\_\_\_\_\_\_

## **Table of Contents**

**State/Territory Name: Washington** 

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 18-0018

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS 179 Form
- 3) Approved SPA Page

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Seattle Regional Office 701 Fifth Avenue, Suite 1600, MS/RX-200 Seattle, WA 98104



Division of Medicaid & Children's Health Operations

July 25, 2018

Susan Birch, Director MaryAnne Lindeblad, Medicaid Director Health Care Authority PO Box 45502 Olympia, WA 98504-5010

RE: Washington State Plan Amendment (SPA) Transmittal Number 18-0018.

Dear Ms. Birch and Ms. Lindeblad:

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has completed its review of State Plan Amendment (SPA) Transmittal Number WA 18-0018. This amendment identified the threshold dollar amount the Health Care Authority (HCA) uses to pursue recovery of medical services claims that were paid by Medicaid when a commercial insurance had primary responsibility for payment.

This SPA is approved with an effective date of June 1, 2018.

If there are additional questions please contact me, or your staff may contact James Moreth at James.Moreth@cms.hhs.gov or (360) 943-0469.



Associate Regional Administrator

cc:

Ann Myers, SPA Coordinator

HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION		OMB NO. 0938-0193
TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER:	2. STATE
STATE PLAN MATERIAL	18-0018	Washington
FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)	
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE	
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION	June 1, 2018	
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	June 1, 2016	
5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):		
J. ITTE OF TEAN WATERIAL (Check One).		
	CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN	
COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AME		amendment)
6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:	7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:	
Section 1905(a) of the Social Security Act	a. FFY 2018 \$ 0	
A DAGE VAN CHEN OF THE RY AN ADDRESS OF A THE A CAN LED THE	b. FFY 2019 \$ 0	
8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:	9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERS	EDED PLAN SECTION
Attachment 4.22 D. maga 1	OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable)	
Attachment 4.22-B page 1	Attachment 4.22-B page 1	
	Attachment 4.22-B page 1	
10 CURRECT OF AMENDMENT		
10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT		
Third Party Liability Recovery Thresholds (P&I)		
Third Party Liability Recovery Thresholds (P&I)		
11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):  ☐ GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT ☐ COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED ☐ NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL	☑ OTHER, AS SPEC	IFIED: Exempt
10 OVOLUTE OF OTHER ACTIVITY OF STATE	16 22000	
12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL:	16. RETURN TO:	
	Ann Myers	
13. TYPED NAME.	Office of Rules and Publications	
MARYANNE LINDEBLAD	Division of Legal Services	
14. TITLE:	Health Care Authority	
MEDICAID DIRECTOR	626 8 <sup>th</sup> Ave SE MS: 42716	
15. DATE SUBMITTED:	Olympia, WA 98504-2716	
6-25-18		
FOR REGIONAL OF	¥	
17. DATE RECEIVED: 6/25/18	18. DATE APPROVED: 7/25/18	
DI ANI ADDROVED. ON		
PLAN APPROVED - ON	Di to H	signed by David L. Meacham -S
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL: 7/1/18	20. SIGNAT	a=ILS Government ou=HHS
21. TYPED NAME: David I Meacham	22. TITLE: Associate Regional Admi	
21. TYPED NAME: David L. Meacham	Associate Regional Admi	nistrator
23. REMARKS:		
7.10.18-State authorized a P&I change to block #10		

## STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State	WASHINGTON	
_		

## Requirement for Third Party Liability – Payment of Claims

1. The method to determine compliance with requirements of Section 433.139(b)(3)(ii)(c) is as follows: The State Plan as referenced herein requires providers to bill third parties. In a case where medical support is being enforced by the state Title IV-D Agency, the provider will be required to submit written documentation that he has billed the third party and has not received payment from the third party. It must be at least 30 days from the date of service before the state will pay.

The same method is used to meet the requirements contained in Section 433.139(b)(3)(i).

State laws are in effect that require third parties to comply with the provisions of 1902(a)(25)(I) of the Social Security Act, including those which require third parties to provide the state with coverage, eligibility, and claims data.

Claims for medical services, unless identified under existing state regulations regarding recovery of Agency-paid claims from clients' primary insurance carriers, are cost-avoided when a third party liability (TPL) policy exists within the MMIS (the state's Medicaid payment system known as ProviderOne) that matches the benefit coverage-type and service date. Claims paid by the Agency prior to the TPL policy being entered into the MMIS are pursued for recovery through an invoice submitted to the primary insurance carrier. The cost-effectiveness threshold to pursue recovery on a health insurance claim is monitored by the MMIS and invoices claims to the primary carrier if the total claim paid amount is \$15.00 or more.

Generally, casualty insurance claims are pursued for recovery. Paid claims related to an accident/Injury on a Medicaid client are manually reviewed. The cumulative paid amount on the claim(s) must exceed \$50.00 to open a casualty case file on the injured client. Additionally, MMIS automatically reviews the paid amount on an accident- or injury-related claim and initiates a Treatment Questionnaire (TQ) letter to the client if the total claim payment is \$110.00 or more.

- 3. The state Medicaid Agency will seek recovery from the third party within 60 days after the end of the month in which payment was made. This does not apply to exceptions for Good Cause or Confidential Services cases. Good Cause and Confidential Services cases include Title IV-D domestic violence cases and certain clients with STD/HIV, pregnancy, or abortion-related services/diagnosis. The Agency will also seek recovery within 60 days of the date the Agency learns of the existence of a third party or when benefits become available.
- 4. When the Agency has determined a sum certain receivable amount has been validated and the third party fails to make payment, after 90 days the Agency refers the case to the Department of Social and Health Services' Office of Financial Recovery for formal collection activities. These include skip tracing, payment demands, negotiating debts and repayment agreements, and enforcement action, including legal action. "Sum certain receivable" is when a liable third party (regardless of the third party resource type) and predetermined settlement or recovery has been validated through either court settlement or explanation of benefits (EOBs) and remittance advices (RAs).

Back to TOC