PLEASE REVIEW IT CAREFULLY. 

Dear MetLife Customer: 
 

This is your Health Information Privacy Notice from 
Metropolitan Life Insurance Company or a member of 
the MetLife, Inc. family of companies, which includes 
SafeGuard Health Plans, Inc., SafeHealth Life 
Insurance Company, and Delaware American Life 
Insurance Company (collectively, “MetLife”). Please 
read it carefully. You have received this notice 
because of your Dental, Vision, Long-Term Care, 
Cancer and Specified Disease Expense Insurance, or 
Health coverage with us (your “Coverage”). MetLife 
strongly believes in protecting the confidentiality and 
security of information we collect about you. This 
notice refers to MetLife by using the terms “us,” “we,” 
or “our.” 

This notice describes how we protect the personal 
health information we have about you which relates to 
your MetLife Coverage (“Protected Health 
Information” or “PHI”), and how we may use and 
disclose this information. PHI includes individually 
identifiable information which relates to your past, 
present or future health, treatment or payment for 
health care services. This notice also describes your 
rights with respect to the PHI and how you can 
exercise those rights. 

We are required to provide this notice to you by the 
Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act 
(“HIPAA”). For additional information regarding our 
HIPAA Medical Information Privacy Policy or our 
general privacy policies, please see the privacy 
notices contained at our website,www.metlife.com. 
You may submit questions to us there or you may 
write to us directly at MetLife, Americas – U.S. HIPAA 
Privacy Office, P.O. Box 902, New York, NY 10159- 
0902. 

NOTICE SUMMARY 

The following is a brief summary of the topics 
covered in this HIPAA notice. Please refer to the 
full notice below for details. 

As allowed by law, we may use and disclose PHI 
to: 

• make, receive, or collect payments; 

• conduct health care operations; 

• administer benefits by sharing PHI with affiliates and 
Business Associates; 

• assist plan sponsors in administering their plans; 
and 

• inform persons who may be involved in or 
paying for another’s health care. 

In addition, we may use or disclose PHI: 

• where required by law or for public health 
activities; 

• to avert a serious threat to health or safety; 

• for health-related benefits or services; 

• for law enforcement or specific government 
functions; 

• when requested as part of a regulatory or legal 
proceeding; and 

• to provide information about deceased persons 
to coroners, medical examiners, or funeral 
directors. 

You have the right to: 

• receive a copy of this notice; 

• inspect and copy your PHI, or receive a copy of 
your PHI; 

• amend your PHI if you believe the information is 
incorrect; 

• obtain a list of disclosures we made about you 
(except for treatment, payment, or health care 
operations); 
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• ask us to restrict the information we share for 
treatment, payment, or health care operations; 

• request that we communicate with you in a 
confidential manner; and 

• complain to us or the U.S. Department of Health 
and Human Services if you believe your privacy 
rights have been violated. 

We are required by law to: 

• maintain the privacy of PHI; 

• provide this notice of our legal duties and 
privacy practices with respect to PHI; 

• notify affected individuals following a breach of 
unsecured PHI; and 

• follow the terms of this notice. 

NOTICE DETAILS 

We protect your PHI from inappropriate use or 
disclosure. Our employees, and those of companies 
that help us service your MetLife Coverage, are 
required to comply with our requirements that protect 
the confidentiality of PHI. They may look at your PHI 
only when there is an appropriate reason to do so, 
such as to administer our products or services. 

 
Except in the case of Long-Term Care Coverage, we 
will not use or disclose PHI that is genetic 
information for underwriting purposes. For example, 
we will not use information from a genetic test (such 
as DNA or RNA analysis) of an individual or an 
individual’s family members to determine eligibility, 
premiums or contribution amounts under your 
Coverage. 

We will not sell or disclose your PHI to any other 
company for their use in marketing their products to 
you. However, as described below, we will use and 
disclose PHI about you for business purposes relating 
to your Coverage. 

 
The main reasons we may use and disclose your 
PHI are to evaluate and process any requests for 
coverage and claims for benefits you may make or in 
connection with other health-related benefits or 
services that may be of interest to you. The following 
describe these and other uses and disclosures. 

• For Health Care Operations: We may also use and 
disclose PHI for our insurance operations. These 
purposes include evaluating a request for our products 
or services, administering those products or services, 
and processing transactions requested by you. 

 

• To Affiliates and Business Associates: We may 
disclose PHI to Affiliates and to business associates 
outside of the MetLife family of companies if they need 
to receive PHI to provide a service to us and will agree 
to abide by specific HIPAA rules relating to the 
protection of PHI. Examples of business associates are: 
billing companies, data processing companies, 
companies that provide general administrative services, 
health Information organizations e-prescribing gateways, 
or personal health record vendors that provide services 
to covered entities. PHI may be disclosed to reinsurers 
for underwriting, audit or claim review reasons. PHI may 
also be disclosed as part of a potential merger or 
acquisition involving our business in order that the 
parties to the transaction may make an informed 
business decision. 

• To Plan Sponsors: We may disclose summary 
health information such as claims history or claims 
expenses to a plan sponsor to enable it to obtain 
premium bids from health plans, or to modify, amend or 
terminate a group health plan. We may also disclose 
PHI to a plan sponsor to help administer its plan if the 
plan sponsor agrees to restrict its use and disclosure of 
PHI in accordance with federal law. 

• To Individuals Involved in Your Care: We may 
disclose your PHI to a family member or other individual 
who is involved in your health care or payment of your 
health care. For example, we may disclose PHI to a 
covered family member whom you have authorized to 
contact us regarding payment of a claim. 

 

• Where Required by Law or for Public Health 
Activities: We disclose PHI when required by federal, 
state or local law. Examples of such mandatory 
disclosures include notifying state or local health 
authorities regarding particular communicable diseases, 
or providing PHI to a governmental agency or regulator 
with health care oversight responsibilities. 

• To Avert a Serious Threat to Health or Safety: We 
may disclose PHI to avert a serious threat to someone’s 
health or safety. We may also disclose PHI to federal, 
state or local agencies engaged in disaster relief, as well 
as to private disaster relief or disaster assistance 
agencies to allow such entities to carry out their 
responsibilities in specific disaster situations. 



 

 

For Payment: We may use and disclose PHI to pay 
benefits under your Coverage. For example, we may 
review PHI contained in claims to reimburse providers 
for services rendered. We may also disclose PHI to 
other insurance carriers to coordinate benefits with 
respect to a particular claim. Additionally, we may 
disclose PHI to a health plan or an administrator of an 
employee welfare benefit plan for various payment- 
related functions, such as eligibility determination, 
audit and review, or to assist you with your inquiries or 
disputes. 
interest to you. However, we will not send marketing 
communications to you in exchange for financial 
remuneration from a third party without your 
authorization. 

• For Law Enforcement or Specific Government 
Functions: We may disclose PHI in response to a 
request by a law enforcement official made through a 
court order, subpoena, warrant, summons or similar 
process. We may disclose PHI about you to federal 
officials for intelligence, counterintelligence, and other 
national security activities authorized by law. 

• When Requested as Part of a Regulatory or 
Legal Proceeding: If you or your estate are involved 
in a lawsuit or a dispute, we may disclose PHI about 
you in response to a court or administrative order. We 
may also disclose PHI about you in response to a 
subpoena, discovery request, or other lawful process, 
but only if efforts have been made to tell you about the 
request or to obtain an order protecting the PHI 
requested. We may disclose PHI to any governmental 
agency or regulator with whom you have filed a 
complaint or as part of a regulatory agency 
examination. 

• PHI about Deceased Individuals : We may 
release PHI to a coroner or medical examiner to assist 
in identifying a deceased individual or to determine 
the cause of death. In addition, we may disclose a 
deceased’s person’s PHI to a family member or 
individual involved in the care or payment for care of 
the deceased person unless doing so is inconsistent 
with any prior expressed preference of the deceased 
person which is known to us. 

• Other Uses of PHI: Other uses and disclosures 
of PHI not covered by this notice and permitted by the 
laws that apply to us will be made only with your 
written authorization or that of your legal 
representative. If we are authorized to use or disclose 
PHI about you, you or your legally authorized 
representative may revoke that authorization in writing 
at any time, except to the extent that we have taken 
action relying on the authorization or if the 
authorization was obtained as a condition of obtaining 
your Coverage. You should understand that we will 
not be able to take back any disclosures we have 
already made with authorization. 

• For Health-Related Benefits or Services: We may 
use your PHI to provide you with information about 
benefits available to you under your current 
coverage or policy and, in limited situations, about 
health-related products or services that may be of of 
the PHI that we maintain about you. If we maintain 
the requested PHI electronically, you may ask us to 
provide you with the PHI in electronic format, if 
readily producible; or, if not, in a readable electronic 
form and format agreed to by you and us. To 
receive a copy of your PHI, you may be charged a 
fee for the costs of copying, mailing, electronic 
media, or other supplies associated with your 
request. You may also direct us to send the PHI you 
have requested to another person designated by 
you, so long as your request is in writing and clearly 
identifies the designated individual. However, 
certain types of PHI will not be made available for 
inspection and copying. This includes 
psychotherapy notes or PHI collected by us in 
connection with, or in reasonable anticipation of, 
any claim or legal proceeding. In very limited 
circumstances, we may deny your request to 
inspect and obtain a copy of your PHI. If we do, you 
may request that the denial be reviewed. The review 
will be conducted by an individual chosen by us who 
was not involved in the original decision to deny 
your request. We will comply with the outcome of 
that review. 

• Right to Amend Your PHI: If you believe that your 
PHI is incorrect or that an important part of it is missing, 
you have the right to ask us to amend your PHI while it 
is kept by or for us. You must specify the reason for your 
request. We may deny your request if it is not in writing 
or does not include a reason that supports the request. 
In addition, we may deny your request if you ask us to 
amend PHI that: 

• is accurate and complete; 

• was not created by us, unless the person or 
entity that created the PHI is no longer available 
to make the amendment; 

• is not part of the PHI kept by or for us; or 

• is not part of the PHI which you would be 
permitted to inspect and copy. 

• Right to a List of Disclosures: You have the right 
to request a list of the disclosures we have made of your 
PHI. This list will not include disclosures made for 
treatment, payment, health care operations, purposes of 
national security, to law enforcement, to corrections 
personnel, pursuant to your authorization, or directly to 
you. To request this list, you must submit your request in 
writing. Your request must state the time period for 
which you want to receive a list of disclosures. You may 
only request an accounting of disclosures for a period of 
time less than six years prior to the date of your request. 
Your request should indicate in what form you want the 



 

 

 
Your Rights Regarding Protected Health 
Information That We Maintain About You 

The following are your various rights as a consumer 
under HIPAA concerning your PHI. Should you have 
questions about or wish to exercise a specific right, 
please contact us in writing at the applicable Contact 
Address listed on the last page. 

Right to Inspect and Copy Your PHI: In most cases, 
you have the right to inspect and obtain a copy Use or 
disclose about you for treatment, payment, or health 
care operations, or that we disclose to someone who 
may be involved in your care or payment for your 
care, like a family member or friend. While we will 
consider your request, we are not required to agree 
to it. If we do agree to it, we will comply with your 
request. To request a restriction, you must make your 
request in writing. In your request, you must tell us (1) 
what information you want to limit; (2) whether you 
want to limit our use, disclosure or both; and (3) to 
whom you want the limits to apply (for example, 
disclosures to your spouse or parent). We will not 
agree to restrictions on PHI uses or disclosures that 
are legally required, or which are necessary to 
administer our business. 

• Right to Request Confidential 
Communications : You have the right to request that 
we communicate with you about PHI in a certain way 
or  at  a certain location if you tell us that 
communication in another manner may endanger you. 
For example, you can ask that we only contact you at 
work or  by mail. To  request  confidential 
communications, you must make your request in 
writing and specify how or where you wish to be 
contacted. We will accommodate all reasonable 
requests. 

• Contact Addresses: If you have any questions 
about a specific individual right or you want to 
exercise one of your individual rights, please submit 
your request in writing to the address below which 
applies to your Coverage: 

 
MetLife or SafeGuard Dental & Vision 
P.O. Box 14587 
Lexington, KY 40512-4587 

 
MetLife LTC Privacy Coordinator 
1300 Hall Boulevard, 3rd Floor 
Bloomfield, CT 06002 

Delaware American Life Insurance 
Company 
MetLife Worldwide Benefits 
P.O. Box 1449 
Wilmington, DE 19899-1449 

list (for example, paper or electronic). The first list you 
request within a 12-month period will be free. We may 
charge you for responding to any additional requests. 
We will notify you of the cost involved, and you may 
choose to withdraw or modify your request at that time 
before you incur any cost. 

• Right to Request Restrictions: You have the Right 
to request a restriction or limitation on PHI we of the 
PHI that we maintain about you. If we maintain the 
requested PHI electronically, you may ask us to 
provide you with the PHI in electronic format, if 
readily producible; or, if not, in a readable electronic 
form and format agreed to by you and us. To 
receive a copy of your PHI, you may be charged a 
fee for the costs of copying, mailing, electronic 
media, or other supplies associated with your 
request. You may also direct us to send the PHI you 
have requested to another person designated by 
you, so long as your request is in writing and clearly 
identifies the designated individual. However, 
certain types of PHI will not be made available for 
inspection and copying. This includes 
psychotherapy notes or PHI collected by us in 
connection with, or in reasonable anticipation of, 
any claim or legal proceeding. In very limited 
circumstances, we may deny your request to 
inspect and obtain a copy of your PHI. If we do, you 
may request that the denial be reviewed. The review 
will be conducted by an individual chosen by us who 
was not involved in the original decision to deny 
your request. We will comply with the outcome of 
that review. 

• Right to File a Complaint: If you believe your 
privacy rights have been violated, you may file a 
complaint with us or with the Secretary of the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services. To file a 
complaint with us, please contact MetLife, Americas – 
U.S. HIPAA Privacy Office, P.O. Box 902, New York, NY 
10159-0902. All complaints must be submitted in writing. 
You will not be penalized for filing a complaint. If you 
have questions as to how to file a complaint, please 
contact us at telephone number (212) 578-0299 or at 
HIPAAprivacyAmericasUS@metlife.com. 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

Changes to This Notice: We reserve the right to 
change the terms of this notice at any time. We reserve 
the right to make the revised or changed notice effective 
for PHI we already have about you, as well as any PHI 
we receive in the future. The effective date of this notice 
and any revised or changed notice may be found on the 
last page, on the bottom right-hand corner of the notice. 
You will receive a copy of any revised notice from 
MetLife by mail or by e-mail, if e-mail delivery is offered 
by MetLife and you agree to such delivery. 
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Cancer and Specified Disease 
Expense Insurance 
c/o Bay Bridge Administrators, LLC 
P.O. Box 161690 
Austin, TX 78716 

Further Information: You may have additional rights 
under other applicable laws. For additional information 
regarding our HIPAA Medical Information Privacy Policy 
or our general privacy policies, please e-mail us at 
HIPAAprivacyAmericasUS@metlife.com or call us at 
telephone number (212) 578-0299, or write us at: 

 
MetLife, Americas 
U.S. HIPAA Privacy Office 
P.O. Box 902 
New York, NY 10159-0902 
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Uniformed Services Employment And Reemployment Rights Act 

This section describes the right that you may have to continue coverage for yourself and your covered 
dependents under the Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act of 1994 
(USERRA). 

 
Continuation of Group Vision Insurance: 

If you take a leave from employment for “service in the uniformed services,” as that term is defined in 
USERRA, and as a consequence your vision insurance coverage under your employer’s group vision 
insurance policy ends, you may elect to continue vision insurance for yourself and your covered 
dependents, for a limited period of time, as described below. 

 
The law requires that your employer notify you of your rights, benefits and obligations under USERRA 
including instructions on how to elect to continue insurance, the amount and procedure for payment of 
premium. If permitted by USERRA, your employer may require that you elect to continue coverage within 
a period of time specified by your employer. 

You may be responsible for payment of the required premium to continue insurance. If your leave from 
employment for service in the uniformed services lasts less than 31 days, your required premium will be 
no more than the amount you were required to pay for vision insurance before the leave began; for a 
leave lasting 31 or more days, you may be required to pay up to 102% of the total vision insurance 
premium, including any amount that your employer was paying before the leave began. 

 
Your and your covered dependents’ insurance that is continued pursuant to USERRA will end on the 
earliest of the following: 

• the end of 24 consecutive months from the date your leave from employment for service in the 
uniformed services begins; or 

• the day after the date on which you fail to apply for, or return to employment, in accordance with 
USERRA. 

 
You and your covered dependent may become entitled to continuation of coverage under the 
Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (“COBRA”) while you have vision insurance coverage 
under your employer’s group vision insurance policy pursuant to USERRA. Contact your employer for 
more information. 



 

 

THE BENEFITS OF THE POLICY PROVIDING YOUR COVERAGE ARE GOVERNED PRIMARILY BY 
THE LAW OF A STATE OTHER THAN FLORIDA. 

For Idaho Residents: TEN DAY RIGHT TO EXAMINE CERTIFICATE: You may return the certificate to 
Us within 10 days from the date You receive it. If You return it within the 10 day period, the certificate will 
be considered never to have been issued. We will refund any premium paid after We receive Your notice 
of cancellation. 

 
THE GROUP INSURANCE POLICY PROVIDING COVERAGE UNDER THIS CERTIFICATE WAS 
ISSUED IN A JURISDICTION OTHER THAN MARYLAND AND MAY NOT PROVIDE ALL THE 
BENEFITS REQUIRED BY MARYLAND LAW. 

 
For New Mexico Residents: This type of plan is NOT considered "minimum essential coverage" 
under the Affordable Care Act and therefore does NOT satisfy the individual mandate that the 
Subscriber have health insurance coverage. If the Subscriber does not have other health 
insurance coverage, the Subscriber may be subject to a federal tax penalty. 

 
For New Mexico Residents: If You are not satisfied with Your certificate for any reason, You may return 
it to Us within 30 days after You receive it, unless a claim has previously been received by Us under Your 
certificate. We will refund any premium that has been paid and the certificate will then be considered to 
have never been issued. You should be aware that, if You elect to return the certificate for a refund of 
premiums, losses which otherwise would have been covered under Your certificate will not be covered. 

For New Hampshire Residents: 30 Day Right to Examine Certificate. 
Please read this Certificate. The Subscriber may return the Certificate to Us within 30 days from the date 
the Subscriber receive it. If you return it within the 30 day period, the Certificate will be considered never 
to have been issued and We will refund any premium paid for insurance under this Certificate. 

 
WE ARE REQUIRED BY STATE LAW TO INCLUDE THE NOTICE(S) WHICH APPEAR ON THIS 
PAGE AND IN THE NOTICE(S) SECTION WHICH FOLLOWS THIS PAGE. PLEASE READ THE(SE) 
NOTICE(S) CAREFULLY. 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF TEXAS 
 

 

 
Have a complaint or need help? 

If you have a problem with a claim or your premium, call your insurance company or HMO 
first. If you can't work out the issue, the Texas Department of Insurance may be able to help. 

 
Even if you file a complaint with the Texas Department of Insurance, you should also file 
a complaint or appeal through your insurance company or HMO. If you don't, you may 
lose your right to appeal. 

 
Metropolitan Life Insurance Company 

 
To get information or file a complaint with your insurance company or HMO: 

Call: Corporate Consumer Relations Department at 1-800-438-6388 

Toll-free: 1-800-438-6388 

Email: Johnstown_Complaint_Referrals@metlife.com 

 
Mail: Metropolitan Life Insurance Company 

700 Quaker Lane 
2nd Floor 
Warwick, RI 02886 

 

 
The Texas Department of Insurance 

 
To get help with an insurance question or file a complaint with the state: 

Call with a question: 1-800-252-3439 

File a complaint: www.tdi.texas.gov 

 
Email: ConsumerProtection@tdi.texas.gov 

 
Mail: Consumer Protection, MC: CO-CP, Texas Department of Insurance, P.O. Box 12030, 

Austin, TX 78711-2030 
 
 

 
¿Tiene una queja o necesita ayuda? 

Si tiene un problema con una reclamación o con su prima de seguro, llame primero a su 
compañía de seguros o HMO. Si no puede resolver el problema, es posible que el 
Departamento de Seguros de Texas (Texas Department of Insurance, por su nombre en 
inglés) pueda ayudar. 

 
Aun si usted presenta una queja ante el Departamento de Seguros de Texas, también 
debe presentar una queja a través del proceso de quejas o de apelaciones de su 
compañía de seguros o HMO. Si no lo hace, podría perder su derecho para apelar. 

mailto:Johnstown_Complaint_Referrals@metlife.com
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/
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NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF TEXAS 
 

 

 
Metropolitan Life Insurance Company 

 
Para obtener información o para presentar una queja ante su compañía de seguros o HMO: 

 
Llame a: Departamento de Relaciones Corporativas del Consumidor al 1-800-438-6388 

 
 
 

Teléfono gratuito: 1-800-438-6388 

Correo electrónico: Johnstown_Complaint_Referrals@metlife.com 

Dirección postal: Metropolitan Life Insurance Company 
700 Quaker Lane 
2nd Floor 
Warwick, RI 02886 

 
El Departamento de Seguros de Texas 

 
Para obtener ayuda con una pregunta relacionada con los seguros o para presentar una 
queja ante el estado: 

 
Llame con sus preguntas al: 1-800-252-3439 

Presente una queja en: www.tdi.texas.gov 

Correo electrónico: ConsumerProtection@tdi.texas.gov 

 
Dirección postal: Consumer Protection, MC: CO-CP, Texas Department of Insurance, P.O. Box 

12030, Austin, TX 78711-2030 

mailto:Johnstown_Complaint_Referrals@metlife.com
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/
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NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF ALASKA, CONNECTICUT, LOUISIANA, 
MINNESOTA, MONTANA, NEW HAMPSHIRE, NEW MEXICO, TEXAS AND UTAH 

 

 

 
The Definition Of Child Is Modified For The Coverages Listed Below: 

For Alaska Residents (Vision Insurance): 

The term also includes newborns. 
 

For Connecticut Residents (Vision Insurance): 
 

The age limit for children will not be less than 26, regardless of the child’s marital status, student status or 
full- time employment status. Your natural child, adopted child or stepchild under age 26 will not need to 
be supported by You to qualify as a Child under this insurance. 

 
A Child’s insurance will not end due to age until the end of the Year in which that Child attains age 26. 

 
For Louisiana Residents (Vision Insurance): 

The term also includes the Subscriber’s grandchildren residing with the Subscriber. The age limit for 

children and grandchildren will not be less than 21, regardless of the child’s or grandchild’s student status 

or full-time employment status. In addition, the age limit for students will not be less than 24. The 

Subscriber’s natural child, adopted child, stepchild or grandchild under age 21 will not need to be 

supported by the Subscriber to qualify as a Child under this insurance. 

For Minnesota Residents (Vision Insurance): 
 

The term also includes: 

• the Subscriber’s grandchildren who are financially dependent upon the Subscriber and reside 
with the Subscriber continuously from birth; 

• children for whom the Subscriber, the Subscriber’s Spouse or State-Registered Domestic Partner 
is the legally appointed guardian; and 

• children for whom the Subscriber have initiated an application for adoption. 

The age limit for children and grandchildren will not be less than 25 regardless of the child’s or 
grandchild’s student status or full-time employment status. The Subscriber’s natural child, adopted child 
stepchild or children for whom the Subscriber or the Subscriber’s Spouse or State-Registered Domestic 
Partner is the legally appointed guardian under age 25 will not need to be supported by the Subscriber to 
qualify as a Child under this insurance. 

 
For Montana Residents (Vision Insurance): 
The term also includes newborn infants of any person insured under this certificate. The age limit for 
children will not be less than 25, regardless of the child’s student status or full-time employment status. 
Your natural child, adopted child or stepchild under age 25 will not need to be supported by You to qualify 
as a child under this insurance. 

 
For New Hampshire Residents (Vision Insurance): 

 
The age limit for children will not be less than 26, regardless of the child’s marital status, student status or 
full-time employment status. The Subscriber’s natural child, adopted child or stepchild under age 26 will 
not need to be supported by the Subscriber to qualify as a Child under this insurance. 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF ALASKA, CONNECTICUT, LOUISIANA, 
MINNESOTA, MONTANA, NEW HAMPSHIRE, NEW MEXICO, TEXAS AND UTAH 

 

 

(continued) 

 
For New Mexico Residents (Vision Insurance): 

The age limit for children will not be less than 25, regardless of the child’s student status or full-time 
employment status. The Subscriber’s natural child, adopted child or stepchild will not be denied vision 
insurance coverage under this certificate because: 

 
• that child was born out of wedlock; 

• that child is not claimed as the Subscriber’s dependent on the Subscriber’s federal income tax 
return; or 

• that child does not reside with the Subscriber. 
 

For Texas Residents (Vision Insurance): 

The term also includes the Subscriber’s grandchildren. The age limit for children and grandchildren will 
not be less than 25, regardless of the child’s or grandchild’s student status, full-time employment status or 
military service status. The Subscriber’s natural child, adopted child or stepchild under age 25 will not 
need to be supported by the Subscriber to qualify as a Child under this insurance. In addition, 
grandchildren must be able to be claimed by the Subscriber as a dependent for Federal Income Tax 
purposes at the time the Subscriber applied for Insurance. 

 
For Utah Residents (Vision Insurance): 

 
The age limit for children will not be less than 26, regardless of the child’s student status or full-time 
employment status. The Subscriber’s natural child, adopted child or stepchild under age 26 will not need 
to be supported by the Subscriber to qualify as a Child under this insurance. The term includes an 
unmarried child who is incapable of self-sustaining employment because of a mental or physical handicap 
as defined by applicable law and who has been continuously covered under a Vision plan since reaching 
age 26, with no break in coverage of more than 63 days, and who otherwise qualifies as a Child except 
for the age limit. Proof of such handicap must be sent to Us within 31 days after: 

 

• the date the Child attains the limiting age in order to continue coverage; or 

• the Subscriber enrolls a Child to be covered under this provision; 

and at reasonable intervals after such date, but no more often than annually after the two-year period 
immediately following the date the Child qualifies for coverage under this provision. 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF ARKANSAS 
 

 

 
If the Subscriber have a question concerning the Subscriber’s coverage or a claim, first contact the 
Policyholder or group account administrator. If, after doing so, the Subscriber still has a concern, the 
Subscriber may call the toll free telephone number shown on the Certificate Face Page. 

 
Policyholders have the right to file a complaint with the Arkansas Insurance Department (AID). The 
Subscriber may call AID to request a complaint form at (800) 852-5494 or (501) 371-2640 or write the 
Department at: 

 
Arkansas Insurance Department 

Consumer Services Division 

1 Commerce Way, Suite 102 

Little Rock, Arkansas 72202 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF CALIFORNIA 
 

 

 
IMPORTANT NOTICE 

 
TO OBTAIN ADDITIONAL INFORMATION, OR TO MAKE A COMPLAINT, CONTACT THE 
POLICYHOLDER OR METLIFE AT: 

 
METROPOLITAN LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY 
ATTN: CONSUMER RELATIONS DEPARTMENT 

500 SCHOOLHOUSE ROAD 
JOHNSTOWN, PA 15904 

 

1-800-438-6388 

IF, AFTER CONTACTING THE POLICYHOLDER AND/OR METLIFE, YOU FEEL THAT A 
SATISFACTORY SOLUTION HAS NOT BEEN REACHED, YOU MAY FILE A COMPLAINT WITH THE 
CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE AT: 

DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 
CONSUMER SERVICES 

300 SOUTH SPRING STREET 
LOS ANGELES, CA 90013 

WEBSITE: http://www.insurance.ca.gov/ 
 

1-800-927-4357 (within California) 

1-213-897-8921 (outside California) 

http://www.insurance.ca.gov/


NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA 
 

 

 
California law provides that for vision insurance, domestic partners of California’s residents must be 
treated the same as spouses. If the certificate does not already have a definition of domestic partner, 
then the following definition applies: 

 
"Domestic Partner means each of two people, one of whom is an employee of the Policyholder, 
a resident of California and who have registered as domestic partners or members of a civil union 
with the California government or another government recognized by California as having similar 
requirements." 

 
If the certificate already has a definition of domestic partner, that definition will apply to California 
residents, as long as it recognizes as a domestic partner any person registered as the employee’s 
domestic partner with the California government or another government recognized by California as 
having similar requirements. 

Wherever the term "Spouse" appears in this certificate it shall, unless otherwise specified, be read to 
include Your Domestic Partner. 

Wherever the term step-child appears, it is replaced by step-child or child of Your Domestic Partner. 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF CONNECTICUT 
 

 

 
If You are a resident of Connecticut, and live in a county where there is no In-Network Vision Provider 
and travel distance to an In-Network Vision Provider, in a neighboring county, is more than 20 miles or 30 
minutes travel time (or if you live in Fairfield County, 10 miles or 20 minutes travel time), We will pay 
benefits for Covered Services provided by an Out-of-Network Vision Provider as if the service was 
provided by an In-Network Vision Provider. Additionally, if You are unable to schedule an appointment 
with an In-Network Vision Provider within 15 business days, We will pay benefits for Covered Services 
provided by an Out-of-Network Vision Provider as if the service was provided by an In-Network Vision 
Provider. In order to ensure that the benefits are paid accordingly, We must be notified prior to receiving 
services from an Out-of-Network Vision Provider. Please call Us at 1-800-942-0854 for assistance. 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF COLORADO 
 

 

 
Domestic Partner 

Colorado law provides that for dental insurance, domestic partners of Colorado’s residents must be 
treated the same as spouses. If the certificate does not already have a definition of domestic partner, then 
the following definition applies: 

 
"Domestic Partner means each of two people, one of whom is an employee of the Policyholder, 
a resident of Colorado and who have registered as domestic partners or members of a civil union 
with the Colorado government or another government recognized by Colorado as having similar 
requirements." 

 
If the certificate already has a definition of domestic partner, that definition will apply to Colorado 
residents, as long as it recognizes as a domestic partner any person registered as the employee’s 
domestic partner with the Colorado government or another government recognized by Colorado as 
having similar requirements. 

Wherever the term "Spouse" appears in this certificate it shall, unless otherwise specified, be read to 
include Your Domestic Partner. 

 
Wherever the term step-child appears, it is replaced by step-child or child of Your Domestic Partner. 

Definition of Child 
 

The term also includes newborns. 

Vision Insurance: Coordination of Benefits 
 

With respect to coordination of benefits, the benefits will never be less than what is shown under the 
following language. 

 
This coordination of benefits (COB) provision applies when a Covered Person has vision coverage under 
more than one plan. “Plan” is defined below. 

The order of benefit determination rules govern the order in which each Plan will pay a claim for benefits. 
The Plan that pays first is called the Primary plan. The Primary plan must pay benefits according to its 
policy terms without regard to the possibility that another Plan may cover some expenses. The Plan that 
pays after the Primary plan is the Secondary plan. The Secondary plan may reduce the benefits it pays 
so that payments from all Plans do not exceed 100% of the total Allowable expense. 

 
DEFINITIONS 

 
A. A Plan is any of the following that provides benefits or services for vision care or treatment. If 

separate contracts are used to provide coordinated coverage for members of a group, the separate 
contracts are considered parts of the same plan and there is no COB among those separate 
contracts. However, if COB rules do not apply to all contracts, or to all benefits in the same contract, 
the contract or benefit to which COB does not apply is treated as a separate plan. 

 
(1) Plan includes: Group insurance contracts, health maintenance organizations (HMO) contracts, 

closed panel plans or other forms of group type coverage (whether insured or uninsured); medical 
care components of long-term care contracts, such as skilled nursing care; vision benefits under 
group or individual automobile contracts; and Medicare or any other federal governmental plan, 
as permitted by law. 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF COLORADO (continued) 
 

 

 
(2) Plan does not include: Hospital indemnity or fixed payment coverage or other fixed indemnity or 

fixed payment coverage; accident only coverage; specified disease or specified accident 
coverage; limited benefit health coverage, as defined by state law; school accident type 
coverage; benefits for non-medical components of long-term care policies; automobile insurance 
policies required by statute to provide medical benefits; Medicare supplement policies; Medicaid 
coverage; or coverage under other federal governmental plans, unless permitted by law. 

 
Each contract for coverage under (1) or (2) is a separate Plan. If a Plan has two parts and COB rules 
apply only to one of the two, each of the parts is treated as a separate Plan. 

 
B. This plan means, in a COB provision, the part of the contract providing the vision care benefits to 

which the COB provision applies and which may be reduced because of the benefits of other plans. 
Any other part of the contract providing vision care benefits is separate from this plan. A contract may 
apply one COB provision to certain benefits, such as vision benefits, coordinating only with similar 
benefits, and may apply another COB provision to coordinate other benefits. 

 
C. The order of benefit determination rules determine whether This plan is a Primary plan or Secondary 

plan when the person has vision care coverage under more than one Plan. 

 
When This Plan is primary, its benefits are determined before those of any other Plan and without 
considering any other Plan’s benefits. When This Plan is secondary, its benefits are determined after 
those of another Plan and may be reduced because of the Primary Plan’s benefits, so that all Plan 
benefits do not exceed 100% of the total Allowable Expense. 

 
D. Allowable expense is a vision care expense, including deductibles, coinsurance and copayments, that 

is covered at least in part by any Plan covering the person. When a Plan provides benefits in the form 
of services, the reasonable cash value of each service will be considered an Allowable expense and 
a benefit paid. An expense that is not covered by any Plan covering the person is not an Allowable 
expense. In addition, any expense that a provider by law or in accordance with a contractual 
agreement is prohibited from charging a Covered Person is not an Allowable Expense. 

 
The following are examples of expenses that are not Allowable expenses: 

 
(1) If a person is covered by two or more Plans that compute their benefit payments on the basis of 
usual and customary fees or relative value schedule reimbursement method or other similar 
reimbursement method, any amount in excess of the highest reimbursement amount for a specific 
benefit is not an Allowable expense. 

 
(2) If a person is covered by two or more Plans that provide benefits or services on the basis of 
negotiated fees, an amount in excess of the highest of the negotiated fees is not an Allowable 
expense. 

 
(3) The amount of any benefit reduction by the Primary plan because a covered person has failed to 
comply with the Plan provisions is not an Allowable expense. Examples of these types of plan 
provisions include second surgical opinions, precertification of admissions, and preferred provider 
arrangements. 

 
E. Closed panel plan is a Plan that provides vision benefits to covered persons in the form of services 

through a panel of providers who are primarily employed by the Plan, and that excludes coverage for 
services provided by other providers, except in cases of emergency or referral by a panel member. 

 
F. Custodial parent is the parent awarded custody by a court decree or, in the absence of a court 

decree, is the parent with whom the child resides more than one half of the calendar year excluding 
any temporary visitation. 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF COLORADO (continued) 
 

 

 
ORDER OF BENEFIT DETERMINATION RULES 

 
When a person is covered by two or more Plans, the rules for determining the order of benefit payments 
are as follows: 

 
A. The Primary plan pays or provides its benefits according to its terms of coverage and without regard 

to the benefits under any other Plan. 

 
B. (1) Except as provided in subsection (2), a Plan that does not contain a coordination of benefits 

provision that is consistent with this chapter is always primary unless the provisions of both Plans 
state that the complying plan is primary. 

 
(2) Coverage that is obtained by virtue of membership in a group that is designed to supplement a 
part of a basic package of benefits and provides that this supplementary coverage is excess to any 
other parts of the Plan provided by the contract holder. Examples include major medical coverages 
that are superimposed over hospital and surgical benefits, and insurance type coverages that are 
written in connection with a Closed panel plan to provide out-of-network benefits. 

 
C. A Plan may consider the benefits paid or provided by another Plan in calculating payment of its 

benefits only when it is secondary to that other Plan. 

 
D. Each Plan determines its order of benefits using the first of the following rules that apply: 

 
(1) Non-Dependent or Dependent. The Plan that covers the person other than as a dependent, for 
example as an employee, member, policyholder, subscriber or retiree is the Primary plan and the 
Plan that covers the person as a dependent is the Secondary plan. However, if the person is a 
Medicare beneficiary and, as a result of federal law, Medicare is secondary to the Plan covering the 
person as a dependent, and primary to the Plan covering the person as other than a dependent (e.g., 
a retired employee), then the order of benefits between the two Plans is reversed so that the Plan 
covering the person as an employee, member, policyholder, subscriber or retiree is the Secondary 
plan and the other Plan is the Primary plan. 

 
(2) Dependent Child Covered Under More Than One Plan. Unless there is a court decree stating 
otherwise, when a dependent child is covered by more than one Plan the order of benefits is 
determined as follows: 

 
(a) For a dependent child whose parents are married or are living together, whether or not they 

have ever been married: 

 
• The Plan of the parent whose birthday falls earlier in the calendar year is the Primary 
plan; or 

 
• If both parents have the same birthday, the Plan that has covered the parent the longest 
is the Primary plan. 

 
(b) For a dependent child whose parents are divorced or separated or not living together, 

whether or not they have ever been married: 

 
(i) If a court decree states that one of the parents is responsible for the dependent child's 

vision care expenses or health care coverage and the Plan of that parent has actual 
knowledge of those terms, that Plan is primary. This rule applies to claim determination 
periods commencing after the Plan is given notice of the court decree; 

 
(ii) If a court decree states one parent is to assume primary financial responsibility for the 

dependent child but does not mention responsibility for health care expenses, the plan of 
the parent assuming financial responsibility is primary; 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF COLORADO (continued) 
 

 

 
(iii) If a court decree states that both parents are responsible for the dependent child's health 

care expenses or health care coverage, the provisions of subparagraph (a) above 
determine the order of benefits; 

 
(iv) If a court decree states that the parents have joint custody without specifying that one 
parent has responsibility for the health care expenses or health care coverage of the 
dependent child, the provisions of subsection (a) above determine the order of benefits; or 

 
(iv) If there is no court decree allocating responsibility for the dependent child's health care 

expenses or health care coverage, the order of benefits for the child are as follows: 

 
• The Plan covering the Custodial parent, first; 

 
• The Plan covering the spouse of the Custodial parent, second; 

 
• The Plan covering the non-custodial parent, third; and then; 

 
• The Plan covering the spouse of the non-custodial parent, last 

 
(c) For a dependent child covered under more than one Plan of individuals who are not the 

parents of the child, the provisions of subsection (a) or (b) above determine the order of 
benefits as if those individuals were the parents of the child. 

 
(3) Active Employee or Retired or Laid-off Employee. The Plan that covers a person as an active 

employee, that is, an employee who is neither laid off nor retired, is the Primary plan. The Plan 
covering that same person as a retired or laid-off employee is the Secondary plan. The same 
would hold true if a person is a dependent of an active employee and that same person is a 
dependent of a retired or laid-off employee. If the other Plan does not have this rule, and as a 
result, the Plans do not agree on the order of benefits, this rule is ignored. This rule does not 
apply if the rule under section D(1) can determine the order of benefits. 

 
(4) COBRA or State Continuation Coverage. If a person whose coverage is provided under COBRA 

or under a right of continuation provided by state or other federal law is covered under another 
Plan, the Plan covering the person as an employee, member, subscriber or retiree or covering the 
person as a dependent of an employee, member, subscriber or retiree is the Primary plan and the 
COBRA or state or other federal continuation coverage is the Secondary plan. If the other Plan 
does not have this rule, and as a result, the Plans do not agree on the order of benefits, this rule 
is ignored. This rule does not apply if the rule under section D(1) can determine the order of 
benefits. 

 
(5) Longer or Shorter Length of Coverage. The Plan that covered the person as an employee, 

member, policyholder, subscriber or retiree longer is the Primary plan and the Plan that covered 
the person the shorter period of time is the Secondary plan. 

(6) If the preceding rules do not determine the order of benefits, the Allowable expenses must be 
shared equally between the Plans meeting the definition of Plan. In addition, This plan will not pay 
more than it would have paid had it been the Primary plan. 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF COLORADO (continued) 
 

 

 
EFFECT ON THE BENEFITS OF THIS PLAN 

 
A. When This plan is secondary, it may reduce its benefits so that the total benefits paid or provided by 

all Plans during a claim determination period are not more than the total Allowable expenses. In 
determining the amount to be paid for any claim, the Secondary plan must make payment in an 
amount so that, when combined with the amount paid by the Primary plan, the total benefits paid or 
provided by all plans for the claim equal one hundred percent of the total Allowable expense for that 
claim. Total Allowable expense is the highest Allowable expense of the Primary plan or the 
Secondary plan. In addition, the Secondary plan must credit to its plan deductible any amounts it 
would have credited to its deductible in the absence of other health care coverage. 

B. If a Covered Person is enrolled in two or more Closed Panel Plans and if, for any reason, including 
the provision of service by a non-panel provider, benefits are not payable by one Closed Panel Plan, 
COB shall not apply between that Plan and other Closed Panel Plans. 

 

 
RIGHT TO RECEIVE AND RELEASE NEEDED INFORMATION 

 
Certain facts about health care coverage and services are needed to apply these COB rules and to 
determine benefits payable under This plan and other Plans. We may get the facts from or give them to 
other organizations or persons for the purpose of applying these rules and determining benefits payable 
under This plan and other Plans covering the person claiming benefits. We need not tell, or get the 
consent of, any person to do this. Each person claiming benefits under This plan must give Us any facts 
needed to apply those rules and determine benefits payable. 

 
FACILITY OF PAYMENT 

 
If payments that should have been made under This plan are made by another Plan, the issuer has the 
right, at its discretion, to remit to the other Plan the amount it determines appropriate to satisfy the intent 
of this provision. The amounts paid to the other Plan are considered benefits paid under This plan. To the 
extent of such payments, the issuer is fully discharged from liability under This plan. 

 
RIGHT OF RECOVERY 

 
We have the right to recover excess payment whenever We have paid Allowable expenses in excess of 
the maximum amount of payment necessary to satisfy the intent of this provision. We may recover excess 
payment from any person to whom or for whom payment was made or any other issuers or plans. 

 
If You have Questions about Coordination of Benefits, please contact 1-855-METEYE1 

 
If You are covered by more than one vision benefit plan, and You do not know which is Your primary plan, 
You or Your vision provider should contact any one of the vision plans to verify which plan is primary. The 
health plan You contact is responsible for working with the other plan to determine which is primary and 
will let You know within thirty calendar days. 

 
CAUTION: All vision plans have timely claim filing requirements. If You or Your provider fail to submit 
Your claim to a secondary vision plan within that plan's claim filing time limit, the plan can deny the claim. 
If You experience delays in the processing of Your claim by the primary health plan, You or Your provider 
will need to submit Your claim to the secondary health plan within its claim filing time limit to prevent a 
denial of the claim. 

 
To avoid delays in claims processing, if You are covered by more than one plan You should promptly 
report to Your vision providers and plans any changes in Your coverage. 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF GEORGIA 
 

 

 
IMPORTANT NOTICE 

 
The laws of the state of Georgia prohibit insurers from unfairly discriminating against any person based 
upon his or her status as a victim of family violence. 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF IDAHO 
 

 

 
If the Subscriber has a question concerning the Subscriber’s coverage or a claim, the Subscriber may call 
the toll free telephone number shown on the Certificate Face Page. 

 
If the Subscriber is still concerned after contacting MetLife, the Subscriber should feel free to contact: 

 
Idaho Department of Insurance 

Consumer Affairs 

700 West State Street, 3rd Floor 

PO Box 83720 

Boise, Idaho 83720-0043 

1-800-721-3272 (for calls placed within Idaho) or 208-334-4250 or www.DOI.Idaho.gov 

http://www.doi.idaho.gov/


NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF ILLINOIS 
 

 

 
IMPORTANT NOTICE 

To make a complaint to MetLife, the Subscriber may write to: 

MetLife 
P.O. Box 997100 

Sacramento, CA 95899-7100 

The address of the Illinois Department of Insurance is: 

Illinois Department of Insurance 
Public Services Division 
Springfield, Illinois 62767 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF INDIANA 
 

 

 
Questions regarding your policy or coverage should be directed to: 

 
Metropolitan Life Insurance Company 

1-855-METEYE1 

 
If you (a) need the assistance of the government agency that regulates insurance; or (b) have a complaint 
you have been unable to resolve with your insurer you may contact the Department of Insurance by mail, 
telephone or email: 

 
State of Indiana Department of Insurance 

Consumer Services Division 

311 West Washington Street, Suite 300 

Indianapolis, Indiana 46204 

 
Consumer Hotline: (800) 622-4461; (317) 232-2395 

Complaint can be filed electronically at www.in.gov/idoi 

http://www.in.gov/idoi


 

 

NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF MAINE 

The Subscriber have the right to designate a third party to receive notice if the Subscriber’s insurance is 
in danger of lapsing due to a default on the Subscriber’s part, such as for nonpayment of a contribution 
that is due. The intent is to allow reinstatements where the default is due to the insured person’s 
suffering from cognitive impairment or functional incapacity. The Subscriber may make this designation 
by completing a “Third-Party Notice Request Form” and sending it to MetLife. Once the Subscriber has 
made a designation, the Subscriber may cancel or change it by filling out a new Third-Party Notice 
Request Form and sending it to MetLife. The designation will be effective as of the date MetLife receives 
the form. Call MetLife at the toll-free telephone number shown on the face page of this certificate to 
obtain a Third-Party Notice Request Form. Within 90 days after cancellation of coverage for nonpayment 
of premium, the Subscriber, any person authorized to act on the Subscriber’s behalf , or any covered 
Dependent may request reinstatement of the certificate on the basis that the Subscriber suffered from 
cognitive impairment or functional incapacity at the time of cancellation. 



NOTICE FOR MASSACHUSETTS RESIDENTS 
 

 

CONTINUATION OF VISION INSURANCE 
 

1. If the Subscriber’s Vision Insurance ends due to a Plant Closing or Covered Partial Closing, such 
insurance will be continued for 90 days after the date it ends. 

2. If the Subscriber’s Vision Insurance ends because: 
 

• the Subscriber ceases to be in an Eligible Class; or 

• the Subscriber’s employment terminates; 

for any reason other than a Plant Closing or Covered Partial Closing, such insurance will continue for 31 
days after the date it ends. 

Continuation of the Subscriber’s Vision Insurance under the CONTINUATION OF INSURANCE WITH 
PREMIUM PAYMENT subsection will end before the end of continuation periods shown above if the 
Subscriber becomes covered for similar benefits under another plan. 

Plant Closing and Covered Partial Closing have the meaning set forth in Massachusetts Annotated 
Laws, Chapter 151A, Section 71A. 

 
CONTINUATION OF VISION INSURANCE FOR THE SUBSCRIBER’S FORMER SPOUSE OR STATE- 
REGISTERED DOMESTIC PARTNER 

If the judgment of divorce dissolving the Subscriber’s marriage provides for continuation of insurance for 
the Subscriber’s former Spouse or State-Registered Domestic Partner when the Subscriber remarries, 
Vision Insurance for the Subscriber’s former Spouse or State-Registered Domestic Partner that would 
otherwise end may be continued. 

To continue Vision insurance under this provision: 
 

1. the Subscriber must make a written request to the employer to continue such insurance; 

2. the Subscriber must make any required premium to the employer for the cost of such insurance. 

The request form will be furnished by the Employer. 
 

Such insurance may be continued from the date the Subscriber’s marriage is dissolved until the earliest of 
the following: 

 

• the date the Subscriber’s former Spouse or State-Registered Domestic Partner remarries; 

• the date of expiration of the period of time specified in the divorce judgment during which the 
Subscriber is required to provide Vision Insurance for the Subscriber’s former Spouse or State- 
Registered Domestic Partner; 

• the date coverage is provided under any other group health plan; 

• the date the Subscriber’s former Spouse or State-Registered Domestic Partner becomes entitled 
to Medicare; 

• the date Vision Insurance under the policy ends for all active employees, or for the class of active 
employees to which the Subscriber belonged before the Subscriber’s employment terminated; 

• the date of expiration of the last period for which the required premium payment was made; or 

• the date such insurance would otherwise terminate under the policy. 

If the Subscriber’s former Spouse or State-Registered Domestic Partner is eligible to continue Vision 
Insurance under this provision and any other provision of this Policy, all such continuation periods will be 
deemed to run concurrently with each other and shall not be deemed to run consecutively. 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF MISSISSIPPI 
 

 

CLAIMS FOR VISION INSURANCE 

 
Routine Questions on Vision Insurance Claims 

If there is any question about a claim payment, an explanation may be requested from MetLife by 
dialing 1-855-METEYE1. 

Initial Determination 
 

If the Subscriber’s claim for Vision Insurance benefits is a Clean Claim and it is approved, benefits will be 
paid within 25 days after We receive Proof in an electronic form of a covered loss, or within 35 days after 
receipt of Proof in paper form of a covered loss. Proof includes, but is not limited to, information essential 
for Us to administer coordination of benefits. 

 
"Clean Claim" means a claim that: 

 

• does not require further information, adjustment or alteration by the Subscriber or the provider of 
the services in order to process and pay it; 

• does not have any defects; 

• does not have any impropriety, including any lack of supporting documentation; and 

• does not involve a particular circumstance required special treatment that substantially prevents 
timely payments from being made on the claim. 

 
A Clean Claim does not include a claim submitted by a provider more than 30 days after the date of 
service, or if the provider does not submit the claim on the Subscriber’s behalf, a claim submitted more 
than 30 days after the date the provider bills the Subscriber. Errors, such as system errors, attributable 
to the insurer, do not change the clean claim status. 

If We do not deny payment of such benefits to the Subscriber by the end of the 25 day period for clean 
claims submitted in electronic form, or 35 day period for Clean Claims submitted in paper form, and such 
benefits remain due and payable to the Subscriber, interest will accrue on the amount of such benefits at 
the rate of 3 percent per month until such benefits are finally settled. If We do not pay benefits to the 
Subscriber when due and payable, the Subscriber may bring action to recover such benefits, any interest 
which has accrued with respect to such benefits and any other damages which may be allowed by law. 
We will pay benefits when We receive satisfactory Proof of the Subscriber’s claim. 

If We are unable to pay a claim for Vision Insurance benefits because additional information or 
documentation is required, or there is a particular circumstance requiring special treatment, within 25 
days after the date We receive the claim if it is submitted in electronic form, or within 35 days after the 
date MetLife receives the claim if it is submitted in paper form, We will send the Subscriber notice of what 
supporting documentation or information is needed. Any claim or portion of a claim for Vision Insurance 
benefits that is resubmitted with all of the supporting documentation requested in Our notice and 
becomes payable will be paid to the Subscriber within 20 days after it is received. 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF MISSISSIPPI 
 

 

Claim Denial Appeals 

If a claim is denied in whole or in part, under the terms of this certificate, a request may be submitted to 
Us by a Covered Person or a Covered Person’s authorized representative for a full review of the denial. 
A Covered Person may designate any person, including their provider, as their authorized 
representative. References in this section to “Covered Person” include the Covered Person’s authorized 
representative, where applicable. 

 
Initial Appeal. All requests for review must be made within one hundred eighty (180) calendar days 
following denial of a claim. A Covered Person may review, during normal business hours, any documents 
used by Us pertinent to the denial. A Covered Person may also submit Written comments or supporting 
documentation concerning the claim to assist in Our review. Our response to the initial appeal, including 
specific reasons for the decision, shall be communicated to the Covered Person within thirty (30) calendar 
days after receipt of the request for the appeal. 

 
Second Level Appeal. If a Covered Person disagrees with the response to the initial appeal of the 
denied claim, the Covered Person has the right to a second level appeal. A request for a second level 
appeal must be submitted to Us within sixty (60) calendar days after receipt of Our response to the 
initial appeal. We shall communicate Our final determination to the Covered Person within thirty (30) 
calendar days from receipt of the request, or as required by any applicable state or federal laws or 
regulations. Our communication to the Covered Person shall include the specific reasons for the 
determination. 

 
Other Remedies. When a Covered Person has completed the appeals stated herein, additional 
voluntary alternative dispute resolution options may be available, including mediation or arbitration. 
Additional information is available from the U.S. Department of Labor or the insurance regulatory 
agency for the Covered Persons’ state of residency. Additionally, under the provisions of ERISA 
(Section 502(a)(1)(B) 29 U.S.C. 1132(a)(1)(B)), the Covered Person has the right to bring a civil action 
when all available levels of reviews, including the appeal process, have been completed. ERISA 
remedies may apply in those instances where the claims were not approved in whole or in part as the 
result of appeals under this Policy and the Covered Person disagrees with the outcome of such 
appeals. 

 
Time of Action. No action in law or in equity shall be brought to recover on this Policy prior to the 
Covered Person exhausting his/her rights under this Policy and/or prior to the expiration of sixty (60) 
calendar days after the claim and any applicable documentation has been filed with Us. No such 
action shall be brought after the expiration of any applicable statute of limitations, in accordance with 
the terms of this Policy. No such action shall be brought after the expiration of three (3) years from the 
last date that the claim and any applicable invoices were submitted to Us, and no such action shall be 
brought at all unless brought within three (3) years from the expiration of the time within which such 
materials are required to be submitted in accordance with the terms of this Policy. If it is determined in 
such action that We acted in bad faith as evidenced by a repeated or deliberate pattern of failing to 
pay benefits and/or claims when due, the Subscriber (or the provider, if the Subscriber assigned the 
benefits to the provider) shall be entitled to recover any interest which may accrue plus damages in an 
amount up to three (3) times the amount of the benefits that remain unpaid until the claim is finally 
settled or adjudicated. 

 
Insurance Fraud: Any Covered Person who intends to defraud, knowingly facilitates a fraud, submits a 
claim containing false or deceptive information, or who commits any other similar act as defined by 
applicable state or federal law, is guilty of insurance fraud. Such an act is grounds for immediate 
termination of the coverage under this Policy of the Covered Person committing such fraud. 



NOTICE FOR NEW HAMPSHIRE RESIDENTS 
 

 

CONTINUATION OF THE SUBSCRIBER’S VISION INSURANCE 

If the Subscriber is a resident of New Hampshire, the Subscriber’s Vision Insurance may be continued if it 
ends because the Subscriber’s employment ends unless: 

• the Subscriber’s employment ends due to the Subscriber’s gross misconduct; 

• this Vision Insurance ends for all employees; 

• this Vision Insurance is changed to end Vision Insurance for the class of employees to which the 
Subscriber belong; 

• the Subscriber are entitled to enroll in Medicare; or 

• the Subscriber’s Vision Insurance ends because the Subscriber failed to pay the required premium. 

The Employer must give the Subscriber written notice of: 

• the Subscriber’s right to continue the Subscriber’s Vision Insurance; 

• the amount of premium payment that is required to continue the Subscriber’s Vision Insurance; 

• the manner in which the Subscriber must request to continue the Subscriber’s Vision Insurance and 
pay premiums; and 

• the date by which premium payments will be due. 

The premium that the Subscriber must pay for the Subscriber’s continued Vision Insurance may include: 

• any amount that the Subscriber contributed for the Subscriber’s Vision Insurance before it ended; 

• any amount the Employer paid; and 

• an administrative charge which will not to exceed two percent of the rest of the premium. 

To continue the Subscriber’s Vision Insurance, the Subscriber must: 

• send a written request to continue the Subscriber’s Vision Insurance; and 

• pay the first premium within 30 days after the date the Subscriber’s employment ends. 

The maximum continuation period will be the longest of: 

• 36 months if the Subscriber’s employment ends because the Subscriber retires, and within 12 months 
of retirement the Subscriber has a substantial loss of coverage because the employer files for 
bankruptcy protection under Title 11 of the United States Code; 

• 29 months if the Subscriber becomes entitled to disability benefits under Social Security within 60 
days of the date the Subscriber’s Employment ends; or 

• 18 months. 

 
The Subscriber’s continued Vision Insurance will end on the earliest of the following to occur: 

• the end of the maximum continuation period; 

• the date this Vision Insurance ends; 

• the date this Vision Insurance is changed to end Vision Insurance for the class of employees to which 
the Subscriber belongs; 

• the date the Subscriber are entitled to enroll for Medicare; 

• if the Subscriber does not pay the required premium to continue the Subscriber’s Vision Insurance; or 

• the date the Subscriber becomes eligible for coverage under any other group Vision coverage. 



NOTICE FOR NEW HAMPSHIRE RESIDENTS (continued) 
 

 

CONTINUATION OF THE SUBSCRIBER’S DEPENDENT’S VISION INSURANCE 

If the Subscriber is a resident of New Hampshire, the Subscriber’s Vision Insurance for the Subscriber’s 
Dependents may be continued if it ends because the Subscriber’s employment ends, the Subscriber’s 
marriage ends in divorce or separation, or the Subscriber dies, unless: 

• the Subscriber’s employment ends due to the Subscriber’s gross misconduct; 

• this Vision Insurance ends for all Dependents; 

• this Vision Insurance is changed, for the class of employees to which the Subscriber belongs, to end 
Vision Insurance for Dependents; 

• the Dependent is entitled to enroll in Medicare; or 

• the Subscriber’s Vision Insurance for the Subscriber’s Dependents ends because the Subscriber fails 
to pay a required premium. 

 
If Vision Insurance for the Subscriber’s Dependents ends because the Subscriber’s marriage ends in 
divorce or separation, the party responsible under the divorce decree or separation agreement for 
payment of premium for continued Vision Insurance must notify the employer, in writing, within 30 days of 
the date of the divorce decree or separation agreement that the divorce or separation has occurred. If the 
Subscriber and the Subscriber’s divorced or separated Spouse or State-Registered Domestic Partner 
share responsibility for payment of the premium for continued Vision Insurance, both the Subscriber and 
the Subscriber’s divorced or separated Spouse or State-Registered Domestic Partner must provide the 
notification. 

The Employer must give the Subscriber, or the Subscriber’s former Spouse or State-Registered Domestic 
Partner if the Subscriber has died or the Subscriber’s marriage has ended, written notice of: 

• the Subscriber’s right to continue the Subscriber’s Vision Insurance for the Subscriber’s Dependents; 

• the amount of premium payment that is required to continue the Subscriber’s Vision Insurance for the 
Subscriber’s Dependents; 

• the manner in which the Subscriber or the Subscriber’s former Spouse or State-Registered Domestic 
Partner must request to continue the Subscriber’s Vision Insurance for the Subscriber’s Dependents 
and pay premiums; and 

• the date by which premium payments will be due. 

The premium that the Subscriber or the Subscriber’s former Spouse or State-Registered Domestic 
Partner must pay for continued Vision Insurance for the Subscriber’s Dependents may include: 

• any amount that the Subscriber contributed for the Subscriber’s Vision Insurance before it ended; and 

• any amount the Employer paid. 

To continue Vision Insurance for the Subscriber’s Dependents, the Subscriber or the Subscriber’s former 
Spouse or State-Registered Domestic Partner must: 

• send a written request to continue Vision Insurance for the Subscriber’s Dependents; and 

• must pay the first premium within 30 days of the date Vision Insurance for the Subscriber’s 
Dependents ends. 

 
If the Subscriber, and the Subscriber’s former Spouse or State-Registered Domestic Partner, if 
applicable, fail to provide any required notification, or fail to request to continue Vision Insurance for the 
Subscriber’s Dependents and pay the first premium within the time limits stated in this section, the 
Subscriber’s right to continue Vision Insurance for the Subscriber’s Dependents will end. 



NOTICE FOR NEW HAMPSHIRE RESIDENTS (continued) 
 

 

CONTINUATION OF THE SUBSCRIBER’S DEPENDENT’S VISION INSURANCE (Continued) 

The maximum continuation period will be the longest of the following that applies: 

• 36 months if Vision Insurance for the Subscriber’s Dependents ends because the Subscriber’s 
marriage ends in divorce or separation, except that with respect to a Spouse or State-Registered 
Domestic Partner who is age 55 or older when the Subscriber’s marriage ends in divorce or 
separation the maximum continuation period will end when the divorced or separated Spouse or 
State-Registered Domestic Partner becomes eligible for Medicare or eligible for participation in 
another employer’s group plan; 

• 36 months if Vision Insurance for the Subscriber’s Dependents ends because the Subscriber dies, 
except that with respect to a Spouse or State-Registered Domestic Partner who is age 55 or older 
when the Subscriber dies, the maximum continuation period will end when the Subscriber’s surviving 
Spouse or State-Registered Domestic Partner becomes eligible for Medicare or eligible for 
participation in another employer’s group vision coverage; 

• 36 months if Vision Insurance for the Subscriber’s Dependents ends because the Subscriber 
becomes entitled to benefits under Title XVIII of Social Security, except that with respect to a Spouse 
or State-Registered Domestic Partner who is age 55 or older when the Subscriber becomes entitled 
to benefits under Title XVIII of Social Security, the maximum continuation period will end when the 
divorced or separated Spouse or State-Registered Domestic Partner becomes eligible for Medicare 
or eligible for participation in another employer’s group vision coverage; 

• 36 months if the Subscriber becomes entitled to benefits under Title XVIII of Social Security while the 
Subscriber is already receiving continued benefits under this section, except that with respect to a 
Spouse or State-Registered Domestic Partner who is age 55 or older when the Subscriber first 
becomes entitled to continue the Subscriber’s Vision Insurance the maximum continuation period will 
end when the divorced or separated Spouse or State-Registered Domestic Partner becomes eligible 
for Medicare or eligible for participation in another employer’s group vision coverage; 

• 36 months with respect to a Dependent Child if Vision Insurance ends because the Child ceases to 
be a Dependent Child; 

• 36 months if the Subscriber’s employment ends because the Subscriber retires, and within 12 months 
of retirement the Subscriber has a substantial loss of coverage because the employer files for 
bankruptcy protection under Title 11 of the United States Code; 

• 29 months if Vision Insurance for the Subscriber’s Dependents ends because the Subscriber’s 
employment ends, and within 60 days of the date the Subscriber’s employment ends you become 
entitled to disability benefits under Social Security; or 

• 18 months if Vision Insurance for the Subscriber’s Dependents ends because the Subscriber’s 
employment ends. 

 
A Dependent's continued Vision Insurance will end on the earliest of the following to occur: 

• the end of the maximum continuation period; 

• the date this Vision Insurance ends; 

• the date this Vision Insurance is changed to end Vision Insurance for Dependents for the class of 
employees to which the Subscriber belongs; 

• the date the Dependent becomes entitled to enroll for Medicare; 

• if the Subscriber does not pay a required premium to continue Vision Insurance for the Subscriber’s 
Dependents; or 

• the date the Dependent becomes eligible for coverage under any other group vision coverage. 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF NEW MEXICO 
 

 

 
Consumer Complaint Notice 

If the Subscriber is a resident of New Mexico, the Subscriber’s coverage will be 
administered in accordance with the minimum applicable standards of New 
Mexico law. If the Subscriber has concerns regarding a claim, premium, or other 
matters relating to this coverage, the Subscriber may file a complaint with the 
New Mexico Office of Superintendent of Insurance (OSI) using the complaint form 
available on the OSI website and found at: 
https://www.osi.state.nm.us/ConsumerAssistance/index.aspx. 

http://www.osi.state.nm.us/ConsumerAssistance/index.aspx


 

 

NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF PENNSYLVANIA 

Vision Insurance for a Dependent Child may be continued past the age limit if that Child is a full-time 
student and insurance ends due to the Child being ordered to active duty (other than active duty for 
training) for 30 or more consecutive days as a member of the Pennsylvania National Guard or a Reserve 
Component of the Armed Forces of the United States. 

 
Insurance will continue if such Child: 

• re-enrolls as a full-time student at an accredited school, college or university that is licensed in the 
jurisdiction where it is located; 

• re-enrolls for the first term or semester, beginning 60 or more days from the child’s release from 
active duty; 

• continues to qualify as a Child, except for the age limit; and 

• submits the required Proof of the child’s active duty in the National Guard or a Reserve Component of 
the United States Armed Forces. 

Subject to the When Vision Coverage Ends subsection of the section entitled ELIGIBILITY PROVISIONS: 
INSURANCE FOR THE SUBSCRIBER AND THE SUBSCRIBER’S DEPENDENTS, this continuation will 
continue until the earliest of the date: 

 

• the insurance has been continued for a period of time equal to the duration of the child’s service on 
active duty; or 

• the child is no longer a full-time student. 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF TEXAS 
 

 

THE INSURANCE POLICY UNDER WHICH THIS CERTIFICATE IS ISSUED IS NOT A POLICY OF 
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION INSURANCE. THE SUBSCRIBER SHOULD CONSULT THE 
SUBSCRIBER’S EMPLOYER TO DETERMINE WHETHER YOUR EMPLOYER IS A SUBSCRIBER TO 
THE WORKERS’ COMPENSATION SYSTEM. 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF TEXAS 
 

 

 
If You are a resident of Texas and live in a county where there is no In-Network Vision Provider and travel 
distance to an In-Network Vision Provider is more than 90 minutes travel time and 75 miles away, We will 
pay benefits for Covered Services provided by an Out-of-Network Vision Provider as if the service was 
provided by an In-Network Vision Provider. In order to ensure that the benefits are paid accordingly, We 
must be notified prior to receiving services from an Out-of-Network Vision Provider. Please call Us at 1- 
855-METEYE1 for assistance. 

 
If You or a Dependent receive emergency or urgent vision care from an Out-of-Network Vision Provider, 
We will pay benefits for those Covered Services provided by an Out-of-Network Vision Provider as if the 
services were provided by an In-Network Vision Provider. 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF TEXAS 
 

 

If the Subscriber resides in Texas, note the following Procedures for Vision Claims will be followed: 

Routine Questions on Vision Insurance Claims 
 

If there is any question about a claim payment, an explanation may be requested from MetLife by dialing 
1-855-METEYE1. 

Claim Denial Appeals 
 

If a claim is denied in whole or in part, under the terms of this certificate, a request may be submitted to 
Us by a Covered Person or a Covered Person’s authorized representative for a full review of the denial. 
A Covered Person may designate any person, including their provider, as their authorized representative. 
References in this section to “Covered Person” include the Covered Person’s authorized representative, 
where applicable. 

 
Initial Appeal. All requests for review must be made within one hundred eighty (180) calendar days 
following denial of a claim. A Covered Person may review, during normal business hours, any documents 
used by Us pertinent to the denial. A Covered Person may also submit Written comments or supporting 
documentation concerning the claim to assist in Our review. Our response to the initial appeal, including 
specific reasons for the decision, shall be communicated to the Covered Person within thirty (30) calendar 
days after receipt of the request for the appeal. 

 
Second Level Appeal. If a Covered Person disagrees with the response to the initial appeal of the 
denied claim, the Covered Person has the right to a second level appeal. A request for a second level 
appeal must be submitted to Us within sixty (60) calendar days after receipt of Our response to the initial 
appeal. We shall communicate Our final determination to the Covered Person within thirty (30) calendar 
days from receipt of the request, or as required by any applicable state or federal laws or regulations. Our 
communication to the Covered Person shall include the specific reasons for the determination. 

 
Other Remedies. When a Covered Person has completed the appeals stated herein, additional voluntary 
alternative dispute resolution options may be available, including mediation or arbitration. Additional 
information is available from the U.S. Department of Labor or the insurance regulatory agency for the 
Covered Persons’ state of residency. Additionally, under the provisions of ERISA (Section 502(a)(1)(B) 
29 U.S.C. 1132(a)(1)(B)), the Covered Person has the right to bring a civil action when all available levels 
of reviews, including the appeal process, have been completed. ERISA remedies may apply in those 
instances where the claims were not approved in whole or in part as the result of appeals under this 
Policy and the Covered Person disagrees with the outcome of such appeals. 

Time of Action. No action in law or in equity shall be brought to recover on this Policy prior to the 
Covered Person exhausting his/her rights under this Policy and/or prior to the expiration of sixty (60) 
calendar days after the claim and any applicable documentation has been filed with Us. No such action 
shall be brought after the expiration of any applicable statute of limitations, in accordance with the terms 
of this Policy. No such action shall be brought after the expiration of three (3) years from the last date 
that the claim and any applicable invoices were submitted to Us, and no such action shall be brought at 
all unless brought within three (3) years from the expiration of the time within which such materials are 
required to be submitted in accordance with the terms of this Policy. 

Insurance Fraud: Any Covered Person who intends to defraud, knowingly facilitates a fraud, submits a 
claim containing false or deceptive information, or who commits any other similar act as defined by 
applicable state or federal law, is guilty of insurance fraud. Such an act is grounds for immediate 
termination of the coverage under this Policy of the Covered Person committing such fraud. 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF UTAH 
 

 

 
Notice of Protection Provided by 

Utah Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association 

This notice provides a brief summary of the Utah Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association ("the 
Association") and the protection it provides for policyholders. This safety net was created under Utah law, 
which determines who and what is covered and the amounts of coverage. 

The Association was established to provide protection in the unlikely event that your life, health, or 
annuity insurance company becomes financially unable to meet its obligations and is taken over by its 
insurance regulatory agency. If this should happen, the Association will typically arrange to continue 
coverage and pay claims, in accordance with Utah law, with funding from assessments paid by other 
insurance companies. (For the purposes of this notice, the terms “insurance company” and “insurer” 
include health maintenance organizations (HMOs) and limited health plans.) 

 
The basic protections provided by the Association are: 

• Life Insurance 
o $500,000 in death benefits 
o $200,000 in cash surrender or withdrawal values 

• Accident and Health Insurance 
o $500,000 for health benefit plans 
o $500,000 in disability income insurance benefits 
o $500,000 in long-term care insurance benefits 
o $500,000 in other types of health insurance benefits 

• Annuities 

o $250,000 in the present value of annuity benefits in aggregate, including any net 
cash surrender and net cash withdrawal values 

The maximum amount of protection for each individual, regardless of the number of policies or contracts, 
is $500,000. Special rules may apply with regard to health benefit plans. 

 
Note: Certain policies and contracts may not be covered or fully covered. For example, coverage 
does not extend to any portion of a policy or contract that the insurer does not guarantee, such as certain 
investment additions to the account value of a variable life insurance policy or a variable annuity contract. 
There are also various residency requirements and other limitations under Utah law. 

Benefits provided by a long-term care rider to a life insurance or annuity contract shall be considered the 
same type of benefit as the base life insurance policy or annuity contract to which it relates. 

To learn more about the above protections, please visit the Association's website at www.ulhiga.org or 
contact: 

 
Utah Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Assoc. Utah Insurance Department 
466 South 500 East, Suite 100 4315 S. 2700 W., Suite 2300 
Salt Lake City UT 84102 Taylorsville, UT 84129 
(801) 320-9955 (801) 957-9200 

http://www.ulhiga.org/


NOTICE TO RESIDENTS OF VIRGINIA 
 

 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION REGARDING THE SUBSCRIBER’S INSURANCE 

In the event the Subscriber needs to contact someone about this insurance for any reason please contact 
the Subscriber’s agent. If no agent was involved in the sale of this insurance, or if the Subscriber has 
additional questions the Subscriber may contact the insurance company issuing this insurance at the 
following address and telephone number: 

MetLife 
P.O. Box 997100 

Sacramento, CA 95899-7100 
Attn: Corporate Consumer Relations Department 

 
To phone in a claim related question, the Subscriber may call Claims Customer Service at: 

1-855-METEYE1 

If the Subscriber has any questions regarding an appeal or grievance concerning the vision services that 
the Subscriber have been provided that have not been satisfactorily addressed by this Vision Insurance, 
the Subscriber may contact the Virginia Office of the Managed Care Ombudsman for assistance. 

The Office of the Managed Care Ombudsman 
Bureau of Insurance 

P.O. Box 1157 
Richmond, VA 23218-1157 

1-804-371-9691 - phone 
1-877-310-6560 - toll-free 

1-804-371-9944 - fax 
www.scc.virginia.gov - web address 

ombudsman@scc.virginia.gov - email 
 

Or: 

Office of Licensure and Certification 
Division of Acute Care Services 
Virginia Department of Health 

9960 Mayland Drive 
Suite 401 

Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463 
Phone number: 1-800-955-1819/ local: 804-367-2106 

Fax: (804) 527-4503 
MCHIP@vdh.virginia.gov 

 
Written correspondence is preferable so that a record of the Subscriber’s inquiry is maintained. When 
contacting the Subscriber’s agent, company or the Bureau of Insurance, have the Subscriber’s policy 
number available. 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/
mailto:ombudsman@scc.virginia.gov
mailto:MCHIP@vdh.virginia.gov


NOTICE TO RESIDENTS OF VIRGINIA (continued) 
 

 

 
VISION INSURANCE: PROCEDURES FOR VISION CLAIMS 

Routine Questions on Vision Insurance Claims 
 

If there is any question about a claim payment, an explanation may be requested from MetLife by dialing 
1-855-METEYE1. 

 
Claim Denial Appeals 

If a claim is denied in whole or in part, under the terms of this certificate, a request may be submitted to 
Us by a Covered Person or a Covered Person’s authorized representative for a full review of the denial. 
A Covered Person may designate any person, including their provider, as their authorized representative. 
References in this section to “Covered Person” include the Covered Person’s authorized representative, 
where applicable. 

 
Initial Appeal. All requests for review must be made within one hundred eighty (180) calendar days 
following denial of a claim. A Covered Person may review, during normal business hours, any documents 
used by Us pertinent to the denial. A Covered Person may also submit Written comments or supporting 
documentation concerning the claim to assist in Our review. Our response to the initial appeal, including 
specific reasons for the decision, shall be communicated to the Covered Person within thirty (30) calendar 
days after receipt of the request for the appeal. 

 
Second Level Appeal. If a Covered Person disagrees with the response to the initial appeal of the 
denied claim, the Covered Person has the right to a second level appeal. A request for a second level 
appeal must be submitted to Us within sixty (60) calendar days after receipt of Our response to the initial 
appeal. We shall communicate Our final determination to the Covered Person within thirty (30) calendar 
days from receipt of the request, or as required by any applicable state or federal laws or regulations. Our 
communication to the Covered Person shall include the specific reasons for the determination. 

 
Other Remedies. When a Covered Person has completed the appeals stated herein, additional voluntary 
alternative dispute resolution options may be available, including mediation or arbitration. Additional 
information is available from the U.S. Department of Labor or the insurance regulatory agency for the 
Covered Persons’ state of residency. Additionally, under the provisions of ERISA (Section 502(a)(1)(B) 
29 U.S.C. 1132(a)(1)(B)), the Covered Person has the right to bring a civil action when all available levels 
of reviews, including the appeal process, have been completed. ERISA remedies may apply in those 
instances where the claims were not approved in whole or in part as the result of appeals under this 
Policy and the Covered Person disagrees with the outcome of such appeals. 

Time of Action. No action in law or in equity shall be brought to recover on this Policy prior to the 
Covered Person exhausting his/her rights under this Policy and/or prior to the expiration of sixty (60) 
calendar days after the claim and any applicable documentation has been filed with Us. No such action 
shall be brought after the expiration of any applicable statute of limitations, in accordance with the terms 
of this Policy. No such action shall be brought after the expiration of three (3) years from the last date 
that the claim and any applicable invoices were submitted to Us, and no such action shall be brought at 
all unless brought within three (3) years from the expiration of the time within which such materials are 
required to be submitted in accordance with the terms of this Policy. 

 
Insurance Fraud: Any Covered Person who intends to defraud, knowingly facilitates a fraud, submits a 
claim containing false or deceptive information, or who commits any other similar act as defined by 
applicable state or federal law, is guilty of insurance fraud. Such an act is grounds for immediate 
termination of the coverage under this Policy of the Covered Person committing such fraud. 



NOTICE FOR RESIDENTS OF WISCONSIN 
 

 

 
 

KEEP THIS NOTICE WITH THE SUBSCRIBER’S INSURANCE PAPERS 

 
PROBLEMS WITH THE SUBSCRIBER’S INSURANCE? - If the Subscriber is having problems with the 
Subscriber’s insurance company or agent, do not hesitate to contact the insurance company or agent to 
resolve the Subscriber’s problem. 

 
 

Metlife 
Attn: Corporate Consumer Relations Department 

P.O. Box 997100 
Sacramento, CA 95899-7100 

1-855-METEYE1 

 
The Subscriber can also contact the OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE, a state 
agency which enforces Wisconsin’s insurance laws, and file a complaint. The Subscriber can contact the 
OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE by contacting: 

 
 
 

Office of the Commissioner of Insurance 
Complaints Department 

P.O. Box 7873 
Madison, WI 53707-7873 

1-800-236-8517 outside of Madison or 608-266-0103 in Madison. 
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